We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Really fantastic hotel with a great choice of restaurants and one of the best breakfast buffets you will ever come across. The place is really grand and the service is excellent. The rooms were really nice and were overlooking the very well maintained lawns

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SubbuSailappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    635
    177
    71
    49
See reviews for
328
554
182
701
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Marriott has restored a 19th C palace to make this hotel. It combines modern bedrooms with gracious public rooms and is a fantastic place to stay in Cairo. My 16th floor room overlooked the Nile and gave a sense of the bustle of the city but the grounds are peaceful. There are a number of good restaurants in splendid rooms but wander out into the neighbourhood where you will find a wide variety of food at much better prices. I'd certainly go back.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a view and was given a room with a view up the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. The hotel as you mentioned, is located in the heart of downtown Cairo, right on the River Nile. We are a historical property which was originally built by Khedive Ismail Pasha for the inauguration of the Suez Canal celebrations in 1869. The Palace housed European monarchs, including Empress Eugenie, the wife of Napoleon III, and was also the venue for the first performance of Verdi’s Opera Aida.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences and we hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxbg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

except for the narrow lane leading to this hotel, which is a bit off the beaten path, this place is just
charming.
once inside, the architecture just drops you in a lovely vintage - turn of the century - arabian palace feeling.
Everything is quiet, welcoming and so plentiful decorated, the rooms are large and tasteful and the service is just great.
if you like this combination, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank okrased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Marriott is an excellent hotel in a safe location, on Zamalek Island, with good security arrangements. We had a large, well appointed, room and the staff were always polite and courteous. The buffet style breakfast was extensive and well presented. We did not rate the on-site restaurants highly but it was an easy stroll to any number of other restaurants. It is our first experience of being in an hotel, so big and complicated in layout, that a map of it was deemed to be neccessary!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance; please rest assured that all your comments are being considered to ensure your utmost satisfaction on your future visits.

Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is an extremely well kept property catering for travellers from all walks of life. The rooms are large, clean and bright and well appointed. The buffet breakfast which was included in our room rate was extensive and well presented. We ate all our evening meals at Roy's restaurant and each and very choice was superb.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heddy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that your stay was a pleasant one. We look forward to your upcoming visit to enjoy more the hotel facilities.
Thank you again for the feedback and kind regards.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Pro: Friendly staff, Secure location on Zamanek island.

Cons: Poor food offer, Steam room without steam, Overcharged (e.g. asking 20 egyptian pounds to post a postcard, real price 2 egyptian pounds; arranging metered taxi to airport for a "friendly price" of 150EP, real price 50EP, etc., etc. ).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dn0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance, please rest assured that all your comments are being considered to ensure your utmost satisfaction on your future visits.
Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
496 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel located very close to River Nile is full of smiling and customer oriented staff right from the entrance. The room was very comfortable and cosy. Wide choice of break fast was served in the restaurant. The conference halls are spacious and the corridor leading to the conference halls are wide with wonderful artefacts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sridharan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that your stay was a pleasant one. We look forward to your upcoming visit to enjoy more of the hotel facilities.

Thank you again for the feedback and kind regards.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.6 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1087
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. Dear valued guest, Please excuse us as we are closing our swimming pool for renovation to enhance our facilities and make your stay always more brilliant. closure will be from 08th of October 2016 till end of June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing