We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel in a safe location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel in a safe location.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Marriott is an excellent hotel in a safe location, on Zamalek Island, with good security arrangements. We had a large, well appointed, room and the staff were always polite and courteous. The buffet style breakfast was extensive and well presented. We did not rate the on-site restaurants highly but it was an easy stroll to any number of other restaurants. It is our first experience of being in an hotel, so big and complicated in layout, that a map of it was deemed to be neccessary!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance; please rest assured that all your comments are being considered to ensure your utmost satisfaction on your future visits.

Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    656
    181
    73
    52
See reviews for
340
565
190
726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is an extremely well kept property catering for travellers from all walks of life. The rooms are large, clean and bright and well appointed. The buffet breakfast which was included in our room rate was extensive and well presented. We ate all our evening meals at Roy's restaurant and each and very choice was superb.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heddy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that your stay was a pleasant one. We look forward to your upcoming visit to enjoy more the hotel facilities.
Thank you again for the feedback and kind regards.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Pro: Friendly staff, Secure location on Zamanek island.

Cons: Poor food offer, Steam room without steam, Overcharged (e.g. asking 20 egyptian pounds to post a postcard, real price 2 egyptian pounds; arranging metered taxi to airport for a "friendly price" of 150EP, real price 50EP, etc., etc. ).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dn0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance, please rest assured that all your comments are being considered to ensure your utmost satisfaction on your future visits.
Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
512 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel located very close to River Nile is full of smiling and customer oriented staff right from the entrance. The room was very comfortable and cosy. Wide choice of break fast was served in the restaurant. The conference halls are spacious and the corridor leading to the conference halls are wide with wonderful artefacts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sridharan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that your stay was a pleasant one. We look forward to your upcoming visit to enjoy more of the hotel facilities.

Thank you again for the feedback and kind regards.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at The Marriot in December for 10 nights to play in The World Team Croquet Championships , The accommodation was of a very good standard . The staff in the lobby bar knew after day one , that after a long days croquet an ice cold beer was in order and i didnt even have to ask .Breakfast at Omars was of a good standard with plenty of choice , dont decry some of the offerings until you have tried them, staff very friendly. Ate a few times in the hotel , dont really recommend Roys Country Kitchen , though Egyptian nights and J W Steakhouse excellent. . Going back for 12 nights at end of April more croquet cant wait.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance, please rest assured that all your comments are being considered to ensure your utmost satisfaction on your future visits.
Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Marriott in Cairo is a very good hotel for a short stay. On the banks of the Nile it has a great location. The staff are friendly and always on hand to help. The rooms are of a very good quality and clean. The hotel complex itself has several restaurants and bars if you don't want to venture out including Harry's bar which is a typical English pub down to the wooden panels. But you should get out and go downtown and try the local delicacies visiting the markets and old town. The shops in the Marriott are good for a quick gift but are a little expensive especially when compared to the local markets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSP1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your last stay in Cairo and thank you for your sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace in the near future.

Kind regards

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great hotel with character and style. The staff are very friendly and service was excellent. I stayed 5 nights on the 6th floor of the Zamalek tower. The room overlooked the nile which was great. The downside is you also have the traffic noise to put up with. However, the double glazing does cut out the noise well and it did not disturb my sleep. However the room aircon was quite noisy and I had to turn it off at night, which then made the room a little warm, but this was OK for time of year.
Breakfast was just OK, lots of choice but not great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1087
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. Dear valued guest, Please excuse us as we are closing our swimming pool for renovation to enhance our facilities and make your stay always more brilliant. closure will be from 08th of October 2016 till end of June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Prestigia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing