We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what you get. Better Options are available.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get. Better Options are available.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

In a recent visit to Cairo we stayed at both the Sofitel El Gizhara (booked by us) and the Cairo Marriott (booked by the travel agency) in January 2013, when the city had very few tourists due to political tensions. The two hotels are located very close to each other and facilities are almost identical.

Compared to the Sofitel, the Cairo Mariott:
- Has a 25% higher room rate.
- Is poorly signed. That problem started when we arrived as Reception is on the 1st Floor, not Ground and we saw no signage indicating the way to Reception at the drop-off entry, or even when we reached the 1st Floor and had to leave the Gazhira Tower and wander around several corners and a long corridor. The distance wasn’t the issue, the problem was that there is not one single directional sign from the entry on the Ground floor, around 2 corners to the lifts, no tag on the elevator buttons that says ‘Reception’ and no signs when you get out of the elevator go around two corners and past rows of shops and then 50 meters up a corridor. Indeed, there aren’t even any signs indicating where the elevators are.
- Finding ‘Omars’ for the breakfast is simply impossible without asking for directions, as is the case with Roy’s Kitchen. Finding Harry’s Pub took us fifteen minutes and four sets of directions- you have to LEAVE the hotel. We took one look at the right hand side of the menu at Harry’s and walked out.
- Food, either in the restaurants or from room service, is nearly 50% more expensive at the Marriott than at the Sofitel.
- The beds and pillows are much better at the Sofitel (which offers a ‘pillow menu’ with different pillow options).
- Both in-room WiFi and High Speed internet are free at the Sofitel and are charged at the Marriott.
- The Marriott gives you one complimentary small bottle of water PER ROOM per day. Sofitel gives you one per person and if you leave a note for the room-staff they will leave 2 bottles per person.
- For a small charge ‘Club Sofitel’ includes breakfast, and free drinks (including wine and spirits) and snacks in the afternoon and evening. The charge is not much more than the cost of breakfast.

Guess where I’ll book to stay if I return to Cairo?

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    666
    186
    74
    55
See reviews for
358
571
192
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baalbek, Beqaa, Lebanon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

from outside, Marriott was like a golden palace, The trip to Cairo was a good occasion to view the social life in this old great country. Although i came back there after 21 years, i, really, think it refreshing and enjoyable to compare how aspects can change in a small period of time. In all of my distanced trips, i do this for fun. it will be my cherished field of studies, for i was addicted to the ethnography of anthropology. My first remark, was that i felt how Arab spring revolutions deeply affected the people. Curses were heard, and political comments were made about situation in Syria and on Muslim brotherhood lust to hold power. Second, for my wondering, tourists were a scarcity, neither western or others, but for exceptions of refugees from other Arab countries. third, Stores and popular markets were suffering due to turmoil and shopminders complains about loss in purchasing. hotel promenade was a magical at night, so the swimming pool, service, was slow, but, workers were nice when joking and escorts not bad at all.

Room Tip: pay tips all the time. rooms are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance; please rest assured that all your comments are being considered to ensure your utmost satisfaction on your future visits.


Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.


Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first 4 nights of our holiday to Egypt and were very impressed with everything - from the cozy room with an amazing view of the Nile to the friendly, efficient staff who went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The breakfast feast was amazing and sitting outside looking at the gardens made it even better. We spent our first day sitting by the pool, after 19 hours of travel time, and it was pure heaven to dip in the pool, sit under an umbrella, and sip on ice tea all day, surrounded by the beautiful gardens. When we ordered lunch, my sandwich came on bread with sesame seeds, which I am allergic to. I explained I wouldn't be able to eat it and suggested I would order something else. The waiter told me to wait a few minutes. He returned a short time later with the chef - and an entire loaf of rye bread. They told me they had gone to a bakery and bought a loaf of bread that they had been assured did not have sesame seeds in it - I was amazed they went to such lengths to make sure I was satisfied. We were in Cairo when there were violent demonstrations in Tahrir Square, unfortunately, and the front desk staff were very helpful about letting us know what was going on and where it was safe to travel on our own. Also, shortly after we checked in to our room, we realized we were next door to a very noisy family with children shouting and running around. We asked for a different room, where it would be quieter and were whisked away to a new room in no time at all, no hassle, and it was very quiet. Our stay was expensive, but worth it, as it was such a luxurious and serene setting.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up for the view. Our room was in the north tower, facing the gardens, and also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calgarytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and would like to assure you that we continue to benchmark all our pricing against the market and updates are made accordingly.

Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was a good hotel for our recent stay in Cairo. Firstly, we weren't sure about going ahead with our trip due to ongoing political problems in Egypt, our concerns were totally unnecessary, Egypt is amazing in every way, we did see a little of the protests but they in no way impacted on our group or any tourists that we were aware of. The Cairo Marriott is a beautiful hotel, we had 2 seperate stays, firstly on 8th floor, it was a nice room, spotlessly clean with wonderful, helpful floor staff, can't praise them highly enough. The only issue on this stay was the hotel had a private party book out the whole of the garden, pool and outdoor restaurants for a 24 hour period. There were security at every door to make sure guests didn't venture outside, I suppose the hotels are suffering from a lack of tourists at the moment but I found this a little annoying. The other issue is the cigarette smoke everywhere but that is a problem all over Egypt, not good if you have allergies, we did have a non smoking room so ordered room service for dinner on several occasions to avoid this issue. We had dinner 1 night in the JW Steakhouse and found it to be very average and overpriced. On our return to Cairo for our last 2 nights we were given a room on the 9th floor, it was very large, spotlessly clean and also excellent floor staff. If we were to return to Cairo we would probably stay near the pyramids as the traffic getting to the Marriott in the evenings after a day out was terrible. On our return from a day in Alexandria in took 2 1/2 hours from the outskirts of Cairo to the Marriott. Apart from that it is a lovely hotel on the banks of the Nile and a good choice if you want to be in the city.

Room Tip: We chose a Nile view room and were in the Gezira Tower 8th and 9th floors, this was very good. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and would like to assure you that we continue to benchmark all our pricing against the market and updates are made accordingly.

Concerning the day where there was no access to the garden and pool we apologize for this inconvenience but on that day it was Cairo Marriott’s 30th Anniversary celebration party. I would like to inform you as well that our public indoor areas at the hotel are non-smoking areas and our restaurants have a non smoking section.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the palace in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Checked-in after Midnight with reservation, no hassle there, but the "extra" offers started to pile-up. Offers such as USD$55 (per day) for internet access and a chance to eat breakfast on the concierge floor. PASS. After informing the rather smarmy desk staffer that all I had was a wireless iPhone for connectivity, I was informed that wi-fi was "not available" at this location and that he recommended taking this generous offer. I declined again, seeing that if there was no wi-fi USD$55 for basically a breakfast was even more of a rip-off. I asked him for assistance in changing my reservation, at this location, to which he sneered - "We do not do that here, you must call reservations". Well, up in the room, lo and behold, Marriott wi-fi was strong and only LEP$86 (or USD$13) per day. That joker at the front desk was trying to rip me off. Lose one star. Our room was clean, with a good view - typical Marriott mid-level, but not 5 stars.

We went to Omar's Cafe for breakfast the next morning. We asked our host for an explanation as to what was included in the LEP$95 buffet, versus the LEP$130 buffet. He explained, "Everything on this side of the room is LEP$95". Everything on that side of the room appeared to include salted fish. cheese, hummus and bread. We fixed our plates with such and were charged LEP$95 that day. The next day, we returned to Omar's Cafe to find a filthy tablecloth at our table and a possibly tubercular fellow dinner (one table away) hacking and sneezing constantly. Seeing that our options were limited and our guide was arriving in 15 minutes, we made a quick run (one plate) of the items we were charged LEP$95 for the previous day. Upon inspecting the bill, I was charged LEP$130 for my plate. When confronting someone who appeared to be in charge there with the controversy, he explained "We made a mistake yesterday. You did not understand us. You ate the larger buffet. Salted fish and cheese are not on the (LEP$95) buffet. We will also correct this mistake on yesterday's bill." Hmmmmmmm. I signed the check with a protest and "frowny face" and we vowed to never return. Apparently senior management read my protest, and shortly after our return that evening, called our room and rather graciously offered to comp us our next breakfast. We declined, damage was done. After being treated that way by the other staffer that morning, what were we to believe?

Do yourself a favor, if needing to be downtown, I strongly advise you stay elsewhere. If needing to go with Marriott, stay at the cheaper, more professional and 5-star JW Marriott in New Cairo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister_Sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to first and foremost apologize for the recent experience that you had with us at the Cairo Marriott Hotel. The hotel management is greatly concerned about your feedback. We will address the issues with the relevant departments, and would still very much welcome a discussion with your good self if you prefer. Please contact me on emy.elshourbagi@marriott.com

Thanking you in advance and I look forward to hearing from you.



Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Thanks for all crew
From the first time since 4 years , I loved this hotel ,
Staff
Old culture
Room , espically Nile view room
Food , breakfast and etc... Is good
Backyard garden is amazing with great atmosphiere and excellent services
Thanks

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Maenaddassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
896 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 866 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have stayed at Cairo Marriott countless times over the last 8 years. My visit in December was truly the best as the service was unparalleled. I say this with a heavy heart, as Cairo is suffering from the ongoing unrest. I walked to Tahrir Square in the evening, and every hotel on both sides of the Nile were the same: few lights were on. Perhaps this explains the higher level of service and attention I received on this visit.

As someone who has been coming to Cairo for business or family vacation for 35 years, I recommend those who look at Egypt as off limits because of the scenes on the news take another look.The amazing sights are still there. The people of Egypt remain among the most welcoming, and the food quality and cleanliness is far above what it used to be.

The location of the Marriott Zamalek across the river from Tahrir Square makes it particularly desirable for the squeamish tourist. It is a quiet oasis in a lovely setting away from the noise and bustle of Cairo. At the same time, it is close to all the sights. While the rooms are nothing special, the pool, workout facility, restaurants and casino place this above the other hotels in Cairo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Nile view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino was an enjoyable one. Thank you for sharing your experience in Egypt and for the feedback on your recent stay with us. We are continuously striving to update our product and to enhance our customer experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the palace in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
12.9 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1086
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations, and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. with an upgraded outdoor heated swimming pool, in-house guests can enjoy their relaxing time around the pool bar. Kids can also enjoy their time in kids pool area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing