We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the center of Cairo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #6 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Cairo Marriott Hotel is a great place to stay in Cairo. The rooms are ok, nothing special, but the main building of the hotel (which is a palace built in the XIX century to host empress Eugenie) is just wonderful. The hotel has three or four restaurants and a couple of very nice bars. We tried the Egyptian retaurant in the garden and the food was nice. The service is very good: everyone speaks perfect English and the guest relations people are very helpful. They suggested to us nice restaurants and thing to do.
The breakfast is excellent, dont miss it. Also, the hotel has a very good location, in the center of Zamalek (nicest area in Cairo).
I reccomand it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benedetta73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and it ia always reflected on our goals and plans to ensure a more rewarding experience for our clients. Please rest assured that all your comments are being considered to ensure your utmost satisfaction on your future visits.
Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,316)
There are newer reviews for Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 2,316 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been coming to Cairo for more than 10 years now and every time I stay at the Omar Khayam Palace the experience is very good. Just a little anonymous for my taste but all amenities work or do so on a much higher level and frequency than anything else in Cairo. The local restaurant in the garden has good food. The entertainment is run of the mill and mostly Arabic music with singers, but that in itself is nice as a backdrop for the area.
You're right next to the Nile and close enough to Cairo proper for trips and an experience of this mega city.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower room above the 10th for quiet and a view, ask for a court yard room to be close to t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruninghaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again to the Palace.

Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Well i have a review before on the Marriott, which i enjoyed so much, this time i stayed for 14 days. breakfast was great as usual, prices went a little bit higher though.
staff we friendly and always want to help.
but what i really hated this time was the room card that only allows you to enter the elevator and go to your floor, i mean we were a group of 8, and each time i wanna go to a collegue's room it was a mess!! plus over and above, the cards are not always working!! so i have to go all the way to the reception to let them exchange my room card/key. or just let them give me a key to the desired floor !! its a system but badly implemented!!!

Room Tip: high floor, zamalek tower
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kabouzeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Mr. Karim,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance we appreciate your understanding to our safety and security system. The safety and security of our esteemed guests is and will continue to be our number one priority.

Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we apologize for any inconvenience occurred during your stay. We look forward to welcome you back for a more rewarding experience at the Cairo Marriott Hotel.


Emy El Shourbagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Ideal location for a Cairo novice
You can actually walk the streets in zamalek and feel safe
Tos of food and drink Options near by ad super close anywhere else you will want to go
Pool and gardens are beautiful
Rooms are dated and water pressure is not great
But you do get a good safe sleep
Skip the breakfast unless it is included in your room price
Way over priced

Room Tip: As high as you can get
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rogerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and would like to assure you that we continue to benchmark all our pricing against the market and updates are made accordingly.

Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.


Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great hotel in Zamalek district. Certainly, the best of the two Marriotts we stayed in Egypt recently (other was at Sharm El Sheik). Attentive service, food was very good and an evening of drinks and canapes in the old billiard room of the palace was most enjoyable. Cairo is a very tough gig for tourists (or for anyone, for that matter) so this was quite an oasis; even the shopping was OK! Had a room with an impressive view of the river, even if at times one was peering through the polluted Cairo gloom!

Room Tip: Try and get a room up high with a view over the Nile.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future

Thanking you
Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is a great one with Prestige , History , facilities , Garden , Ambiance , Location but still needs a lot of improvements for keeping its five stars. Actually the rooms need renovation. The big disappointment is that there is no wireless in the rooms but only cables !!! I wouldn't expect that from such hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. Kindly rest assured that we take all our customer feedback of utmost importance. We are continuously striving to update our products to enhance our customer experience and this is an ongoing process with expected developments in due course.

Thank You
Emy El Shourbagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was having conference meeting in this hotel for 2 days so my comment will be mostly on the banquet, sales, reservation services: Hospitality Services.

It is undeniably that he hotel is very nice and clean with good facilities and location etc. But, it kept me wondering if hotelier in Cairo does not have the common sense of customer service at all or is it just their nature? Or, they are naturally not friendly?

During the meeting, coffe tea was not replenished well, the AV technician was smoking inside the function room while the meeting was going on, it takes more than 20 minutes to wait for lunch buffet to be re-fill, banquet staff are so slow we had to repeat 100 times then only we get things we requested. As an event organizer, how would you feel when your delegate been treated in a very bad services.

What dissappointing me the most is, when I complaint to the relevant supervisor and asst manager, they were being very defensive. They kept denying all my complaints as if it is not big deal to have such problem. They even told me that they were busy and I was lucky that they answered my call? As as service provider, it is your job to listen to my request or enquiry and telling me you're busy? I even asked for anyone else who can assist if he's too busy and no one! I have been dealing with most of 5 star luxury hotels around the world and had never been treated like this.

Overall, this hotel does not provide 5 star service to their customers. It just sucks, I'd like to talk to the GM and express how upset I am with the treatment I received.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nadrahamzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#14 of 139 in Cairo
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
0.6 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 139 in Cairo
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $138 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1060
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations, and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. with an upgraded outdoor heated swimming pool, in-house guests can enjoy their relaxing time around the pool bar. Kids can also enjoy their time in kids pool area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Prestigia, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing