We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Cairo Madness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Cairo Madness”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great hotel in Zamalek district. Certainly, the best of the two Marriotts we stayed in Egypt recently (other was at Sharm El Sheik). Attentive service, food was very good and an evening of drinks and canapes in the old billiard room of the palace was most enjoyable. Cairo is a very tough gig for tourists (or for anyone, for that matter) so this was quite an oasis; even the shopping was OK! Had a room with an impressive view of the river, even if at times one was peering through the polluted Cairo gloom!

Room Tip: Try and get a room up high with a view over the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future

Thanking you
Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    656
    181
    73
    52
See reviews for
340
565
190
726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut , lebanon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is a great one with Prestige , History , facilities , Garden , Ambiance , Location but still needs a lot of improvements for keeping its five stars. Actually the rooms need renovation. The big disappointment is that there is no wireless in the rooms but only cables !!! I wouldn't expect that from such hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. Kindly rest assured that we take all our customer feedback of utmost importance. We are continuously striving to update our products to enhance our customer experience and this is an ongoing process with expected developments in due course.

Thank You
Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was having conference meeting in this hotel for 2 days so my comment will be mostly on the banquet, sales, reservation services: Hospitality Services.

It is undeniably that he hotel is very nice and clean with good facilities and location etc. But, it kept me wondering if hotelier in Cairo does not have the common sense of customer service at all or is it just their nature? Or, they are naturally not friendly?

During the meeting, coffe tea was not replenished well, the AV technician was smoking inside the function room while the meeting was going on, it takes more than 20 minutes to wait for lunch buffet to be re-fill, banquet staff are so slow we had to repeat 100 times then only we get things we requested. As an event organizer, how would you feel when your delegate been treated in a very bad services.

What dissappointing me the most is, when I complaint to the relevant supervisor and asst manager, they were being very defensive. They kept denying all my complaints as if it is not big deal to have such problem. They even told me that they were busy and I was lucky that they answered my call? As as service provider, it is your job to listen to my request or enquiry and telling me you're busy? I even asked for anyone else who can assist if he's too busy and no one! I have been dealing with most of 5 star luxury hotels around the world and had never been treated like this.

Overall, this hotel does not provide 5 star service to their customers. It just sucks, I'd like to talk to the GM and express how upset I am with the treatment I received.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nadrahamzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Jerusalem
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fantastic staff at this hotel, which is combines Marriott service with a classic Cairo site. Great choice for a work or personal visit to Cairo. Traffic will be a pain no matter where you are in Cairo, so might as well be in the desirable Zamalek area.

Room Tip: If you have Marriott Rewards status, make sure you're on the club floor, and get lounge access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huzzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace in the near future.



Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Marriott Cairo and enjoyed it.
The rooms (we got upgraded to the executive floor) are of a fair size and you find everything you expect to find in a Marriott hotel.
There are many very nice Restaurants in this hotel, but unfornately they are difficult to find due to the lack of signage. A def. must for such a large place.
Staff are very friendly and helpful especially in the Restaurants. Apart from the reception. When checking-in we did not receive any information about the hotel what so ever. Also the check out staff were everything else than friendly.What about thanking people for staying at the Marriott??
The staff in the Breakfast room are very friendly and the choice of food is ok, but we found it strange that the Menu stated they had Bacon and when we asked for it, we were told that they have not had any bacon since the revolution. Would it be so difficult to take the Bacon off the menu in nearly two years????

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waltons2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and it ia always reflected on our goals and plans to ensure a more rewarding experience for our clients. Please rest assured that all your comments are being considered to ensure your utmost satisfaction on your future visits.

Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.

Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed for five nights while on business in Cairo.

The service was up to the usual high Marriott standard. So much so that by the fourth morning the waiter at breakfast did not even have to ask what I wanted to drink but just brought me my ‘usual’.

The hotel facilities were very good. There are (from memory) five different restaurants to eat in, with something to suit all tastes. The room itself was nothing special. It was clean, comfortable and a decent size. I did like that fact all rooms seem to have a balcony that you can sit out on.

Favourite thing – sitting in the Garden Promenade Café, ‘watching the world go by’
Worst thing – I cannot understand while a hotel of this class cannot offer free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arpaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take all our customer feedback of utmost importance. We are continuously striving to update our products to enhance our customer experience and this is an ongoing process with expected developments in due course.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel for a more rewarding experience.

Thank you and kind regards

Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for five days while visiting Cairo. This being a Marriott, expect typical rooms you would find elsewhere. The only exceptions would be a few different items such as an electric kettle for making tea instead of a coffee maker. The Wi-Fi is a little spotty in some parts of the hotel, but it works in the Executive Lounge. The rooms are comfortable, and relatively clean.

I stayed in an executive room so it was a little larger than the average room and had access to the Executive Lounge. The breakfast that is served in the Executive Lounge is excellent and caters to Western palates, however I recommend you go out and eat in the city if you want local fare. The Lounge is a good place to stock up on bottled water before you head out into the city. The gardens are a nice place to sit during the evening.

The service can be a little stifling if you are not expecting it. But, keep in mind it is the cultural nature of the place (and the tourism trade has also contributed to it).

Room Tip: The term "Nile View" should be taken very loosely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPsjkang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Cairo Marriott Hotel and Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.

Thank you
Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
7.4 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1087
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. Dear valued guest, Please excuse us as we are closing our swimming pool for renovation to enhance our facilities and make your stay always more brilliant. closure will be from 08th of October 2016 till end of June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing