We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #9 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had our wedding there, it was a masterpiece, the service is perfect and the staff there are really helpful, cooperative and understanding, were always helping us to solve all the unexpected problems we faced that day, moreover the food quality was amazing and all the invitees were really happy with it, a very large variety, but actually we didn't go to the swimming pool it was a small one and we didn't had time for it, just we stayed there for 2 nights and then left the hotel, but indeed it was just amazing experience there

Room Tip: the royal suites are not that large as for the four seasons in Cairo, the view is really nice from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lika Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your wedding and thank you for sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace in the near future.


Kind regards

Emy El Shourbagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,251 of 2,411 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel without a doubt especially the common areas e.g. meeting rooms, etc. The hotel includes a 24 hour bank which comes in handy if you need Egyptian pounds or change for tips etc. It also has several shops that looked interesting if you have time to explore.
The rooms are comparable to other high end Marriott’s. We traveled on Marriott points and had executive level access. The room balcony in the city was also a nice plus. We had a room with a view of the pool as well as a bit of the Nile. We didn’t eat at the hotel but enjoyed the fruit basket and sweets left in the evening.
The pool is as wonderful as it appears in pictures. However, I felt the least comfortable in Egypt at the pool as an “uncovered” woman (maybe Sex in the City 2 was in the back of my mind). That being said, I enjoyed sitting by the pool while my nephew swam and could easily imagine enjoying a leisurely day by the pool. Security was posted outside the elevator on our floor. We were told every exec floor had security. They also had metal detectors at the entry. A few other drawbacks include the lack of signage directing guests to registration. Because this is a very large hotel this is important especially if you arrive exhausted. I didn’t visit the casino but it is a nice to have if that is your thing. The staff was helpful and friendly (not overly so).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ixchel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance, please rest assured that all your comments are being considered to ensure your utmost satisfaction on your future visits.

Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.


Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was very lucky to stay for 2 days at Cairo Marriott Hotel in October .i stayed at a DBL room which was huge we had two beds each was a queen size .the room had all the necessaries anyone may need to have the room service was very punctual the food was very tasty .on the 2nd day we ordered breakfast in our room it was an American breakfast which was great the portion was huge.we really enjoyed our stay and I would definitely stay again soon at this hotel .our room was overlooking the Nile and you could see all the scenery from high above as we were on the 16 floor . We were given the Marriott Rewards card as soon as we checked in so we could use it easily in any Marriott Hotels all over the world .great experience .

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the 16 or 18 floor the scenery is spectacular .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiapride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Cairo Marriott Hotel and Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope that, in the near future, we are able to welcome you back.


Thank you
Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the "comeback" made by this wonderful Marriott property. I was attending a wedding with my family, and we spent the night in one of the newly renovated diplomatic suites at the Zamalek tower. I must say the hotel management managed to get this hotel back on its feet in terms of service. All the staff members that I dealt with during my stay were excellent and very efficient. Food was excellent and room service and house keeping were swift. The newly renovated suite was very keenly appointed with an array of ameneties. I believe if this hotel manages to keep up this quality of service it will win back all the clients it lost in the past 10 years or so. Very good job Marriott Zamalek.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-Elgawhergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again to the Palace.

Emy El Shourbagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel used to be a palace so that should give you some idea of how "swanky" it is. The service is impeccable and the staff very helpful and friendly. This is probably the most upscale hotel that I have ever stayed in.

It was recommended to me to stay in the Zamalek Tower. Got a room on the 16th floor which had a balcony and great views of the city and the Nile.

Food and drink in the hotel is pricey. A local beer, for example, will cost around EGP 50.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony to enjoy the views in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroonsBane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and would like to assure you that we continue to benchmark all our pricing against the market and updates are made accordingly.


Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.


Emy El Shourbagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Have just returned from 45 days in Egypt, and can report without equivocation: "Egypt is STILL safe for tourists". Not only were we spared any problems (even in the midst of demonstrations), we were greeted with the same warm, friendly welcome from everyone that has become, for us, the hallmark of Egyptian hospitality.
. Our return to the Marriott, Zamalek (two weeks in all) was exactly what we expected, from the initial greeting and check in with the very efficient and professional front desk Mr. Abdel Kareem Abd El Aziz ...no nonsense, no delay...we were in our room on the 19th floor within 20 minutes. Spectacular view that took in the Nile, the gardens, and what looked like most of Zamalek. Mr. Abd El Aziz epitomizes the best in Marriott service.

Never fail to be impressed with the pool area and spa...spotlessly clean, smiling service, and probably the best 'Burgers' in Cairo. Only problem is on holidays when the pool is filled with screaming children.

Breakfast at Omar's cafe is still a special treat...and it is hard to imagine a friendlier or more professional atmosphere. It is a joy to watch chef Whaleed Farouk handle four omelets and a dozen Tamia without missing a beat or losing his good humour. Special mention really needs to go to Captain Hussein Hendowi; It is obvious from the respect he is given by his staff that this man is a true professional...not at all averse to chipping in when things get a bit hectic...setting up and clearing tables while still taking time to make each guest feel really special. And while the staff were all efficient and well trained, two-- El Sayed Ezzat and Mai Alaa made each morning a delightful experience.
Zamalek, a quiet oases in bustling Cairo, is a great place to stroll, to shop, and to enjoy finding new restaurants. Our latest find, a real treasure: P.s Cafe on El Sayed el Bakry St...a few short blocks from the Marriott. Seems to be the newest 'in' spot for young Cairenes. Small interior (6 tables) but spills out to the sidewalk and produces a staggering amount of food from a very extensive menu, heavy on Italian and Mexican specialities. Very affordable. with entres averaging 16 to 45 Egyptian pounds. Most expensive item on the menu: Mixed Seafood Grill at 55LE. Two can enjoy a satisfying meal for under 100LE.

After almost 20 years, we have still not found a better, more convenient, more comfortable hotel in Cairo than the Marriott. We look forward to many, many more visits.

Room Tip: Higher floors in the Zamalek tower -15 and above.. Great views, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigappleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest.


Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay.


Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again to the Palace.




Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

As background I am a Marriott Rewards Platinum member - so I've stayed at many Marriott hotels around the world and am used to getting something in exchange for my loyalty to Marriott.
We stayed as a family of 4 (2 younger kids ages 10 and 8) during a recent holiday in Egypt.
- check-in/out was good, got upgraded to a room in an executive floor a few floors away from the lounge, no hassle for having 4 people in the double room,
- "at your service" was prompt - quickly sending up extra towels on request,
- room was spacious, with a balcony overlooking the nile,
- lounge was large and staff were very good/helpful. free wi-fi in the lounge (only wired access in room), good breakfast with made to order eggs, great evening meal at around 17:30,
- pool was good, kids enjoyed it.
Overall a good location that worked well for us.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Sir,


We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your last stay in Cairo and thank you for sharing your experience.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace in the near future.



Kind regards
Emy El Shourbagi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#16 of 141 in Cairo
2,619 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1 mi away
Fairmont Nile City
Fairmont Nile City
#6 of 141 in Cairo
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#6 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $162 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1060
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among premier Cairo, Egypt hotels, Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino sits in the Zamalek area and is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations, and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel in Cairo rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing