We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of the Nile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice view of the Nile”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel was once a palace, and has two wings, I stayed in the Gazera tower. A bit of a walk from the reception, but the porter takes care of your bags for you. The service was excellent, especially since I had forgotten to pack a comb, toothbrush and tooth paste. A call to the reception, and the staff promptly brought the items at no additional cost. The rooms have a balcony, and in the evenings, one can sit outside and enjoy the view of the Nile. There are a couple of floating restaurants just outside the hotel, it you want to get closer to River Nile. Overall, I enjoyed my stay, and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with a view of the Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kairetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,



We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. The hotel as you mentioned, is a historical property which was originally built by Khedive Ismail Pasha for the inauguration of the Suez Canal celebrations in 1869. The Palace housed European monarchs, including Empress Eugenie, the wife of Napoleon III, and was also the venue for the first performance of Verdi’s Opera Aida.





Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences and we hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.



Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,290
    666
    186
    74
    55
See reviews for
358
570
192
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is a huge, grand former palace flanked by two tower blocks which is where the rooms are. We had an Executive Twin room which you could not really fault but it did have a slightly old fashioned feel about it. All the room amenities were there, good choice of TV channels in various languages, good bathroom amenities. very comfy beds etc. The Executive room that you can use if you have a room of this type was OK. We had breakfast in there and despite great omelettes and cappuccinos the rest was distinctively average. Only bonus was there was free wi-fi in there.

The pool is a lovely size and there are loads of sun-beds but the area could do with a spruce up.

One of my complaints is that whilst there are literally staff everywhere, they are really not that useful and generally seem to get in the way. Nobody necessarily offers to help. Loads of staff around the pool but difficult to catch somebody's attention to get a drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,



Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We value your feedback and have shared it with the respective departments. I do hope we will have a near future opportunity to welcome you back for a complete rewarding Cairo Marriott experience.



Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, we got the Nile view high floor room, although it was a bit noisy during the day caused by the heavy traffic, but the stunning view of Nile River are well worth for it.
The room itself look so tired and the housekeeper didnt do a good job at all, some paper under our bed was there from our day one until our last day.
Breakfast selection was ok, but lack of service.
Pool service was slow; Casino is small, not really exciting.
Front Desk was full of unfriendly receptionists.
Concierge was good, friendly and helpful. We booked a trip to few attractions with the hotel tour, the driver and guide was good and professional.
We had few drinks at the revolving lounge at the Grand Hyatt/Grand Nile Tower, the service there was much more better from every part of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleychinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback, and I am so very sorry that you did not have a good experience with us during your last stay. We at Marriott strive for excellence and can only improve with your comments. I would very much welcome a discussion with you on the issues that you had with us, and please do contact me on emy.elshourbagi@marriott.com.



Kind regards

Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was the 3rd and 4th time we stayed in the Cairo Marriott, both for 4 nights.
I usually find the Hotel very pleasant.
The main part is an old palace with a tower block added on each side to accommodate the rooms. The hotel is in an ideal central location but as soon as you step inside you forget that there is a busy city outside.
The lobby and reception area and all food outlets are in fantastic condition and the garden is just wonderful. The Hotel has a great selection of food, everything from pure Egyptian over Italian to Sushi. There is a decent size pool which is open throughout and even a little kiddies pool which is ideal when you are travelling with children and they badger you about going for a swim :)
The rooms do look a little tired although they are usually cleaned to a very high standard.

Unfortunately, I have to say though that the level of service has dropped.
The staff in the breakfast and the porters were great, so I am discounting them but all other services/ outlets we used/ requested were very slow to say the least. Orders being taken and delivered, especially in the Garden Cafe seemed to take forever - a stark contrast to the last two times we stayed.
Upon arrival, which was very late at night, we checked into a room and found shavers/toothbrush etc from a previous guest still in the bathroom. We called reception and asked for them to be removed but after 20min waiting we just wanted to sleep to put them outside the room ourselves - not acceptable....

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view as the Nile View can be very noisy. If you do want Nile View you have to be hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sir,


I would like to first and foremost apologize for the recent experience that you had with us at the Cairo Marriott Hotel. We pride ourselves on customer service and I was greatly concerned with your recent feedback. We will address the issues to the relevant departments, and would still very much welcome a discussion with you on the issues that you had with us, and please do contact me on emy.elshourbagi@marriott.com.

Thanking you in advance and I look forward to hearing from you.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A stayed four nights whilst giving a training course (in one of their meeting rooms). It is a very well run hotel, with excellent facilities, built around a very attractive garden, in a convenient and nice part of town (an island in the Nile). The original central building is an old palace with residential blocks added. Everything I experienced was well run and well maintained and I saw no sign of the "aging" described in another review.

The service is very good, friendly and efficient and the conference room attendants went out of their way to cover all my requests and make the experience pleasant.

I ate in the Country Kitchen (adequate, fast and cheap) and the open air restaurant in the garden - which served first class Egyptian food and beautiful surroundings, but not that the helpings are large so try to share dishes.

The gardens made an excellent place to recuperate after having done some hectic sightseeing and taxi rides in Cairo.

Room Tip: Rooms around the garden are attractive - you will not hear any traffic but may be a bit noisy from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vch01oct2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino., we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace in the near future.



Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I like Cairo and whenever I go there for holiday or business, I always stay here. Big hotel, but with a fantastic garden, where you can smoke a Shisha and just enjoy the atmosphere.
I was here during my birthday with my family and we had the most wonderful evening at the steak house.
This is value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino., we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace in the near future.


Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is my 3rd time in 10 months that I have been to The Marriott. The hotel is huge and have a beautiful garden and multiple types of cuisines. The choices of cuisines are top notch but wouldn't recommend the Sushi place, you can surely spot better sushi restaurants within the vicinity. You will notice that the hotel is aging by the day but is still managed to stay busy. I hated the fact that Internet is paid and there is no wifi connection. You pay an average of $15 per 24 hours of which you shoul connect through a cable. Rooms adjacent to The Nile have the best view,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgitani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you usually enjoy your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and would like to assure you that we continue to benchmark all our pricing against the market and updates are made accordingly.

Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.


Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
12.9 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1086
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations, and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. with an upgraded outdoor heated swimming pool, in-house guests can enjoy their relaxing time around the pool bar. Kids can also enjoy their time in kids pool area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing