We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel with very friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi
Ranked #32 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very good hotel with very friendly staff.”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had two adjacent rooms on the 12th floor.
When the sky is clear, you have a fantastic view at the pyramids of Gizeh and Sakkara!
The rooms were clean, but not very spacious, there is too much furniture in the room. The beds were fantastic. The bathroom clean and big enough. Breakfast is very good, they have a lot of variety.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at one of the highest floors. We were on the 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Car_on_line_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGassner, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers & Casino on your visit to Cairo. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel's room cleaning, Breakfast food varieties and the Nile view. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cairo
Sincerely,

Thomas Gassner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    117
    65
    32
    17
See reviews for
25
30
34
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

After some disappointing experiences at Sofitel I have been avoiding this hotel, however my experience at the Maadi Towers reconciled me with this brand. The staff is really good and helpful, from check in until check out the staff was good. The breakfast was very good and the room clean and comfortable, especially if you face the Nile on the upper floors!
It is an oasis of calm from the very busy streets of Cairo. The Italian restaurant is good at the hotel and the shops and money machines they have at the entrance of the hotel are handy.
Internet worked very well too.
Given the current circumstances in Cairo, Maadi is an ideal location because it is far from the instability of Tahrir Square and the downtown area which surrounds it yet it is still in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor that face the street also face the Nile and the view early in the morning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGassner, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers & Casino on your visit to Cairo. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel's rooms, Nile view and the breakfast buffet. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cairo
Sincerely,

Thomas Gassner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Overall it was a good small Hotel. It got 2 main restaurants Little Italy & open buffe at Le Clovis. If it was for a long stay we would face the food variance is not enough, but for short stay it was nice. Especially for breakfast we got a lot choice for the Tea. From the first dat stay in this Hotel I was asking for the king size bed room view to Nile, they said they already noted and will arrange it but until I check out a week later it never happen. It is quite disapointed, and i had to stay in 2 single bed and office building view at the balcony. It can be seen that it is no way the room was all booked at that time. The internet wifi we had to login everytime we use it, which quite bothering also.

Room Tip: It will be nice if we got the room view to the Nile river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGassner, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Mr. David

At Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers & Casino we are very serious about our customer’s satisfaction and we work hard to get to the bottom of any customer complaints. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced in your last stay.

We take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your time for give us the details towards your last visit to the hotel. We are working on this point and we will do our utmost to change all those comments to be positive, once again we would like to express our deep apology and looking forward for giving your good self a better service & experience in your next visit to the hotel.


sincerely

Thomas GASSNER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotel looks promising at the lobby only..as soon as you enter you room,you might feel yourself like Alice in WonderLand-step by step you can discover not expected things in your room..particularly not cleaned DIRT in the corners of the bath,toilet,washing basin,inside cupboards and drawers. Leaking outgoing water pipes under washing basin and,when you take a shower all water going out on the floor,because there is no isolation in the frame of glass bulk in the shower.You can discover bushes of fungus,holes in the walls,curtains torn out ..If you got neighbors,you will have feeling,as you stay in the same room,because all noises someone behind the wall makes you can hear very clear in your room..
In the restaurants the taste of the dishes from menu is very far from name of the dish itself..At the breakfast if you need something(like cup for tea,fork,knife or coffee) and asked for it,you will get it at least in the end of your breakfast,if you are lucky.Some mornings the air conditioner working for freezing people..
If you order some food in your room,don't be surprise,if you get your soup without bread and time you ask for the bread,time you get it,your soup will get cold,or instead of "grilled chicken with onion jam,potato croquette and brown sauce" you get only fried chicken with 10 potato croquette and one cherry tomato..it is normal.
The cleaning in your room better you do yourself,buying all antibacterial sprays in the next door market..I think you would like to know,that cleaning all around the room(including toilet) done with the same cloth..it was shocking for myself to see the lady in the end of the cleaning of balcony trowing the rest of dirty water just down,out of the balcony from 8th floor!
The swimming pool is outdoor on 2nd floor and just in front of almost 24hours busy boulevard.You take decision how much polluted it is.
Don't be surprised,if your socks from dry cleaning you receive without pair,or your white underwear will be unknown color forever after the laundry of the hotel..
The security "friend" at the door can tell you very friendly "Give me 10 euros",only because you are from Europe.If you glance him strange,he tells you "ok,give 5 euros"..
I am pity to see,how the hotel,which is might be very good,actually horrible inside..and hope the managers will take some responsibility on changing it to the good way.Education gentleman,education!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marishkam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGassner, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Marishkam 75

At Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers & Casino we are very serious about our customer’s satisfaction and we work hard to get to the bottom of your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had.

We take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your time for give us the details towards your last visit to the hotel. We are working in all those points and we will do our utmost to change all those comments to be positive, once again we would like to express our deep apology and looking forward for giving your good self a better service & experience in your next visit to the hotel.

Sincerely,

Thomas GASSNER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our room on the sixth floor (first residential floor) hung over the Nile river with a beautiful view up-river and across to the Four Seasons and Grand Hyatt hotels. It was not large but was well appointed with a very small standing room only balcony. The all night (until 5 AM!) flaming neon colored party boats were sailing up and down constantly. The music played was so loud that our sliding door to the balcony had to be closed at all times. To be on one of those boats must damage one's ears.
The buffet restaurant on the ground floor offered excellent food of all types. Service was excellent.
Although the hotel offers nothing memorable, it is comfortable, with good service.We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor on Nile side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenatRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGassner, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers & Casino on your visit to Cairo.We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel, We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cairo
Sincerely,

Thomas GASSNER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala lampur
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here with my family for 4 nights. I was booked through my company on a very reasonable rates. Hotel has given us extra ordinary favor when my wife asked for emergency pain killer medicine at the late night on our arrival which they promptly provided.

The size of the rooms were just ok for us. We have been provided two joining rooms as my kids were staying adjacent room and we almost felt as we were in our home.

Service was amazingly quick and efficient. Hotel has couple of good restaurant, money changer. Hotel entrance has strict security with scanner installed at the gate.

My room terrace and window view was towards Nile River and across the Nile in the desert , Step Pyramids (Saqqara) and Pyramids can be seen when the desert sand set well below the surface.

Excellent breakfast which one should not miss. The hotel slightly away from the main commercial area but a market (Alfa market) was just next to the hotel was found to be very useful. I was lucky enough that I was introduced with a taxi driver who was keen avid author of few books and who had wonderful knowledge of Cairo. He did arrange our travel plan from hotel to various part of the city. Taxi was really economical and we had a good friendly driver with us.

Hotel has allowed their guests to call for outside food and delivery such as from Pizzahut, Burger king and KFC which are very close to the hotel near the Maadi Metro station

Those who love to stay on Nile River slightly away from the downtown in modern area

Our stay was great and I would love to stay there again on my next visit

Room Tip: Nile river view and on top or higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tariq_Hasany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGassner, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers & Casino on your visit to Cairo. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel services and breakfast buffet . We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cairo
Sincerely,

Thomas GASSNER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had visited the hotel two times first time in 2011 second time in October this year but the second time it was much interesting for me cause I got a room looking on nile view with supplement10 USD per night .. it is reasonable for me, that was suggested to me by the gentleman in the business center as nobody told me this suggestion last year!! I'm not sure if that a new system. over than the exellent care he gave it to me during my stay I sent to him thanks letter. the hotel renovation and mageud as I remember his name made my second stay much diffrent

Room Tip: ask for room nile view it really worth
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGassner, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers & Casino on your visit to Cairo. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. we share all the feedback with Maged and such feedbacks helps in his motivation and recognition.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cairo
Sincerely,

Thomas GASSNER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.2 mi away
Maadi Hotel
Maadi Hotel
#88 of 137 in Cairo
74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Belle Epoque
Villa Belle Epoque
#37 of 137 in Cairo
62 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn - Citystars
Holiday Inn - Citystars
#18 of 137 in Cairo
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
14.4 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#4 of 137 in Cairo
1,152 reviews
12.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cairo Heliopolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi

Property: Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi
Address: 29 Corniche El Nil, Maadi | PO Box 217, Cairo 11511, Egypt (Formerly Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the city's most fascinating sites & ancient wonders, Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi Towers overlooks the majestic Nile River, with panoramic views of the great Giza pyramids. This stylish hotel offers the convenience of a professional business center with its own superb restaurants, conference rooms, ballroom, world-class casino, heated pool and more, 12 km from downtown, 30 min from the CICC and 45 minutes from the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers Hotel Cairo
Sofitel Cairo Maadi Hotel
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing