We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smile your in Egypt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi
Ranked #29 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Smile your in Egypt”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is rated as five star however with my experiences I would struggle to give it two stars especially for service. I have had several issues with my room and it is a chore to get things like light fittings and air conditioning fixed. It's worse trying to get them to replace used items such as soap or tea bags. Breakfast is good if you like sticky buns but the other selections leave a lot to be desired. I will say the location is great if you are doing business in Maadi and I found the Italian restaurant to be very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kincorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TGassner, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Italian Restaurant and breakfast buffet,
We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Hotel Sofitel Cairo Maadi We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We apologize for the miscommunication with the issues in the room, Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.
Sincerely,
Thomas GASSNER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    117
    65
    32
    17
See reviews for
25
30
34
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel four times while in Egypt on business over the last couple of years or so.

It has a good location on the Nile and fairly close to Maadi. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and I have always slept well here. There is slightly more traffic noise in the rooms on the Nile side of the hotel, but these are the rooms to have in my opinion - you can see the Pyramids on a clear day!

The breakfast is excellent and sets you up well for the day.

I had the misfortune to be stranded in Cairo for a few days at the start of the 'revolution' in Jan/Feb 2011, but the hotel looked after magnificently until we get leave for home.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Nile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Mr.Eric,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers & Casino on your visit to Cairo. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay in spite of staying in revolution days, We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cairo
Sincerely,
Michael Calixte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos City (iam from Scotland moved here 5 years ago)
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have just spent more time here at this hotel and i can sum it up in one word.EXCELLENT..from check in to check out i can not fault it,the staff are so very helpful/friendly and always willing to help,the rooms are spotless/comfortable,i reall do recommend if your in Cairo stay here,wonderful experience,oh also i had the best shave/haircut/facial at the ground level.well worth it..

Room Tip: Ask for a Nile view,lovely breeze from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geohse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers & Casino on your visit to Cairo. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive experience of our hotel. We share your feedback with the management and staff , which hlps in staff motivation and recognition.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cairo

Sincerely,
Michael Calixte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Currently on a long stay in the Sofitel and can highly recommend their Italian restaurant. Food very tasty and reasonably priced especially as situated in the hotel . Staff very friendly and eager to please . Particularly enjoy their thin and crispy pizzas!

Room Tip: If choosing a room in hotel please note that although the Nile rooms have an amazing view there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CairoLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers & Casino on your visit to Cairo. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time in our Italian restaurant during your stay. We also thank you for the positive experience of our hotel. We share your feedback with the management and staff , which helps in staff motivation and recognition.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cairo.

Sincerely,

Michael Calixte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2012

It was over three years since I last stayed, nIce to see the renovations. Hotel used to be quite shabby. Hotel chosen for location as I used to live in maadi. Pleasant and helpful staff. A little over but thn that's Cairo hotels

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulH1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers & Casino on your visit to Cairo. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. the renovation still ongoing, we are doing our best to satisfy our guests, We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cairo

Sincerely,
Michael Calixte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I recently spent 6 nights in Sofitel Cairo it was my first time to visit this hotel it's small hotel and quiet but I like it because I visited at business, the hote has a good business center with a professional employees they were caring for me and they are honest ....

Room Tip: the hotel is overlooking river nile view but I did not enjoy with this view because my room was back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers & Casino on your visit to Cairo. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Cairo
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I should preface this by saying that I did NOT choose this hotel, it was chosen for me by my employer. I prefer to stay at marriott hotels, but I was willing to give the sofitel a chance. so far, I have been very disappointed.

the location of the hotel seems to be quite boring. it sits right on the corniche, so traffic noise is quite loud. also, the neighborhood is not exactly walkable, so you are forced to either go through the hassle of getting a taxi that won't rip you off or eating at the hotel. I did order room service my first night, and I was not given a glass for my soda, ketchup for my french fries, or a napkin. but I was starving after traveling for a day and a half, so I just dealt with it. and I can't imagine trying to visit the touristy areas of town from here, because we are no where close to downtown.

the room itself is comfortable and kind of clean, however you cannot control your own heating and air conditioning. it is hot in cairo right now, and it is hot enough in my room that I have woken up sweating both nights so far. there is also hair in the shower that was there when I arrived and has not yet been cleaned... which is so strange because the housekeeper seems so eager to work that he walked in on me twice while I was sleeping. my privacy tag is now hanging on the door.

there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel, which is really convenient. however, be prepared that you can only connect one device to it at a time, and you have to wait about 10 minutes after disconnecting one before connecting another. not sure how that would work with more than one person per room.

the pool area is well appointed and nice to look at, and the lounge chairs are comfortable. the egyptian music was kind of annoying and did not drown out the street noise at all, so my pool time was not very relaxing. but it was a nice respite from my hot room and the creepy housekeeper. also, it sounds like someone is doing construction or something in the room next door. there has been a consistent hammer-pounding sound since about 9 am this morning (on a saturday). not exactly what I wanted to hear on my day off.

and to top it all off, every single person I have encountered who works here is rude. from the front desk, to the bell man, to the waiters at breakfast, to the guys working at the pool...

I definitely would NOT recommend this hotel or this neighborhood for people visiting cairo.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments. We reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Hotel Sofitel Maadi. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get, Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.2 mi away
Maadi Hotel
Maadi Hotel
#87 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn - Citystars
Holiday Inn - Citystars
#17 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
5.5 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
5.9 mi away
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Novotel Cairo El Borg
#27 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi

Property: Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi
Address: 29 Corniche El Nil, Maadi | PO Box 217, Cairo 11511, Egypt (Formerly Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the city's most fascinating sites & ancient wonders, Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi Towers overlooks the majestic Nile River, with panoramic views of the great Giza pyramids. This stylish hotel offers the convenience of a professional business center with its own superb restaurants, conference rooms, ballroom, world-class casino, heated pool and more, 12 km from downtown, 30 min from the CICC and 45 minutes from the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers Hotel Cairo
Sofitel Cairo Maadi Hotel
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing