We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Cairo Airport
Ranked #30 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Smallish room, but clean and adequate for an overnight stopover. Adequate choice at breakfast buffet. The hotel’s airport shuttle bus runs every half hour, and takes about 25 minutes to get round all three terminals.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Cairo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

As we expected, the Novotel Cairo was the worst hotel of the trip. I wish I had been surprised and proven wrong, but the rooms are terrible. The public spaces are fine, particularly the lobby and restaurants, and the pool is adequate (although a little old and dated), but the rooms and the dank musty smell emanating from them are unacceptable. Sadly, we were here for three nights due to our rigorous touring schedule. There is an Iberotel right next door, and the view that we had from our room into/onto that property made our stay at the Novotel even worse, because the Iberotel looked much nicer than where we were (we had prepaid, so we couldn’t leave without losing all our money). The bathroom was fine, although the toilet didn’t flush properly, despite several calls to the front desk and maintenance visits. The air-conditioning worked wonderfully, as did the flat screen TV, so that was something at least. Space was tight, and we had a room with a king-size bed, so I think it would be even more cramped in a room with two double beds. We also had a sofa/daybed type thing, but the furniture, carpet, and curtains definitely needed a refresh. There was a mini-bar (not included), which gave us plenty of space to store the drinks and snacks that we bought at the grocery store across the street (well, across the street from the property entrance). The Italian restaurant (La Primavera) was fine, as was the Le Jardin d’Heliopolis (a la carte). We missed breakfast on all of the days (at Le Jardin), so I can’t comment, but the buffet set-up looked fairly large. It is possible to get beers from the bar (Le Rendezvous) to take back to your room, but the quantity is limited. There is a supermarket quite nearby where you can buy drinks and snacks for your room, and the prices there are very affordable. There were a few ground-level rooms that had access to the swimming pool/outdoor terrace. I would recommend trying to get one of those if you must stay at this hotel (I’m not sure if they were suites or regular rooms). This is a popular hotel for weddings and local conferences; some big event was going on every night that we were there, and the partying continued well into the next morning. We didn’t hear any noise from our room, although we were on the fourth floor and on the opposite side of the building.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffnfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Obviously you won't be staying here for your Cairo holiday (?!!) and this hotel does serve its purpose as being very convenient for when you just need a hotel for one night in between flights. They offer free pick ups and transfers to and from the airport, I used these both ways and they were very efficient.

However, as a hotel generally; the staff are very very unhelpful, they "x-ray" your bag before you go in and you have to lift your 20kg+ bag onto the waist high conveyor belt while the bell boys and staff just look on. The rooms are small but decent, my fridge was broken and my air conditioning not very cold but this could just have been an isolated case.

I was waiting in the lobby for about an hour after checking out and in this time got constantly harassed by one of the male staff who literally would not go away even with the most blatant yet polite of hints (multiple.) I've lived in Egypt so this is more of a annoyance than a real problem but many first time female visitors may find this quite un-nerving.

Ultimately this hotel serves its purpose but for the money that it costs I would advise you to better spend the money on a nicer hotel in central Cairo for the same price or maybe even less. Taxis are cheap and most hotel will offer a transfer and at least this was you can have a stroll along the Nile before you go to sleep or in the morning instead of being stuck near the airport. It's worth it trust me.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

This was a decent and well-priced hotel near the airport. Not fancy in any way, but clean and functional; the staff was nice. I would definitely come here again. We stayed here when we arrived in Cairo and stayed again the night before we left. Very convenient as they have a free, 24 hour shuttle. You might have to call twice as we did (they were slow to get the van to the airport), but other than that, it was a good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMickSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

The hotel was a short ride away from the airport and it had its own shuttle that we called from the airport soon after our arrival. Check-in was a breeze. The room was spacious for our family with two young children- but little room for luggage. Our oldest child even got a separate bed for herself! The room was clean and so was the bathroom.

There was a good breakfast that began service at 5 am for the benefit of those leaving early. There was a good array of items ranging from fresh breads to frosted (sugar coated) pastries. Fresh fruits, dates and yogurt were also included as was ful (egyptian cooked beans) and some non-vegetarian fare.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vasudhachara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Basic airport hotel, the pictures on the Novotel homepage look a bit better than the real thing (surprise?), but overall a good place to stay overnight before taking an early morning flight. Shuttle bus complimentary.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Rasmus_ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Firstly, the hotels in Cairo are not great value for money, so if you expect standards similar to Europe or the US you will be very disappointed. With that said, the Novotel Cairo Airport was extremely adequate.

Nobody stays at an airport hotel for any other reason than it's proximity to the airport ?
On the plus side - You can see the Novotel sign from the terminal so surely that would be a good thing ? Wrong. The shuttle bus is every 30 mins so we stupidly tried to catch some other free shuttle bus which seemed to be exclusively full of locals. Nightmare. After about 7 stops inside the airport we got off whilst still in sight of the blue Novotel sign and legged it. Mistake - The footpaths in Cairo are like minefields. My advice would be to just get a taxi - for a couple of dollars - you can save yourself the hassle. We did this the following morning and felt much better for it.

When we finally did reach the hotel we found the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was a bit shabby but functional. The beds are the hardest ever. Even Mahatma Gandhi would agree. Surprisingly, we both slept like very tired logs - although this may have had something to do with our previous adventure trek from bus stop to hotel.

A pleasant surprise was the Italian restaurant in the hotel. Food was delicious and service was superb. There are three restaurants in total so it was a fair range. A taxi to somewhere in Heliopolis would be another option.

All in all Novotel Cairo Airport is not a bad choice (for an airport hotel) - just don't get your hopes to high and it'll be fine.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robocopms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#2 of 139 in Cairo
1,444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cairo Airport
11.8 mi away
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Novotel Cairo El Borg
#25 of 139 in Cairo
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cairo Heliopolis
4.9 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
3.2 mi away
Concorde El Salam Hotel Cairo by Royal Tulip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairo Airport

Address: PO Box 8 Cairo Airport | Cairo International Airport, Cairo 11776, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#11 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $78 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch down in 4-star comfort at Novotel Cairo Airport hotel, a 5-minute ride from the terminals on the free 24-hour shuttle. Relax under the palms in the courtyard, or re-energise with a dip in the pool. All-day dining means you won't fly hungry. Your modern soundproofed room lets you stretch out and enjoy a restful night at Novotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairo Airport Hotel Cairo
Accor Cairo Airport
Cairo Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing