We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Cairo Airport
Ranked #29 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed last night of our Egypt tour. This is the best hotel we stayed in Egypt. Modern looking hotel with great pool area and nice rooms. Breakfast was ok. Reception staff was rude. They don't know how to smile. Free shuttle going to airport every 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

869 - 875 of 1,270 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Toulouse
1
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The room was poorly prepared. There was water on the bathroom flor, a used soap bar in the bathtub and a toothbrush cover under the toilet seat which tells me the room are not thouroughly cleaned in between guests. If the bathroom is like this, I wonder how well the rest of the room is cleaned. Somewhat disappointing consdiering the hotel name and the price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

The 'Novotel Cairo Airport' certainly does not live up to the quality that one might expect from one of the hotels under the Novotel label.

The front desk staff were rude. They seemed almost disgusted that we had questions that needed answering. The room key was thrown on the bench at us and we had to ask again which direction to go to get to our room.

Wifi is free at the hotel in half-hour blocks. It cuts out automatically after 30 mins and then you must log in again so be careful if you are planning to upload anything to the web.

Breakfast at the buffet = not great. Poor selection, the food looks stale and old and I preferred to go hungry.
Lunch at the buffet = see above description for breakfast.

The corridors taking you to the rooms make you feel like you're walking through a hospital.

On the plus side, the security guys at the front door were nice and the hotel had a flight departure/arrival screen. The Novotel Shuttle minibus driver was also a laugh and a half.

The hotel is located 8 minutes drive from Cairo Intl. Airport and was thankfully not our original hotel. We were put up in the hotel after EgyptAir cancelled one of our flights turning a 1 hour stopover into 10 hours.

We arrived at 7:00am and were in good spirits (this is not one of those negative reviews due to being in a bad mood at the time), we were just disappointed that's all.

I'm sad to say I was happy to leave. This hotel is best for people in transit. It is not recommended for people wishing to use it as their Cairo accommodation for their holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We wanted somewhere to crash after two separate late arriving flights and I had a few hours to consider my options before my wife arrived. Having spoken to the Intercon, Hilton, and a couple of independents, the Novotel were the only hotel willing to lower their price as a very last minute gesture (it was already after midnight) to 90 euros B&B.

Walkable from T3, we were given a clean room with some rough edges (draining plug, bad tile work) but absolutely fine really - and the breakfast buffet was included in the price, tasty and ample. The service was helpful, polite and unfussy and we were also given a couple of extra hours to check out, which we did at 2pm.

Meanwhile, the pool is a real asset, of a good size (maybe 18 metres?) and set in a pleasant yard.

For Egypt, this is still expensive, but for the Cairo airport area it was a good deal.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MideastMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

After my EgyptAir flight was (understandably) cancelled, they provided full accommodation and board for me at Novotel. Extremely convenient location next to the airport as might be surmised by the name of the hotel, and the food and service was just absolutely superb. Felt completely safe during my entire time there, despite the country itself feeling a little unsafe. Organized a trip to Giza through the taxi service inside the hotel (not recommended, they took me to places specifically designed to steal my money - but I bargained the price down to 400 LE from 600 LE - I'm willing to bet you could get it down to 300 LE at the least - Just don't buy anything from the papyrus museums - if you want papyrus, get it on the street for about 1 percent of the price the museums charge, and bargain hard with the camel ride operators (I got 250 LE from 400 LE for a ~1.5 - 2 hour ride, I'm willing to bet you could work it to 150 LE definitely, probably 100 LE), which was a moderately overpriced but safe experience, which was pretty valuable considering it being my first time in Egypt, entirely unfamiliar with Cairo, and the possibly volatile political climate inside the nation and the consequent repercussions for the tourism industry that may have led to a little unethical treatment of tourists that seemed vulnerable.

In any case, the most valuable offerings for me were the superb shuttle service to the airport and the full accommodations, the very convenient food, clean room (I took a bath - man was that a good change from a month in Tanzania), and the free wifi.

If you can afford this place and just want a short place to stop between airport transfers, this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intenex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This hotel was not up to the usual Novotel standard.
The hotel was shabby, the food mediocre and the service ok but not special.
The curtains were dirty and falling off the rails.
Good points:
They let us check in at 9am
Free shuttle service to the Airport every half hour
Good sound proofing in the room
Free Wi Fi

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeGillingham_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed in Novotel just because its location and transportation to Cairo's Airport. Our night was excellent and the breakfast was delicious. We had just one problem: there were no hot water in the shower in the morning after our arrival. We talked to the front desk and they suggested to wait about 10 minutes. After this time, no hot water too. We had spoken twice again about this problem and it had no solution and the staff wasn't concerned about this. It was 9 degrees in that day in Cairo. Very inconvenient.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#1 of 138 in Cairo
1,585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cairo Airport
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cairo Heliopolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
11.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#44 of 138 in Cairo
343 reviews
11.8 mi away
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Novotel Cairo El Borg
#24 of 138 in Cairo
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairo Airport

Address: PO Box 8 Cairo Airport | Cairo International Airport, Cairo 11776, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#11 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $73 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch down in 4-star comfort at Novotel Cairo Airport hotel, a 5-minute ride from the terminals on the free 24-hour shuttle. Relax under the palms in the courtyard, or re-energise with a dip in the pool. All-day dining means you won't fly hungry. Your modern soundproofed room lets you stretch out and enjoy a restful night at Novotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairo Airport Hotel Cairo
Accor Cairo Airport
Cairo Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing