We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel in the middle of Cairo and on the edge of River Nile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Ranked #12 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel in the middle of Cairo and on the edge of River Nile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

I stayed with my wife and two young kids (4 yrs and 6 yrs old) for three nigths.

Check-in:
Hotel The hotel reception/check-in was really fast and extremely friendly. As an Ambassador card holder, the staff at the check-in upgraded us from a double room to a perfect suite without any hesitation. Lucky us!!!

Hotel room:
It was amazingly spacious and had a nice balcony overlooking at the hotel pool and the Nile. Sitting on the balcony looking at the Nile in the eveings was breathtaking. The room was clean and everything was in place.

Bathroom:
It was spotless and had all the amnesties that you could ask for.

Housekeeping:
I would give the credit to the housekeeping as the lady was providing us with all sorts of bathroom amnesties (as we were four and she took that into consideration). Well done!!

Breakfast:
Spacious place for breakfast and a huge variety of alomost everything there. Simply loved the friendly chef who made us delicious omlettes everyday there. There were around 6 types of fresh juice to have there. (not common in many hotels).

Room service:
Our children are young so we used to stay at the hotel during late evenings and order food through room service. The food prices were reasonable and the food was always on time.

Hotel surroundings:
One could have a nice walk in the evenings on the edge of the Nile just infront of the hotel.

A must stay hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    410
    135
    51
    40
See reviews for
271
305
111
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed originally for 4 nights with a family with a 2 year old child.. We came to Cairo to attend a wedding and wanted to stay in the 'hub' of the city to experience the real Cairo.. The first thing you have to differentiate is the norm in any Cairo hotel and the thing things that distinguish the Intercon. Due to the Nile location, expect very loud and busy streets and a hotel lobby that was akin to any major train station platform.. Thankfully after much confusion due by booking over the internet we had a nile club view booked.. Apparently the room that i booked over the internet, was not a club room, despite the fact i selected a club room for the given rate.. However after 3 nights in Cairo, i suspect it was just another way for the hotel to sell me one thing and then try to fleece me for as many extra pounds as possible.

The room that we initally recieved was not what i know of being an intercontinental hotel, the hotel is aged, hence the lingering old smell.. However our supposed nile view club room despite a decent view was a shoe box size, with a cramped bath with a king bed.. for 2 and a half people.. The club lounge is worth the expense, drinks and food round the clock and was very helfpul when we had guests to entertain them.. Also the staff at the lounge, especially the desk are very helpful.. Back to the room, now again it maybe something that needs to be differentiated from being an Intercon thing or a Cairo thing but soundproofing just does not exist.. After 2 nights, i asked to be moved since the noise was unbearable.. unfortunately when you have a nile view, you are above the pool and at the pool they have evening live entertainment which will resonate to your room till the early hours.. coupled with the sounds of horn, police cars, crazy people.. and close to no soundproofing = no sleep. Even after being kindly moved to a room twice our size, facing the city, the fundamental issue of the patio doors practically not existing was still there.

The consequence is we are checking out one night early and moving to the Fairmont closer to the airport.. For a family, i just dont feel the Intercon is right.. The pools aren't heated, the service around the hotel 'instant room service', pool is not quite consistent enough.. The gym is outdated.. And that lingering smell, just becomes hard to shake.. Would i stay here again, no.. Would i come to Cairo again, probably not... If i had to, on the nile.. pay the extra money and stay at the 4 seasons... Was it value for money.. Yes in comparison to other similar hotel it was, at the cost of sleep and otherwise.. probably not! This intercontinental is definitely not representative of the broader intecontinental hotels... I could have booked worse, but then after taking a first hand look at Cairo.. i also could have booked better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t_hajwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

I am not a great fan of Egyptian Hotels, with the exception of the real upmarket establishments like the Four Seasons which have the disadvantage of being over priced for the average business traveler.

Therefore, I was prepared to write a bad review about the Semiramis as I remember the awful place it used to be back in the '90s. When I arrived in the lobby, my doubts were strengthened by the teeming hoards of people running around aimlessly and generally creating a scene of Egyptian pandemonium.

However, I stayed on the Club Floor and thus got to check in on the 18th Floor Club Lounge and from there things only got better. I was given a lovely large room with a Nile View and sat down to do my emails - the IT worked perfectly first time, even though it was hard wired.

Staff were very friendly, unusually for Egypt, and the rooms and lobbies were really
clean, again unusual for Egypt.

Food at breakfast was adequate, nothing more but the "Night and Day" restaurant, the only eatery I visited, gave me an excellent semi-buffet dinner.

Generally, this is an improved hotel and one which I would patronize again on my next business trip to Cairo.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CTCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

this tiny detail of a terrible house keepers that don't know how to clean the bath room made my stay miserable. I hope one of the supervisors at that lovely hotel will read my review and fix the situation there. they think that cleaning the bath room means putting new towels only. they don't use brushes to clean the toilet. they don't know the difference between the hair conditioner and the body lotion, so be careful because they put on the shower area a body lotion thinking that it's a hair conditioner, one of the days they took all the shampoo and left 6 body shower gel, and you really don't know, do they mean to ruin your vacation with such silly actions or they are looking for more tips.. these tiny details made my life miserable in semiramis, I'll never go back there but I hope some one will benefit from my review or those who cares will fix things up for other customers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farahSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

I had a corporate rate for this hotel which was so low they even don't allow to collect bonus points. The room was equipped with two king-size beds, flat-screen and big bathroom. Not bad for the entry level of the room sizes. Breakfast was of course not included (35$), but absolutely worth it. So gigantic selection. What bugs me a bit is their fear of attacks when they have hand-luggage control every time you enter the hotel. Also all cars approaching are checked by dogs. They offer Mercedes-limo service from and to the airport, I would not go by taxi. Mostly rip-off and very insecure cars. On top the hotel offers package tours to the pyramids and camel rides.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank originalbenutzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manipal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

This is the best hotel I have stayed. The people are courteous and the service is good. We had a homely stay.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank satishpai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

Me and my wife selected this hotel for our honeymoon. We stayed here for 3 nights 4 days in a Nile Facing room... It was a very pleasent experience...

The balcony gives a breathtaking view of the Nile and it was a pleasure sitting there early morning and sipping a cup of coffee... The service was exceptional.. The staff was friendly and the hotel huge....
The food was amazing...
The bird cage resturant here serves authentic Thai cuisine and is a must visit. The American breakfast was exceptional.... The spread of breads and juices was more than any other hotel I visited in Egypt..
The casino was the best way to spend time.. We also earned a few dollars here..
The location is right in the centre of Cairo very close to the museum.. Ideal location for reaching the market place .. Just 5 mins walk..

Overall it was a pleasent stay..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitprab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Property: InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#8 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, the Semiramis InterContinental is situated in the heart of Cairo, a few minutes' walk from the city's commercial centre, the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities and the Cairo Opera House. The Citadel and Old Cairo are nearby. The pleasures on Zamalek Island are in full view across the Nile. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are only 25 km (16 miles) away. Free WIFI and 12 dining options, 11 meeting and conference rooms make the hotel a favourite culinary and event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing