We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Ranked #12 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Larnaca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super Hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Stayed there for 4 nights in September! The hotel is very very good, cleaned, luxury, and with staff all time willing to help. There was a problem with breakfast (we paid for it but they said that was not included), and since i booked the hotel through Hotels.com i immediately called them (this is the good of the 24/7 agency) and explain them the situation....in 10 minutes they called me in the room from the reception and told me everything was solved and breakfast was included and at the same time i received call from Hotels.com and told me also that everything was ok!! Hotel location is fantastic - 5 minutes walking from museum,only a small road between it and the Nile and 20 sec walking distance from very beautiful bridge...we liked the outside restaurant in the 4th floor near swimming pool where you have fantastic view of river...recommended for everyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyprexpens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    410
    135
    51
    40
See reviews for
271
305
111
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

I just got back yesterday from a 7 day vacation in Cairo and I can't wait to write this comment. Well where do I start? First the front desk staff were rude, unincorporated and provided zero help when asking about taxi or directions. Second the house keeping service was awful. The room, even though nicely situated facing the Nile, was dirty. We had to ask for new towels twice, and we also asked to change the pillow cases because they were smelly. A few times while we were sleeping, we got knocks on the door and phone calls. The bathroom was so dirty. They did not do any cleaning the entire time we were there. Lastly the restaurants were overpriced and the foods sucked. The staff at the litte cafe on the first floor was extremely rude. Even though it allows take away, they do not like it one bit. They wanted you to eat there so they can get some tip. It was so bad that we had to eat at the Four season hotsel downstreets. The service there was excellent. Overall, this hotel is far from a 5-star hotel. I would not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoa35lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

Even though its intercontinental run it does have something of a local feel to it. Cairo is one of the most horrible cities in the world for a prolonged stay but the Semiramis can come to feel like a bit of a refuge in a way that the other American hotels on the Nile that I've stayed in don't.
Its more or less everything you'd expect from a good 4* not as opulent as the four seasons nor does it have the overbearing service ( May I wipe the seat before you sit down sir !) the service is when push comes to shove more genuinely friendly and helpful. And believe me genuine is a rare quality in Egypt.
As with any hotel in Cairo if you are going to use taxi's rather than chauffeured cars do not on any account use the taxi's outside the hotel, they are as bad as the street cabs and will try to charge you ten times the going rate.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strewelpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

I spent a week at this hotel on business.
Rooms- Clean with complementry bottle of water each day. Shower over the bath and a TV with a variety of channels. You should ask for a room at the front, overlooking the Nile, which is much nicer.
Service. Polite but slow, so very slow. Book out the night before you leave, and don't leave it to the last minute. It took me 35 minutes to book out. Check your bill. They did try to charge me for drinks by the pool I didn't have-ask to see the receipts, there is often a mistake!
Noise- This is a Muslim country and the call to prayer is a day break. If you are a light sleeper the rooms at the back of the hotel are not for you. You will hear the call to prayer from the Mosque. The Egyptians continually use their car horns (and when you travel and see their driving you will understand why). This is not quiet hotel, but then this is not a quiet city!
Restaurants- Excellent. The Grill is fine dining (with fine dining prices). The Italian does an exceptional pizza (if you like thin base). The Thia food is very good.
Pool area. Good, with plenty of sun-beds and good service (unless a rich Arab happens to be there flashing the money, which results in the staff running around after them and ignoring everyone else).
Other Tips
Health. You will be lucky not to get 'King Tut's revenge' and it comes on fast! Most of us got it, and it lasts 24-48 hours. Take 'Antinal' as soon as you get the 'bug', you can buy it from the chemist in the hotel (£e5 or about £0-70p English). Buy a bottle of anticeptic hand wash. A lot of the germs comes from the money and lack of hygene.
Taxi's- Don't use the ones outside of the hotel or the limo service, they are expensive. Go into the street and wave your arms about, it won't be long until you have a queue of taxis. Negociate the price, they will try to charge you 10 times what they would charge a local. I took a trip (about 25 minutes) and paid £e10-£1-25 english). Remember an average wage in Egypt is about £50-00 (english) per month.
Safety- There is a police officer on every corner and we all felt very safe. If you are a western woman expect the men to stare at you, it can make you feel uncomfortable. You, men and women, will get hassled wherever you go by someone who wants to sell you something. Get used to it.
Haggle. When buying from street sellers haggle and be prepared to walk away. If you offered an acceptable price they will come after you. We barganed down to a quarter of the price asked on some items, others half, but never less than half price. They will expect you to haggle.
Respect the culture. This is a Muslim country and whilst you are made welcome everywhere it is not a goos idea for women to wear skimpy clothing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TopTip_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
181 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

Chose this Semirami Intercontinental due to its central location which proved ideal for a short city break.

Security at the front door was good with airport style metal detectors and x-ray machines for baggage. Check in was smooth and the room was good, if dated. Had a small balcony from which there was a view of the Nile and a city square to the rear of the hotel. Ate in the hotel both evenings. The first night we were not particularly hungry after a journey so ate in the coffee shop by the lobby which had a good selection of light dishes and a good atmostphere. After a short walk long the Nile - right across the road from the hotel - we had a drink in the hotel bar. The bar was very quiet but being on an upper floor had a excellent view over the Nile.

The next day we negotiated with a taxi driver outside the hotel to take us to the Giza pyramids. After preventing him from taking us on various diversions to "museums" (aka souvenir shops) we were taken to stables near the pyramid entrance where we were told it was 9kms to the pyramids and we must hire camels or donkeys for the rest of the trip. When we refused and insisted that we would walk a row started. We walked off and the driver finally gave up when we had paid the entrance fee to the pyramids area. The whole experience was much as I had expected from other reviews.

The hassle did not stop once we had paid and entered the pyramids with endless enquiries as to whether we wanted to hire donkeys or camels. All the hassle really spoilt the visit but the pyramids and Sphinx were amazing and well worth seeing.

Our taxi driver had not waited as he had promised (but we had still not paid him), so when we left we hired another taxi for a lot lower rate to take us to the Egyptian Museum. We arrived around and didn't find any queues to get in (as we'd been led to expect). No doubt there are endless very interesting items in the museum but they are not all well presented. They are packed together and have no English labels so without a guide you don't have much idea of what you are looking at.

Back at the hotel we used the hotel gym and pool before dinner. The gym was small but reasonably well equipped. The outdoor pool was good with excellent views over the Nile. Had dinner in the hotel's Thai restaurant which was very good and reasonably priced. After dinner we walked to the Nile Hilton, almost next door (but across a busy road junction with no crossings), for a drink at their excellent roof top bar.

Whilst the decor in the hotel is rather dated the staff, restaurants and location are excellent and I would not hesitate to return on my next trip to Cairo.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJimBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

This review may have an element of bias as I am a member at the highest tier of the InterCon miles programme Will try keeping the element of bias out.

Observations:

- Great location - the museum, nile river boats (recommend La Pascha's Japenese restaurant) are within walking distance. For arabic food - Abou Sied (they have several outlets) is great.

- Shopping Centre has a pharmacy and there are a few local grocery shops opposite the american embassy (2 min walk from the back entrance). Tip: Ask for prices at these shops as I was once asked for EGP20 for a bottle of water costing EGP2.

- Decent Casino - It would be incorrect to compare it with Vegas/Macau and good choice of restaurants - italian, thai, french, arabic

- Plenty of cabs - you need to haggle but thats the way it works here.

- The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but do need refurbishment - TVs are old and the bathtubs are reaching the end of their life.

- The service is very inconsistent : maitre'd at the Bird Cage (Good Thai food) and the Italian restaurant (food not upto the mark) are exceptional and go out of their way to accommodate your requests. However, at times staff try really hard for a tip (over friendly to the extent one feels uncomfortable) and in all my 8 stays here, I have to repeatedly followup on basic requests such as an information bill, keeping my final check out bill ready.

- Keep an eye for the expiry dates of toiletteries supplied - During my stay in MAY09, I had on several occassions expired toiletteries being supplied. They seemed to have fixed this now.

- Breakfast at 'Night & Day' is steep for Egypt - around USD30 (try to get an all inclusive package)

- Limo Service - Specify the kind of car you want as if this is left to the hotel..you will get a merc (although toyotas are available at half the price).

Have stayed here 8 times now and keeping the benefits of my membership aside, there is something about the staff (despite the inconsistency) who by now know me well and the rooms (nile facing) which keep getting me back here. I find it relaxing to end a tiring day by sitting in the balcony overlooking the nile and watching the energy of the city down below.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
166 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

Not the greatest front offcie staff, yet a good choice of restaurants, amenities etc within hotel and also great location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Property: InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#8 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, the Semiramis InterContinental is situated in the heart of Cairo, a few minutes' walk from the city's commercial centre, the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities and the Cairo Opera House. The Citadel and Old Cairo are nearby. The pleasures on Zamalek Island are in full view across the Nile. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are only 25 km (16 miles) away. Free WIFI and 12 dining options, 11 meeting and conference rooms make the hotel a favourite culinary and event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing