We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Ranked #12 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed in Intercon for 3 nights and i have mostly good things to say. Its very well located, very friendly and caring staff, good luxury rooms with a nile view, good restaurants and bars, with an international menu, and a very helpful concierge. Its very close to Tahrir square and 26th july street, and one can look forward to walking by the nile in the evening. The only thing missing was wifi in the rooms, though they have a fast cable internet. But i guess it helps not to have internet at times, to really enjoy the stay:-)

Room Tip: Definitely a Nile view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikasA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear VikasA,

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure reading through your post that you enjoyed your stay at the Semiramis InterContinental.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

Being a business traveller I have almost stayed in more than 7 hotels on the corniche belt-Cairo. I have found Semiramis-Intercontinental to be the best. The staff like Marina, Violetter, Mohammad at conceirge and all over, raise your expectations so high that it becomes tough to compare with others. Gym is not state of art though and does not provide complete but basic machines. But the great feast at breakfast with a killer Egyptian Bread hot from the oven and great staff makes it all a must-come-back experience. Bravo and keep it up.

Room Tip: Request for English newspaper a bit in advance since its scarce in quantity. Enjoy the lobby with Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junaid07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Junaid07,

Thank you very much for your post and for your kind words. It is a real pleasure reading that you was content with your stay. I will sure pass your comments to Violette, Marina and Mohamed at the Reception.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I spent five nights in this nice hotel in November 2013 room number 1020. The room is comfortably furnished and clean but dated. The bathroom is fully equipped but fittings need updating. The bed is very comfortable fitted with beautiful Egyptian white cotton linen. The terrace benefits of fabulous views over the great River Nile and the western quarters of Cairo beyond. The excellent location of the hotel on the edge of down town Cairo with easy walking distance to the Egyptian national museum, down town Cairo and the British and American embassies.
Its proximity to Tahreer Square associated with the violence prevailing Egypt these days explained the low rate of occupancy. The hotel vast reception and lounges were virtually empty of visitors. It was previously full of life and hassle and bustle.
I booked the room with breakfast on the Internet just one day before leaving London to Cairo . The check in was straight forward without any problems and the staff was helpfull indeed.
The breakfast buffet was very generous with a lot of varieties including on site baking of the delicious Egyptian bread. The staff was smily, helpful and very hospitable.
We experienced on arrival unusual security screening checks personal and for our luggage. We needed to open one luggage for manual inspection. I understood and sympathised with the situation since the hotel is right on the edge of Tahreer Square.
I am afraid to say that the country is not suitable for foreign visitors because of the degree of insecurity and violence all over the country. Other than that I would recommend the hotel for its very helpful staff and its gorgeous location right on the River Nile.

Room Tip: Rooms on the western side of the hotel benefits of the amazing views of the mighty River Nile. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alarinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Alarinova,

Thank you very much (Shokran Gazeelen) for your review. It is a real pleasure reading that you and your wife did enjoy location, room and service.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back to the Semiramis InterContinetnal in the near future, where no effort will spared to grant you a memorable experience.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I visited the hotel last week with some friends and we had a terrific evening at the 'Bird Cage' Thai restaurant.
The food was outstanding and the service was very good (outstanding at Cairo standard). We had one of the best evenings and can highly recommend the restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrich Hermann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear UlrichHemann,

Thank you very much for posting your review of the Birdcage Restaurant. I am delighted reading that you and your friends enjoyed your evening at our Thai restaurant.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming again and again....

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Great location for downtown and Egyptian museum Very good security Large spacious rooms and very good breakfast buffet We stayed in the hotel 6 nights and were disappointed we were not allocated a Nile View room considering the hotel was empty Also I needed a boarding pass printed out was told by the business centre this would cost 50 EGP I think this is very poor service

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JudyGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear JudyGraham,

Thank you (Shokran Gazeelen) for taking the time to post your review of November stay and for all your comments on service and location. Our ultimate goal is guest satisfaction and I wish to clarify that 50.00EGP is the minimum cost of internet station usage, however we will take your note into consideration to avoid its recurrence in the future. As for room type, your TA did a booking of a City view room, meanwhile a supplement is required to upgrade to a Nile view room.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back in the near future, where no effort will be spared to make you enjoy the InterContiental Expereince.

I remain,

Sherid Abourida
Opeations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis from 14th Nov to 17th Nov. It was a fantastic experience. The Reception Staff Mr.Abdul Rehman was very kind and so were other staff. There was only one deficiency which I noticed was the non extension of Wifi in rooms. I had to come to the reception everytime to get connected. Otherwise, the experience was awesome, location very convenient and staff very friendly. Would recommend for others definitely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subramkrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

To me, this has to be Cairo's best hotel!! Truly Intercontinental style... Great ambience, professional staff, bigger than life rooms and luxury at its best... The food was also simply superb and the lebanese restaurant takes all the points... Next time in Cairo, will be there fore sure

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRISTIAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear CHRISTIAN C,

I would like to thank you for your review. It is a pleasure reading that you and your friends enjoyed the service, food and hotel location. Your nice comment on our Lebanese restaurant is much appreicated.

Looking forward to welcome you and your friends back to the Semiramis InterContinental hotel in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#15 of 138 in Cairo
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $137 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, the Semiramis InterContinental is situated in the heart of Cairo, a few minutes' walk from the city's commercial centre, the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities and the Cairo Opera House. The Citadel and Old Cairo are nearby. The pleasures on Zamalek Island are in full view across the Nile. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are only 25 km (16 miles) away. Free WIFI and 12 dining options, 11 meeting and conference rooms make the hotel a favourite culinary and event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing