We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good palce to feel the Nile river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Ranked #13 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

When you stay here, you can wake up in the morning light reflecting from the Nile's waves dancing on the wall in your room. The hotel locates next to the bridge over the Nile to Zamalek island, which is green and peaceful. That's so amazing!

When you stay here, you can wake up in the morning light reflecting from the Nile's waves dancing on the wall in your room. The hotel locates next to the bridge over the Nile to Zamalek island, which is green and peaceful. That's so amazing!

When you stay here, you can wake up in the morning light reflecting from the Nile's waves dancing on the wall in your room. The hotel locates next to the bridge over the Nile to Zamalek island, which is green and peaceful. That's so amazing!

When you stay here, you can wake up in the morning light reflecting from the Nile's waves dancing on the wall in your room. The hotel locates next to the bridge over the Nile to Zamalek island, which is green and peaceful. That's so amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mai Mai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Mai H,

Thank you very much (Shokran Gazeelen) for posting your review of May-stay. I am very pleased reading that you and your partner did enjoy the Nile river view from your room.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near futrue.

For more hotel updates, please visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SemiramisIC
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ICSEMIRAMIS
TripAdvisor: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g294201-d299113-Reviews-InterContinental_Cairo_Semiramis-Cairo_Cairo_Governorate.html

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
sherif.aboruda@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stay 2 nights at this wonderful hotel. Hotel located at the very attraction location at down Town. Hotel has exclusive view of Nile river.
Transportation:
The nearest subway station is ALSADAT at the famous Tahrir Squire. Just 3 minutes walk.
real way station is Misr real way station just 5 minutes by taxi
Cruise: in front of the hotel or 3 minutes walk to public Nile bus.
Attractions:
Tahrir squire one minute walk.
Egyptian musiam just 3 minutes walk
Khan Elkhalily 10 Minutes by taxi
Pyramids 25 minutes by taxi
Cairo Tour 5 minutes by taxi
Ambassador and PCR
Amazing upgrade
Restaurants
the hotel has many kind of restaurants such as Lebanese and Italian restaurants also to whom like fast food KFC, McDonald and Pizza just 3 minutes walk.
Staff
very helpful and friendly staff (they are the secret of success)
prices
now this hotel at the very low prices because the closest location to Tahrir squire
Safe
Hotel very safe and they tack care about guest safety.
This hotel outstanding.

Room Tip: Nile view rooms on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed-Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Mohamed-Salem,

Thank you for your review and your tips. We are glad that you and your family did enjoy hotel's stay in June.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family members back to the hotel in the near future.

For latest updates on hotel's promotion, please visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SemiramisIC
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ICSEMIRAMIS
TripAdvisor: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g294201-d299113-Reviews-InterContinental_Cairo_Semiramis-Cairo_Cairo_Governorate.html

I remain

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourdia@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel to me is like my home, the location is the best in Cairo with the great Nile view. All staff are more than friendly and really helpful. Room size is great and comfortable. Service is brilliant. Overall it is highly recommended hotel for any visitor to Cairo.
If you staid at Semiramis once I guarantee that you will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hussain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Hussain B,

Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted knowing that you consider our hotel your home and that we were able to make your stay along with your friends an enjoyable one.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel.

For more updates on latest hotel's promotion, please visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SemiramisIC
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ICSEMIRAMIS
TripAdvisor: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g294201-d299113-Reviews-InterContinental_Cairo_Semiramis-Cairo_Cairo_Governorate.html


Thank you,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have been using samiramis hotel since 1996, it is like a home for me
it is a place I first recall when thinking about Egypt and Nile river
It is good for business meeting, conferences, leasure and family gathering

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gkhoury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Gkhoury,

Thank you for your patronage and continued support to the hotel. It was a real pleasure reading that you have been considering the Semiramis InterContinental Hotel your home away from home since 1996.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you again and again to the hotel.

For more updates on Semiramis InterContinental Hotel's promotions, please visit us on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SemiramisIC
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ICSEMIRAMIS
TripAdvisor: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g294201-d299113-Reviews-InterContinental_Cairo_Semiramis-Cairo_Cairo_Governorate.html

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is by far the worst "5-Star" hotel I have ever stayed at. I wonder to what standards they give themselves 5-stars from? The walls in the room had full of stains. Everything else was not to western cleanliness. The staff were not friendly or accommodating. On the arrival morning I asked the concierge where to go for a local coffee shop or tea. He told me to walk to Tahir Square, which I did only to find out nothing was open. Apparently shops in Cairo don't open until very late morning. Wouldn't this kind of information be known to a hotel concierge?

The next morning we went down for breakfast, which was pretty poor for a "5-star" hotel. Half way through the breakfast, we were told that our reservations did not include breakfast. WTF?? Seriously Intercontinental? They charged us $50 for two.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VDlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear VDlong,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

my husband took me for a weekend celebrating my 58 birthday. Everyone was so nice and really accomodating. I would like to thank them all, particulary the staff at the Lebanese restaurant Sabaya and Viola at the front desk. We had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a beautiful view of the nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gihan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear gihan g,

Happy Birthday and thank you for posting your review. We are pleased that you and your husband choosed our hotel to celebrate your birthday.

I did pass your comment to Sabaya crew and Violet from Reception!

Thank you and many happy returns

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We are very happy to have chosen "InterContinental Cairo Semiramis".
The hotel is very good and the room is very beautyfull, but perhaps 5 stars is too.
All staff is polite and helpful.
Placed in a good position in Cairo, but the noise is very high also at 14th floor in the night.

I heartily advice this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Marcuze,

Thank you (Shokran Gazeelen) for posting your review and for recommending our hotel. We are pleased knowing we were able to make you and your spouse happy during your stay in June.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Semiramis InterContinental Hotel in Cairo.

For more updates on Semiramis InterContinental Hotel's promotions, please visit:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SemiramisIC
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ICSEMIRAMIS
TripAdvisor: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g294201-d299113-Reviews-InterContinental_Cairo_Semiramis-Cairo_Cairo_Governorate.html

My best regards,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#16 of 141 in Cairo
2,619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 141 in Cairo
1,721 reviews
1 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Address: | كرنيش النيل, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: $148 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, the Semiramis InterContinental is situated in the heart of Cairo, a few minutes' walk from the city's commercial centre, the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities and the Cairo Opera House. The Citadel and Old Cairo are nearby. The pleasures on Zamalek Island are in full view across the Nile. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are only 25 km (16 miles) away. Free WIFI and 12 dining options, 11 meeting and conference rooms make the hotel a favourite culinary and event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing