We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“as of today 06/02/2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Ranked #12 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“as of today 06/02/2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

at the time of writing this im locked in the hotel with front doors bolted and shutters down
out side are around 300/500 people rioting. the police are chucking tear gas and its very very worrying
until this stops do not come here. the hotel is great but outside has the most dangerous feel about it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank honestron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear honestron1,

Thank you for posting your review of your stay. I wish to apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the incidents that took place in hotel's vicinity while staying at the hotel early March 2013.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future, meanwhile, please do not hesitate to contact me in case of having any inquiry.

Until then, I remain.

Sherif Abourida

Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    410
    135
    51
    40
See reviews for
271
305
111
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

When asked for change declined obnoxiously, i went to the lobby and there was no change either, went to the bar and the breakfast guy was there telling the cashier that he already declined the change......why go that extra step? Just to make a point? or plainly to humiliate and be mean??? it seems they forget who they are there for. Moreover with the current situation they must be extremely thankful to have a job. It´s sad to have a bad service after such a nice and complete breakfast. If we had paid in cash and they had to come up with the change? Were they just denying it to a guest? don’t know. The day before we stayed at the Shepheard right in front and the staff are soooo nice, the room was bigger and they had change! In a country were change is a must this was definately a negative point.
Anyways that night there was a party downstairs and you could hear the music. We dined at their Italian restaurant Pane Vino, the forks were dirty with a cheese like crust...nasty, as the manager saw me taking a photograph of the cutlery, he approached the table and ask what was the trouble, when i told him he immediately requested a change, the second fork was equally dirty, the wine glass was dirty too with lipstick. Food was good ordered fish with veggies and rice (never came) and lamb chops that were delish. The manager offered apologies for so many wrong things and offered dessert on the house but we were way too full to accept, however they could had offer a discount in order to compensate for all the mistakes.
It´s close to tahrir Square, metro & egyptian museum. On the lower level they have a hair dresser/spa and many shops. Went to the spa to book a massage and waxing but later cancelled as the owner was smoking inside and it stunk. On the entrance there is a metal detector for your safety.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prosignia300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Operations Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guayaquil,

Thank you for posting your review of your September 12 -stay at the Semiramis InterContinental. I wish to apologize for not being up to your expectations; as reading through your comments I felt that you were dissatisfied with incidents (that really do not reflect our brand culture nor standards we adhere to serve our guests with). I only wish you had reported such incidents to the managment directly to deal with, on the spot, to avoid your discontent and delivere you the ultimate satisfaction we aim at to all our guests.

Dear Guayaquil, I wish to welcome you again in our hotel where no effort will be spared to enjoy the InterContinental experience

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Excellent food...splendid service! I was made to feel very comfortable and being a club member gave me access to many free benefits. The hotel's location is very handy and near the middle of all the action in Tahrir Square.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Nile side are more scenic but can be louder if there is an event taking place at the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnieGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Operations Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear ArnieGordon,

Thank you "Shokran Gazeelen" for being a Priority Club Member and for posting your review of your August business stay at the Semiramis InterContinental Hotel. I am pleased reading that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expecations on service, food and benefits levels.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed there for a while. An awesome view of the Nile from the tall hotel. A relaxing room and fine restaurants. Still, not a good value of money since it's expensive. Good lobby, good outdoor space. Currently not safe due to ongoing protests.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MariamM92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Operations Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear MariamM92,

Thank yoy for posting your review of your familial stay during March 2012. I am delighted reading, through your comments, that you enjoyed the view of the Nile from our balconies, service and outlets. I assure you that our rates are very competitive in comparison to the local market.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future where the sitution around the hotel is much calmer and serene.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a good location with helpful staff and I'd recommend it usually. At present I would recommend carefully checking the situation locally as on my most recent stay at the end of January i decided to leave after it was attacked by protestors. That said the hotel staff were very helpful with this and it will hopefully only be temporary. I've stayed near here a number of times over the last two years and this is the first time I've experience trouble but the hotel is very near Tahrir sq so as long as protests continue there is the potential for the property to be affected.

In short check before travel but if things are fine definitely stay in this nice and well located Nile side hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBagnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSemiramisStaff, Operations Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Camilasj,

Thank you very much (Shokran Gazeelan) for your review on your recent stay. I am proud reading that you and your family chose the Semiramis InterContinental as the destiantion of your family reunion in December.

Your warm and kind words are deeply felt and appreciated; your review was circulated among all hotel departments and colleagues.

Dear Camilasj, thank you again for your continuous patronage and looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cairo.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at the Semiramis for the second time in December, 2012. We decided to initiate our holiday family reunion at Cairo, despite of the difficulties that transition to democracy has posed to this charming and beautiful country. Since protests had recently taken place at Tahrir Square right before our stay, we communicated with hotel management to request an upgrade to a Nile view room and they responded to our request in a swift and accommodating manner.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff, including front desk, concierge, room service, club lounge personnel for their professionalism and excellent in client service. They have made our stay at this hotel very enjoyable and pleasant, consistently, every time.
Semiramis offers an oasis of peace in frantic Cairo. The property has all imaginable amenities, including top restaurants, beautiful spa, top quality hair salon, bank, Egyptian cotton store, handcrafts store and more. You don't need to look for handcrafts anywhere else, the Ali Baba store offers high quality and fairly priced souvenirs, and handcrafts. Ladies, indulge at the hair salon, amazing deals and top quality.

Rooms at the Semiramis are spacious, well equipped with luxury bathrooms, mini bar, elegant furniture and balcony, some of them facing the Nile with a movie like view. Please, do not hesitate to get an upgrade to club lounge status which includes free soft drinks and a selection of alcoholic drinks all day and three meals. Breakfast is probably one of the best I've tried.

I am grateful for having the opportunity to visit this hotel for a second time, and third is a charm... looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Get Nile view room and upgrade to Club Lounge status.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camilasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am a regular business traveler in Cairo and have previously stayed in many hotels in Downdown. For last 02 years I never wanted to change my hotel as I am truly comfortable with this property. Hotel is located in the perfect place in Cairo overlooking Nile River and the property stands for a good rating according to my personal experience.

Hotel reception is really great as they are truly organized. So you can expect a very little time to spend there. Rooms and truly cozy and comfortable and bathrooms are really large and has everything for your stay. Hotel staff are really helpful and there are many dining options within the building in both Groud and fist floors. Breakfast (usually included in the room rate) is so wide range and you can have your breakfast there like a King.

Arabic Night Club is so entertaining and those dancers are truly professional ones. There is Casino also available for you to have a good time.

Swimming Pool and health Club facilities on the 4th floor are so great. Indeed and nicely designed. Even if you stay inside the hotel for the whole day without going anywhere, you wil never feel bored as there’s so much to do.

Downtown is just a minute walk and you get plenty off dining places if you opt to have dinner outside hotel. Cairo roads are (Specially along the Nile river is too busy in every night) it’s worth spending sometime with a relax walk to find out how things are happening I Cairo. Trust me, you will enjoy the night out. (Please be careful when crossing roads – Cairo is witness to a crazy and most unprofessional driving style. So watch your back even if you think you’re safe, be very careful)

As for this hotel, I’d recommend to anyone who is prepared to experience 04 star hotel experience. You will surely not regret.

Room Tip: If you are a SPG member, you can stay in SPG assigned floor with full time Dining facilities. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank onelittleworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Property: InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#8 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, the Semiramis InterContinental is situated in the heart of Cairo, a few minutes' walk from the city's commercial centre, the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities and the Cairo Opera House. The Citadel and Old Cairo are nearby. The pleasures on Zamalek Island are in full view across the Nile. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are only 25 km (16 miles) away. Free WIFI and 12 dining options, 11 meeting and conference rooms make the hotel a favourite culinary and event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing