We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Cairo.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Ranked #12 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Cairo.”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Good place to stay in Cairo. Nice restaurants. The high floor room with river view and balcony was very good. New room services as well. It is a business oriented hotel, so the services were nice and efficient but not quite that personal.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lzhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marclambert, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Izhm,

Thank you for your review about the Semiramis InterContinental. It is always a pleasure to receive you and your partner again at our hotel where no effort will be spared to make your stay an enjoyable one.

My name is Marc Lambert, marc.lambert@semiramisic.com and I am looking forward to your next visit where we will try harder to exceed your expectations.

My very best regards,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    430
    144
    52
    44
See reviews for
281
315
116
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almeria
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Great location next to the Nile and the Egyptian Museum, really good service and room amenities. The bed was so comfy and the air conditioning worked well. The bathroom and the balcony are a little tired and it would be nice to have a few movie channels available. The breakfast, restaurant options and room service were very good. My only real criticism is that the net curtains were filthy, the rest of our room and the hotel in general was spotless. The additional security for cars and at the entrances was reassuring at this time. Pay the extra and get a Nile view - worth every piastre. Visit the Semiramis now while it's quiet!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinaAlmeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marclambert, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear ColinaAlmeria,

Thank you very much for your post on tripadvisor about the Semiramis InterContinental. I am glad to know that you and your partner enjoyed your stay in May and that we had been up to your expectations.

About the cleanliness of the net curtains and the variety of movie channels you commented about, please be assured that I passed on your observations to all concerned during managers’ operation meeting for action.

My name is Marc Lambert, marc.lambert@semiramisic.com and once again I would like to thank you, wishing to welcome you back to the Semiramis InterContinental Hotel in Cairo in the near future.

I remain,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This was our first trip to Cairo and this hotel made it a very pleasant experience. To go see the sites at dusty hot places by day and to come back to an oasis with a hell of a view is an awesome experience.

The rooms are fabulous with fabulous bathrooms. The water pressure in the shower is ridiculous. Truly enough to wash the sand off. If you opt for a nile view you are in for a treat at dusk/dawn and at night. The city looks great.

Very close to the Museum if that's your purpose on your visit. Staff was very helpful in booking tours or anything needed. Order ice from room service every time you hit your room. Comes quick and is highly needed. Food in Cairo is not the best in the world, but I must say the breakfast here is fabulous. The dinner menu is not fabulous, but i think this is to be expected in some sense. One has to realize where they are.

Bottom line, the hotel is in a fabulous location on the Nile, with fabulous rooms, and excellent service. Not to mention it is in a city riddled with the most interesting places to visit as a sightseer. I recommend doing a bit of homework before coming to Egypt to visit the pyramids and such, otherwise you will get force-fed the same old story about Egypt's history handed down from Herodotus, the Greek Historian behind the "History" of Egypt. There are many new ideas about the history surrounding Egypt. This made my stay all the more enjoyable to have a fabulous hotel to relfect on at the end of the day about these new ideas and discoveries.

Everyone must see Egypt and this is a fabulous hotel to start and end your days visiting!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSDeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertm, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Dear Dwbjd,

Thank you very much for describing the Semiramis InterContinental as an Oasis in your comment on trip advisor; I was really glad knowing that you and your partner enjoyed the Nile view from the hotel room and that we had been able to serve you to your expectations.

I will pass your comments to other team members namely; Room Service, Concierge, Housekeeping and Night and Day restaurant staff. It was an honor serving you and your partner during your April stay and we are all wishing to welcome you again in the hotel, while discovering and enjoying even more the history and magic of Cairo.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@semiramisic.com] and I would like to thank you again for the ‘fabulous’ review that you wrote on our hotel and I hope to have the chance to meet you personally during your next stay at the Semiramis InterContinental hotel, your Oasis in Cairo city.

My very best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Everything is well managed. Break fast, receptions, rooms, location most close to luxury and right in the happening place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivekkmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertm, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Dear Mr. Vivekkmehta,

I would like to thank you for your review on the Semiramis InterContinental. It is a pleasure knowing that you and your partner enjoyed your vacation at the hotel during the month of January.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@ihg.com] and I would like to welcome both of you again at the Semiramis hotel very soon.

With my best regards,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Great hotel, nothing too much for the staff.

Great locatation for Tahrir Square, Museum and Pyramids in Giza.

Clean, welcoming, great food, friendly staff - very plush.

Avoid the hawkers outside who will try to lure you into their shops .

Get a room with a balocony on the Nile, traffic noise was a slight problem but the great view made up for that.

Room Tip: Great location right on the Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertm, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear Ms. Robinson,

Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that we lived up to your expectations.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@ihg.com] and I would like to welcome you again at the Semiramis InterContinental Hotel in Cairo.

Thank you again,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We were upgraded to a Presidential suite. It was the most sumptuous hotel room we have ever experienced. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The views from the balconies were incredible. It was our first time staying in an Intercontinental hotel. We were so impressed that we have since booked to use this chain again. Location was great - on the banks of the Nile, next to the Egyptian Museum.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertm, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear Ms. ScotPop,

Thank you very much for your comments posted on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that you and your partner enjoyed the location, the room and the service.

It was an honor knowing that you had used again InterContinental hotel Chain based on your stay at the Semiramis InterContinetnal, I will pass your nice comments to the entire team who all contribute to deliver to our customers “a great hotel guests love”.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager [marc.lambert@ihg.com]and I wish to meet you and your partner upon your coming visit to our hotel.

I remain,
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Excellent location by the Nile banks in city center, next to Tahrir Square, walkable to Zamalek area for food, great service overall. Bedroom is nice, but matress is so hard. Bathroom is a little sad, needs major work. It's a dated and tired hotel, but will come back to stay if the rates commensurate the conditions.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertm, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear Mr. SLLee,
Thank you for your feedback posted on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure knowing that you and your partner did enjoy our service during your stay in March.

We are sorry that you did find the mattress too hard, actually, most common of our guests request hard mattress instead of softer ones, we can off course make sure that you get a softer one during your next visit.

Meanwhile, I would like to inform you that lots of projects are currently under progress in many areas in the hotel either to maintain its original beauty or to update old themes according to the latest concepts. I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at the InterContinental Semiramis, to talk to you about it and show you around some of our plans for future refurbishment and/or additions to our hotel features.

My name is Marc Lambert, Executive Assistant Manager marc.lambert@semiramisic.com and I look very much to meet you on your upcoming stay in Cairo.

My best regards,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Property: InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, the Semiramis InterContinental is situated in the heart of Cairo, a few minutes' walk from the city's commercial centre, the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities and the Cairo Opera House. The Citadel and Old Cairo are nearby. The pleasures on Zamalek Island are in full view across the Nile. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are only 25 km (16 miles) away. Free WIFI and 12 dining options, 11 meeting and conference rooms make the hotel a favourite culinary and event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing