We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grand Royal
Nearby Hotels
$159
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$223
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$211
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$330
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$355
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
136
57
28
11
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
57
28
11
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalaat harb squaredowntown cairoegyptian museummr husseinfrom morning till nighthotel tour deskstreet entrancedone dailyhighly recommend the granddaily breakfastfresh towelscentral locationdinner cruise on the nileorganise tourssecond homecomfortable roomnile river
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 277 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is a disappointment.

Bed was hard, sheets didnt fit the bed. Not even a chair in the room.
Breakfast was often slow coming and it appeared that only one cup of tea was permitted.

Staff put on a friendly face but charge 20 US dollars, about 130 Egyptian pounds, for a taxi to the airport.
My taxi, hailed from the street, and metered, cost 60 E P. Much the better way of doing it.

Electricity failure meant no lifts so 6 floors is quite a strain especially as one chap had to carry his bag up the stairs, in the darkness, only to find that there was no water.( Electric water pumps needed to pump to the top of the building.) They didn't tell him as he was booking in. He found out the hard way when he tried to flush the loo!
Several people had to move out of the hotel. In spite of having paid for it..
No apology was made about the lift failure or water failure, nor was there any offer to lug the bags down the stairs.

They seemed Unconcerned!

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The best part of this hotel is the friendliness of the staff and its location near the Egyptian Museum and Tahrir Square. The room we were in was rather large and had a nice view of the Square below. The breakfast is ok. The furniture in the rooms if improved, and if a flat screen TV with satellite channels is installed would make the rooms top notch. The lobby area definitely needs improvement. New modern furniture and better sitting could make this hotel into a nice boutique hotel. however, the worse part of this hotel was the tour that they promoted to us and which we booked. We felt cheated. Thjey charged us $95 for this tour and really that money was the driver and car. At the Giza Pyramids the driver took us to another tour compnay were they over charged us for another tours to the Pyramids. We felt like a captive audience and didnt really have a choice but to pay. It really clouded our view of Egypt because it was our first sight seeing since we arrived. Not sure if the staff was aware of this but given that they promote their tour it gave us a bad taste in our mouths. While I might stay here again, I would never book a tour with them.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmedina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Don't be put off by the entrance. The hotel is actually located on the 6th floor and there is a common elevator lobby used also by the other tenants of the building. All kinds of people around the entrance and shops on the first floor. Nothing to worry about though there are plenty of hustlers on the streets it is perfectly safe. The hotel will pick you up at the airport if arrangements are made the day before. The rooms are clean, basic and simple but the air conditioning works and the breakfast is good. In my opinion, the best part of this hotel is the manager Hussein Saleh. He is very friendly, knows everything about Egypt and where to go, very kind and helpful. He will make all of your arrangements including hiring guides, purchasing tickets for airline, tours, boats and just about anything else you can think of (that is legal). I would hightly recommend this hotel just because of this . We arrived with just a ticket to Cairo. Hussein arranged and purchased tickets for our flight to Luxor, Nile cruise, arranged guides, hotels, our trip back to Cairo,plane tickets to Jorden, etc. etc. Wow!

Room Tip: It is noisy if you open with windows because it is located on a heavily traveled main street. It didn't bother me though.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place is a little haven in downtown Cairo but they seriously need to do something about their mattresses!!! What they have on the bed is by no means a "mattress." The owner/staff were very friendly and efficient in helping us. Unfortunately, I could not check out the breakfast any of the days I was there as I had to leave for work meetings quite early in the morning.

Room Tip: Please check the quality of the mattress before settling in!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingNut1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked this hotel for a few nights based on the great reviews on TripAdvisor and were really confused when we arrived. It's located on the 6th floor of a building in Talaat Harb Square, but the entrance of the building is absolutely filthy and the lift is atrocious. Upon arriving on the 6th floor, we were greeted nicely and found the staff to be friendly to us throughout our four night stay. Our double room was adequate, although the bathroom was merely partitioned, not actually separate from the room. Our room was clean and housekeeping was done daily. People smoked in the lobby, but this is very common in Egypt; people smoke in restaurants, taxis, etc. The breakfast was very basic and didn't change throughout our stay, but it didn't bother us. We did find the room to be very noisy at night though. My one strong vice was the man who sold postcards / souvenirs outside the building who kept his merchandise on the 6th floor. He constantly berated us as we left in the morning and came in the evening and his intimidation increased each day, up to the point where he growled and lunged at my husband.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews