We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Royal Hotel”
Review of Hotel Grand Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Royal
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Don't be put off by the entrance. The hotel is actually located on the 6th floor and there is a common elevator lobby used also by the other tenants of the building. All kinds of people around the entrance and shops on the first floor. Nothing to worry about though there are plenty of hustlers on the streets it is perfectly safe. The hotel will pick you up at the airport if arrangements are made the day before. The rooms are clean, basic and simple but the air conditioning works and the breakfast is good. In my opinion, the best part of this hotel is the manager Hussein Saleh. He is very friendly, knows everything about Egypt and where to go, very kind and helpful. He will make all of your arrangements including hiring guides, purchasing tickets for airline, tours, boats and just about anything else you can think of (that is legal). I would hightly recommend this hotel just because of this . We arrived with just a ticket to Cairo. Hussein arranged and purchased tickets for our flight to Luxor, Nile cruise, arranged guides, hotels, our trip back to Cairo,plane tickets to Jorden, etc. etc. Wow!

Room Tip: It is noisy if you open with windows because it is located on a heavily traveled main street. It did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 245 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place is a little haven in downtown Cairo but they seriously need to do something about their mattresses!!! What they have on the bed is by no means a "mattress." The owner/staff were very friendly and efficient in helping us. Unfortunately, I could not check out the breakfast any of the days I was there as I had to leave for work meetings quite early in the morning.

Room Tip: Please check the quality of the mattress before settling in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingNut1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked this hotel for a few nights based on the great reviews on TripAdvisor and were really confused when we arrived. It's located on the 6th floor of a building in Talaat Harb Square, but the entrance of the building is absolutely filthy and the lift is atrocious. Upon arriving on the 6th floor, we were greeted nicely and found the staff to be friendly to us throughout our four night stay. Our double room was adequate, although the bathroom was merely partitioned, not actually separate from the room. Our room was clean and housekeeping was done daily. People smoked in the lobby, but this is very common in Egypt; people smoke in restaurants, taxis, etc. The breakfast was very basic and didn't change throughout our stay, but it didn't bother us. We did find the room to be very noisy at night though. My one strong vice was the man who sold postcards / souvenirs outside the building who kept his merchandise on the 6th floor. He constantly berated us as we left in the morning and came in the evening and his intimidation increased each day, up to the point where he growled and lunged at my husband.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights starting from October 22/ 2010 .
First surprise, I booked for double room with separate beds, I was overwhelmed by surprise that room I agreed on was not vacant cause people decided to extend, so I was given single room with un proper sofa only, with out any kind of apology !!.Rooms in general are noisy, Cause they are overlooking main .
square and windows are not sound proof
Breakfast is very poor, . most important service is really bad, , and if you stayed there don't try to point out anything wrong to the management , because you will start to see what is hidden behind these pretending smiley faces.
best of luck to all felowe travelers

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank faris111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Based on comments on Tripadvisor, we 'd booked a full week but only stayed one night. First of all, it's not a real hotel : you have to walk through a shabby, disgusting, smelly alley of the building wondering if you haven't made a mistake. Then you come in front of a small elevator ( suitable for a flat! ) looking as if it had recently been bombed with all sorts of loose parts. You arrive on the 6th floor and that's supposed to be a hotel : a floor with rooms ! When we discovered our "junior suite" room, I nearly began to cry ! No towels, no chairs, a white-painted window, a noisy airco, an ultra-thin mattress making us feel like "Fakirs", a wardrobe with sliding doors moving by themselves ( that, we discovered through our sleepless night !), a filthy brownish bathtub, the extremely loud traffic noise and hustle & bustle ( all night long! ) from Midan Talaab Harb due to the single-glazed, opaque window, the buzzing colony of flies. The staff brought 2 small towels and a chair, mumbling that these missing items were not basic, but luxury ! We point our finger at the absent manager of this hotel who must be grateful to his friendly staff trying to solve what he lacks to do. We had a feeling that the staff was ashamed of this rip-off situation but decided nevertheless to spend the next morning in looking for a better accommodation. We didn't get the money back but were so happy to leave even if we would have to pay an extra hotel for another week. Frankly, even youth hostels are cleaner and more comfortable ! Our advice : never book a room at that hotel on the sixth floor !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank charlottelauwereins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's very good Hotel for a short stay i Cairo, centrally located , 10m max from the metro station Sadat, 15m from the Egyptian Museum , you can get a tansportation for wherever you are planning to go.It's very clean Hotel the staff are very friendly and kind ask them for yny help you may need or for advices for your trip planning.

Room Tip: tell the staff if you have a big luggage as some rooms may not have wardrobe or have a small one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mostafa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Fantastic value for money, rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. Staff are friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and very happy to help with booking tours and taxis, and can offer good advice on where to go and what so see in and around Cairo. Traffic noise may be disturbing for some, you might want to take earplugs, but don't forget you're right in the heart of the city, just a short walk from Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum. Cairo is a safe and friendly city and they really need the tourists to come back and enjoy all they have to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C.Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#85 of 138 in Cairo
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 138 in Cairo
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#25 of 138 in Cairo
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#41 of 138 in Cairo
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#33 of 138 in Cairo
385 reviews
4.2 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#46 of 138 in Cairo
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Royal

Address: 1 Talaat Harb Square, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range: $24 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Royal is located in Cairo City Centre. Rooms are decorated with white colours and wooden furniture. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel. The rooms are air-conditioned with wooden flooring. Facilities include TV and bathroom with a bathtub. Some rooms have a balcony overlooking the city. Fresh flowers are sent to the rooms every day. Guests can enjoy the wide variety of restaurants located outside the hotel. Choice of food ranges from Egyptian to western dishes. The restaurant at Grand Royal is also open to guests, and room service is available as well. Guests can take a walk by the Nile River or visit the Egyptian Museum, all within 15 minutes' walking distance. The hotel is within 20 minutes' drive to Pyramids of Giza. Cairo International Airport is located within 35 minutes' driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Grand Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing