We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - perfect for a short break.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Royal

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Grand Royal
Ranked #40 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Cambridge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location - perfect for a short break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Fantastic value for money, rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. Staff are friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and very happy to help with booking tours and taxis, and can offer good advice on where to go and what so see in and around Cairo. Traffic noise may be disturbing for some, you might want to take earplugs, but don't forget you're right in the heart of the city, just a short walk from Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum. Cairo is a safe and friendly city and they really need the tourists to come back and enjoy all they have to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C.Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    48
    25
    9
    35
See reviews for
33
38
86
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hotel staff is helpful and considerate.

The tour may not be a happy experience. Tour guide may try to suggest something to you but when you not buy into his suggestion, he may show his unhappiness on his face and not that friendly later.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCHKABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Grand Royal is a perfect hotel for a short stay in Cairo. Centraly located, The museum is nearby, as well as Tahrir square, The rooms are very clean and spacious. The staff is very helpful. Breakfast is simple but enough. Because the traffic is very busy it can be noisy. But one can use earplugs. We (two women) had the suite, two connected rooms, two bathrooms and, for us very important, a balcony so we could see life goes by late at night.We were there one and a half week after the demonstrations at Tahrir square and the USA embassy, but there were no troubles at all. Don't let the media drives you crazy. We felt very safe. We highly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariavdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Really thank Hussein and staff for the advise n service. Great hotel for all the single travellers. Nice genuine advise..and great city tour packages... Must say the guys/drivers for city tours are good...
About the rooms..nice compact clean rooms..maybe there is some room for betterment..but great value for the price u pay...considering the place to be in city centre...
And one last curious traveller parting note...they got really fab bedside lamps...have fun!
In a nutshell, good place ..good people.

Room Tip: Single Roms are really for one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amrit80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A hotel in the heart of down town at Talat Harb square.
You are in the middel of cairo and yet you can sleep quitley.
Nice , clean and decent room and fair prices.

Staff is really healpfull and breakfast was included.
Recomended to every one who wants to stay in the heart of cairo and yet stay in a nice and quite place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artimomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I HIGHLY recommend anyone to stay at The Grand Royal Hotel. I couldn't have picked a better hotel in downtown Cairo. Clean and spacious rooms, fresh flowers in your room, Great breakfast to start your everyday.

Amazing atmosphere from the moment you walk in, feels like home.
Walking distance to everything.

You can get everything you can think of from there, At UNBELIEVABLE PRICES for all your tours, from Private guided tours, to cruises, from Cairo to Alexandria to Aswan to Luxor. They'll help you manage, arrange your entire stay there, to make sure that your experiences there is more than expected. You wont need to go anywhere else.

They can arrange drivers to come and pick you up and take you wherever your heart desires for the MOST AMAZING PRICES.

The staff there is outstanding. They really do go above and beyond to make your stay there in Egypt the most comfortable and the best experience you can take home.

I loved it the most cause they actually make you feel like family.
I also loved hanging out in the lobby with the staff and the other guests. You will not regret your stay here, I promise.

Just to name a few wonderful amazing people at the hotel that you will meet are Ibrahim, Hussein Saleh, Madeline, Amir. The whole entire crew there is outstanding. I cant thank them enough for making the best fours days I could ever have there. Thanks a million to all at the Grand Royal.

Also wanna give a special thanks to one of the guest there, thank you so much Lisa for being such a great friend.

Karina :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

First and foremost we experienced the most outstanding and exceptional services throughout our 7 day stay in Cairo.

From the moment we arrived the atmosphere was warm, friendly and welcoming. shortly after being shown to our room we returned to the lounge area where we were greeted by hotel staff and guest alike. Whilst enjoying some Egyption hospitality we discussed our itinerary with the staff and booked what turned out to be and amazing few days of tours with fantastic professional guides (special mention to our driver Muhammad who totally went above and beyond). We had been warned against booking tours through hotels as we had been told prices would be steep, HOWEVER we found not only where the tours fantastic but competavily priced.

Our room was spotless, spacious and comfortable with fantastic air conditioning. The house keeping staff did an efficient and impeccable job. Breakfast was fresh, nutricous and filling (perfect preparation for a long hot day seeing the sights).

On top this the hotel where amazing with helping us during the Egyptair strikes. They wokes us early to inform us of the strikes, made phone calls in Arabic on our behalf and held a room for us in case we did not fly (good thing too as we stayed a few extra nights)

We cannot recommend this hotel enough and fully intend to stay again. Thank you to all the hotel staff for making our trip to Cairo a trip of a lifetime! special thanks to Ibrahim, Muhammad, Madeline, Muhammad, Hussain and Amir and housekeeping keeping crew!

Mark and Jess

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bothe337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#99 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.9 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#21 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
2.3 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#44 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.6 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#47 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#51 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Royal

Property: Hotel Grand Royal
Address: 1 Talaat Harb Square, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Royal is located in Cairo City Centre. Rooms are decorated with white colours and wooden furniture. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel. The rooms are air-conditioned with wooden flooring. Facilities include TV and bathroom with a bathtub. Some rooms have a balcony overlooking the city. Fresh flowers are sent to the rooms every day. Guests can enjoy the wide variety of restaurants located outside the hotel. Choice of food ranges from Egyptian to western dishes. The restaurant at Grand Royal is also open to guests, and room service is available as well. Guests can take a walk by the Nile River or visit the Egyptian Museum, all within 15 minutes' walking distance. The hotel is within 20 minutes' drive to Pyramids of Giza. Cairo International Airport is located within 35 minutes' driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Grand Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing