We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wekalet El Ghouri Arts Center
Open today: 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Wekalet El Ghouri Arts Center
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
13
13
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tanoura dance dancers and musicians sufi performance folklore traders tantra tickets egp egypt
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 28 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at 7.15 and half of the seats were already taken, the show started around 7.30 and it lasts until 9. The price for non egyptian is now more than the previous reviews. We payed 75LE each.
It is a very nice location and the performance too. Highly recommended to end the day with something different than usual.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank alessandrabZ6821TG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017

I went to Tanoura shows many times, and It never failed to surprise me!!
I always back home happy and enjoy my nights there , the staff of the dancers and musicians are always smiling and doing a really great performance , their clothes are always clean and ironed and that is something that I really like and respect as well..
If you are a tourist or even a local don't miss that!

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Nancy H. E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2017

The place will give you an overdose of sight of Egypt indeed.
The place which was used as a mall with rooms so traders coming from Syria, china etc can stay in. It is turned now to an art center with the Tanura performance.
The performance is unique as it is a mix of Sufi, Folklore whirling as well as folklore music.
it is all over the year on Saturday, Monday and Wednesday at 7 or 8 pm depend on the season.
Ticket for locals are 5 EGP and 35 for non-Egyptian.

Date of experience: January 2017
2  Thank hadeerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017

We went and watched a tanoura dance show at this centre and it was one of the highlights of our trip to Cairo. The dancers and musicians were colourful and vibrant. It was an amazing insight into culture and art. The building itself is interesting set in the heart of the Islamic community in Cairo.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank 765cazc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017

Of course, it being Cairo, the event started much later than advertised and tempers among the audience were wearing thin by this point - but it was a good event in a lovely venue (though very cold in February, especially during the over-long wait). A very well-restored caravanserai, well worth seeing on its own, and of course set off very well by the whirling dervish dancers. Show much longer than advertised - if you go, be prepared for a long event. Worth seeing - a stunning and memorable dance, but "rough edges" to the venue (start time, advertising of duration) could be improved upon.

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank shaggyd0g1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews