We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the Best Egyptian Cuisine”
Review of Abou el Sid

Abou el Sid
Ranked #103 of 4,159 Restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Egyptian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Still the Best Egyptian Cuisine”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Classic Egyptian menu. The consistency of the quality is great. However, the atmosphere has deterorated over the last 18 months, as has their service. It's the food and its location that brings me back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nerry_Luvs_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    42
    7
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We found the Zamalek location in the building right behind the Alexbank (off of 26th of July St). There are no english signs and we got confused until someone came out of the large wooden doors with a doggy bag. The atmosphere in there is fantastic even with the cloud of smoke. The number of locals dining there was certainly encouraging so it's not the usual tourist trap. We tried the Abou el Sid dip, Koshari, Chicken in walnut sauce, and veal stew. The prices were pretty cheap for a sit down dinner in a clean restaurant in Zamalek. Service is prompt and the food is excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quistis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Love it.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a great place to go if you can find it. The atmosphere feel genuine, even though the place is targeted mainly at tourists, and the food is great. Dimly lit and accessible via a 'hole in the wall' door barely noticeable from outside (unless you know), this is a great place to hang out after a long day in Cairo. Only downside is that Abou El Sid is smoking, so be prepared for clouds of cigaret smoke coming your way.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Round_Earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great traditional food”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

great traditional food. Zamalik branch is always very busy, long wait for table, Mohandseen and city stars branches always have availability. You have to eat there

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Simsim64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
1,112 reviews
577 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 907 helpful votes
“Great food wonderful ambience”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was the fourth time I had dined in this restaurant, I was in the Star city branch in Nasr City.
The atmosphere is kind of shabby and chic, with wonderful old doors acting as partitions , pictures of um Kalsoum and Abou el sid on the walls , The place is lit by elaborate chandeliers , the chairs of louis style , in gold brocade fabric . Whoever did the decor has created a place that enhances the food .
We had a mixed platter for entree which consisted of a few dips with crunchy dry bread and freshly baked puffy bread . We had stuffed vine leaves , and some chicken livers as well. For the main course we ordered a mixed grill , and the pidgeons...
The pidgin is quite a national dish in Egypt and these did not disappoint at all . Plump , crispy and marinated they were stuffed with rice and dill and bhurgul wheat ( i think) They were amazing ...
The mixed grill was a lamb chop, the stuffed sausage really yum, a chicken kebab and a meat one and a kofta ..all the meat was perfectly done.
We were stuffed by this stage and did not order dessert.
We drank mint lemon juice with our meal , delicious and refreshing .
I recommend About el Sid , there are a few branches , one also in Zamalek. its cheap and decent , the waiters could smile a bit more I think they all look a bit "" i don't know if i can be bothered """,
but in saying that the service was very efficient.
This restaurant offers a good egyptian experience .....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saskiagrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abou el Sid also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Abou el Sid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing