We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great retreat from cairo and the friendliest people”
Review of Freedom Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freedom Hostel
Ranked #2 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

i did not stay in other places in cairo but i felt very lucky with my choice of the freedom hostel, especially as i was in need of buddha time after running the athens marathon that day. the entrance and way up are not too promising but thats misleading. i was welcomed with tea and got a really nice big room. shower very nice and clean. as afterwards i couldnt move so much anymore i asked them if i could order something. they organised everything for me, very attentively listening to my wishes.

although the hostel is situated really close to the egyptian museum finding your way in cairo streetlife can be overwhelming, so i was glad that in the morning they helped me to get there. breakfast was included too.

thanks freedom hostel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaanDeKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 298 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

After a long bus taking, it is nice to get hot tea when we just arrived at Cairo. The hostel is pretty clean and cheap and near meteo station. The stuffs are very friendly,they recommand many nice restaurants and gave us some useful information in Cairo. It is the best choice to stay in Cairo.We stayed here for 3 nights and will come back again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kangtinwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Freedom Hostel had clean and comfortable rooms, shiny new bathrooms (a rarity in this price range), and hospitable and helpful staff. I'd definitely recommend that people seek out this little haven of calm in crazy Cairo

Room Tip: The suites on the West side of the hostel were significantly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamora7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hostel is right in the middle of downtown Cairo and makes for an excellent station for exploring.

Good:
-Rooms are in good shape, they are relatively clean and on the second time staying here 'upgraded' us to a larger room with 4 beds when there were only 2 of us.
-The staff tried hard to accommodate, breakfast was just right and came with the room.
-If you paid 30 L.E, you got 3 bottles of water, a towel and wi-fi. The first two are great ideas, as bottle water is something one always needs when traveling in Egypt.

Bad:
-The wi-fi was pretty bad, and it was 20 L.E a day, for communication starved tourists it felt like an add-on. Though the wi-fi improved slightly at the end, I would to have liked to know up front but it wasn't a deal breaker, more like wishful thinking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here on two separate occasions during my trip. Made a mistake while booking and they were very accommodating in making things right. Centrally located in downtown Cairo near museum and other attractions. Hostel was always clean and the people very helpful. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fmarrufo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was in Cairo to work . I have stayed at the Freedom Hostel and the best thing I found in this hostel is the staff,they was very helpful,privileged,improves handling hotel guests,the place was very good,very clean and the rooms is very big .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ammar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I made wrong my reservation and these guys help me out creating a reservation for me, the hostel was clean, breakfast was ok, these guys organized good and cheap tours to the pyramids and to other places in Egypt, staff was ok and helpful, If you to Egypt I will recommend to stay in this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 141 in Cairo
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#25 of 141 in Cairo
337 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#91 of 141 in Cairo
140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#16 of 141 in Cairo
2,620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
#6 of 133 in Cairo
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Hostel

Address: 6 Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St | infront of the centeral bank of Egypt, 3rd floor, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range: $10 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Freedom Hostel *Enjoy accommodation in style. Your travelling experience comes complete with a contemporary in-house lounge, laundry facilities and small guest kitchen. You can book travel & tours at our travel desk and keep in touch with friends & family with our internet corner, Wi-Fi and international telephone access. With our free luggage storage facilities, 24 hour reception and host of friendly staff will make your stay in Cairo a breeze. * If you've never been to Cairo before it can be quite an overwhelming and intimidating place, so why not let us make it easy for you? Less stress = more fun! No one understands the importance of having a great time while on Holiday like our staff here at Freedom Hostel. We provide the best tours and entertainment packages you'll find in this city. Forget a big, boring hotel or hostel with nothing going on - come stay with us and get a taste of Egypt that few visitors get to experience! Location Information *Our Location is one of the most easy to be reached at just 200 meters from the famous Talaat Harb Square, in front off the central bank of Egypt. *The Egyptian Museum is about 5/10 Minutes' walk. *Several Egyptian and International restaurants, cinemas and shopping malls are located nearby. Tea, coffee and shisha cafes located just few meters away. Accommodation Information *Our accommodation options include deluxe twin or double en-suited rooms, single or triple private rooms and dormitory rooms. All come with fresh white linen, a balcony, air-conditioning and a modern security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Freedom Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing