We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel”
Review of Freedom Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freedom Hostel
Ranked #2 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
LaPorte, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hostel is right in the middle of downtown Cairo and makes for an excellent station for exploring.

Good:
-Rooms are in good shape, they are relatively clean and on the second time staying here 'upgraded' us to a larger room with 4 beds when there were only 2 of us.
-The staff tried hard to accommodate, breakfast was just right and came with the room.
-If you paid 30 L.E, you got 3 bottles of water, a towel and wi-fi. The first two are great ideas, as bottle water is something one always needs when traveling in Egypt.

Bad:
-The wi-fi was pretty bad, and it was 20 L.E a day, for communication starved tourists it felt like an add-on. Though the wi-fi improved slightly at the end, I would to have liked to know up front but it wasn't a deal breaker, more like wishful thinking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    31
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
33
143
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here on two separate occasions during my trip. Made a mistake while booking and they were very accommodating in making things right. Centrally located in downtown Cairo near museum and other attractions. Hostel was always clean and the people very helpful. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fmarrufo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suez, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was in Cairo to work . I have stayed at the Freedom Hostel and the best thing I found in this hostel is the staff,they was very helpful,privileged,improves handling hotel guests,the place was very good,very clean and the rooms is very big .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I made wrong my reservation and these guys help me out creating a reservation for me, the hostel was clean, breakfast was ok, these guys organized good and cheap tours to the pyramids and to other places in Egypt, staff was ok and helpful, If you to Egypt I will recommend to stay in this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here 4 nights and was very pleased with everything. The rooms were large and clean, the bathrooms cleaner than most hostel bathrooms (with very good showers), and the staff were very helpful. On the negative side, to get to this 3rd floor hostel, you travel through a dark, dirty building up to the entrance. I would also suggest a change in the "commons" area to make it more friendly to socializing. The wifi is good (for an additional fee) and there is a free simple breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reclinerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was here with a friend for about 4 days! Contact with the hostel before we arrived was really good, we got picked up from the airport and that was prompt so very happy with that. It is slightly more expensive than a cab would be but on arrival this is probably the best choice as its a bit of a meat market!

Our room was very nice and big, we had so much space in the room! The decor in the whole hostel is very nice however considering this is supposed to be a new hostel the main bathrooms needed a little work! The water was always hot though and there was never a queue for the shower in the mornings

There is a kitchen where you can prepare your own breakfast if you wish, which we did on two mornings as we didnt really want the breakfast.

The staff were quite nice, some more so than others! The lady who came and cleaned most days was lovely and so was one of the guys working on reception that was working there for a few days. He gave us alot of advice.

My main issue was the use of wifi and two out of three of the days it was on and off every 5 minutes yet we were still charged for the code. I wouldnt have minded apart from the fact that we were paying 50 EGP for our room a night yet paying 20 EGP for internet that didnt work! By the last day it was working a little better however for some travelers who are travelling on and want to book ongoing flights and trains it is a bit of a hassle!

The location of the hostel is in a really good location!

Next time I am in Cairo I will def come back! Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Islamabad, Pakistan
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

While serving UNITED NATIONS at BURUNDI i planned to visit the Most historical country in the world that is EGYPT. There i found myself with these fine fresh young energetic and sincere group of professionals. Few of the very precious days in my life that i spent in the company of Mr peter, Gad and Hassan. So friendly and sincere they were with the profession and their clients that we always found ourself at home. served with the best facilities and comfort, that trip was made unforgettable and the affect of that journey through the land of Pharoes is such long lasting that when ever i recall it seems as i have just visited few days back and a wish takes rebirth in my mind to visit those wonderful people the host of our again and again.... i Recommend the facilities and above all dedication and professionalism offered are worthwhile and deserve more than a 5 star rating so every reader of this comment can blindly have faith in the team and the facilities they offer........ My stay at their Hostel was perfectly organised and so comfortable that i never missed home....
i wish them best of luck in every aspect of life...
Anees - ur Rehman
Pakistan

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anees_ur_Rehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.7 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,417 reviews
0.5 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 138 in Cairo
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.2 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#21 of 138 in Cairo
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Hostel

Property: Freedom Hostel
Address: 6 Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St | infront of the centeral bank of Egypt, 3rd floor, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Freedom Hostel *Enjoy accommodation in style. Your travelling experience comes complete with a contemporary in-house lounge, laundry facilities and small guest kitchen. You can book travel & tours at our travel desk and keep in touch with friends & family with our internet corner, Wi-Fi and international telephone access. With our free luggage storage facilities, 24 hour reception and host of friendly staff will make your stay in Cairo a breeze. * If you've never been to Cairo before it can be quite an overwhelming and intimidating place, so why not let us make it easy for you? Less stress = more fun! No one understands the importance of having a great time while on Holiday like our staff here at Freedom Hostel. We provide the best tours and entertainment packages you'll find in this city. Forget a big, boring hotel or hostel with nothing going on - come stay with us and get a taste of Egypt that few visitors get to experience! Location Information *Our Location is one of the most easy to be reached at just 200 meters from the famous Talaat Harb Square, in front off the central bank of Egypt. *The Egyptian Museum is about 5/10 Minutes' walk. *Several Egyptian and International restaurants, cinemas and shopping malls are located nearby. Tea, coffee and shisha cafes located just few meters away. Accommodation Information *Our accommodation options include deluxe twin or double en-suited rooms, single or triple private rooms and dormitory rooms. All come with fresh white linen, a balcony, air-conditioning and a modern security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Freedom Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing