We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Freedom Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freedom Hostel
Ranked #2 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Helpful/friendly staff
Good location (downtown by lots of stores)
Bigger rooms
Fairly clean
Air conditioning
Quiet/ relaxed atmosphere
Fast internet
...but also...
Lots of stairs on the way up
Saw a couple cockroaches
Cab drivers had a hard time finding the place (even with an address)

Other:
Breakfast is Tea, bread & Jam, cheese and an egg.
Can buy water and pop

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_BugYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Freedom Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review and we are sorry if you have found a cockroach on the stairs of our building , we will ask the door man to take care more of the building .
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 294 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

good location, good service, beautiful hostel. the room is good and I could sleep so comfortable and it was supper clean.the staff is very good and very helpful and any information i wanted i got it from them.
they organized a tour Giza Pyramids,Saqqara and Memphis it was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I am very confused by all the positive feedback on this hostel. The location is great in Cairo, downtown, close to walking to many sites. However, our room was not clean like everyone is raving, and i'm not sure shower (en suite room) has ever been cleaned since it's installation. There was old soap that had been left from the previous people, and a dirty towel, which i'm guessing was the previous occupants. Woke up one night seeing a cockroach walking across the bed.

They organized our tour to the pyramids, which was fine. However, the driver made a pit stop at a papyrus museum, as well as right outside a place where you could rent camels/horse to view the pyramids. We wished to walk, and did not purchase anything at the papryus museum, and the driver was noticeably upset with both of these choices.

Overall, the hostel is very reasonably priced, very very cheap, so I cannot complain too much. But you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Winnipeg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, Owner at Freedom Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear guest
After we read your review , we contacted you to know what was wrong and your answer was different from what you wrote in the review as the following :

Good day,
The location was great and the price was right for the budget. However, my comments did indicate we were not happy with the tour.
My husband is the one who woke up with the cockroach, and he did not tell me until we had checked out, as he knew that I would not handle it well. Had it been me, yes, I absolutely would have spoken with somebody. As for the soap/towel, it was not worth mentioning to anybody as I can avoid using them, it was just an indicator that perhaps there had not been someone in the room to clean/tidy since the last occupant.
The people were friendly, you have hired wonderful people, I truly am sorry my experience wasn't what I had hoped for.
Thank you

- Your husband wrote another review one day later and he mentioned that he saw a cockroach in the stairs of the building not in the room .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The team were so helpful. They picked up our overnight train tickets to Aswan from Cairo for us from the train station. They organised our trip to the pyramids at Giza with a terrific driver. We rode horses around the pyramids. If you are thinking about going to Egypt, go now! The pyramids were deserted! Everyone in Cairo was so welcoming and friendly. I'd recommend everyone visit if they can as it's such value for money as you get to see the sites with so few other tourists around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Absolutely over valued and by far the best in Cairo.very big rooms with super clean bathroom and showers, friendly staff and in a great location , 10 min walking to the Egyptian museum I couldn't believe it's a hostel, felt that I stayed in a royal palace of ancient time :-) Can't wait to get back .

Room Tip: i loved the balcony on room 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deep W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Maybe I was expecting too much after the reviews I had read but I didn't find this hostel to be amazing. We only stayed for 1 night and yes the staff were friendly but we were hassled a bit as they were concerned that as we were only staying 1 night that we were looking somewhere else to stay and that we weren't happy with the hostel however we were joining a tour the next day. The room itself was ok. Could have been a bit cleaner. The included breakfast was great. 2 improvements would be better wi-fi and to include it in the room price. The wi-fi did not reach our room and is $3 US per device per day. Granted once a manger realized the wi-fi did not work in our room we were given our money back which was nice. Also would be nice for them to have cotton sheets rather than the odd bedding that they had. These may be petty complaints but pretty standard in other places we have stayed in Cairo for the same money.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank YasandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is an excellent hostel to stay in if you are planning to live in Downtown Cairo. The hostel is very clean and the staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The owner of the hostel also did a great job in organizing my trip from Luxor to Abu Simbel including two unforgettable cruses which I highly recommend. If you haven't arranged the specifics of your trip by the time you get to Cairo, speak to Peter. He could probably organize any trip you had in mind.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kgb_Abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 139 in Cairo
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#15 of 139 in Cairo
2,491 reviews
0.5 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#25 of 139 in Cairo
325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Hostel

Address: 6 Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St | infront of the centeral bank of Egypt, 3rd floor, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range: $10 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Freedom Hostel *Enjoy accommodation in style. Your travelling experience comes complete with a contemporary in-house lounge, laundry facilities and small guest kitchen. You can book travel & tours at our travel desk and keep in touch with friends & family with our internet corner, Wi-Fi and international telephone access. With our free luggage storage facilities, 24 hour reception and host of friendly staff will make your stay in Cairo a breeze. * If you've never been to Cairo before it can be quite an overwhelming and intimidating place, so why not let us make it easy for you? Less stress = more fun! No one understands the importance of having a great time while on Holiday like our staff here at Freedom Hostel. We provide the best tours and entertainment packages you'll find in this city. Forget a big, boring hotel or hostel with nothing going on - come stay with us and get a taste of Egypt that few visitors get to experience! Location Information *Our Location is one of the most easy to be reached at just 200 meters from the famous Talaat Harb Square, in front off the central bank of Egypt. *The Egyptian Museum is about 5/10 Minutes' walk. *Several Egyptian and International restaurants, cinemas and shopping malls are located nearby. Tea, coffee and shisha cafes located just few meters away. Accommodation Information *Our accommodation options include deluxe twin or double en-suited rooms, single or triple private rooms and dormitory rooms. All come with fresh white linen, a balcony, air-conditioning and a modern security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Freedom Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing