We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pearl Worth Discovering”
Review of Pearl Hotel

Pearl Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pearl Hotel
Ranked #35 of 64 Cairo B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very surprised at some of the other negative reviews. The Pearl is at the top of its class among 3 star hotels in Cairo. We have stayed at the Pearl Hotel now three times within the past year, including an extended stay over more than a month. The staff are the best--courteous, responsive, attentive without being overbearing, and accommodating. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, some have been renovated and are even nicer. Breakfast on the rooftop (indoor and outdoor terrace) is wonderful, mixing both western and eastern cuisines. The food is fresh and abundant. The Pearl Hotel's location is ideal--the southern suburb of Maadi is an oasis in the midst of bustling and busy Cairo. The hotel is a six minute walk to the metro station, about the same to a quaint road lined with cafes and restaurants, and a ten minute walk to the Nile.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have renovated bathrooms, which are an improvement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike&Kathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 26 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

I booked 10 nights in this hotel and experienced my first ever theft while travelling. I went upstairs to breakfast and within 20 minutes my iPhone 4s was stolen from my locked room. The management was not helpful, defended their staff and left me sitting in the lobby for almost an hour waiting for a response from housekeeping. The manager offered several nights free, a free dinner in a nice restaurant but when I asked for reimbursement for the cost of a 6 months old iPhone they started making excuses. So I have no iPhone and no reimbursement for my loss. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Your belongings are not safe with them.

Room Tip: The bed is hard as a rock, the bathrooms dingy and dark. The breakfast buffet was poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ablondeindoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my third stay at Pearl Hotel. Previously I had no problems but a case of third time unlucky. I had booked two rooms for 2 males for 1 night but on arrival c 1.00am we were told the hotel was full and we were in a suite together. The "suite" had two rooms and one bathroom but the bed in the sitting room hadn't been made up. After a couple of phone calls, the bed was made up but with blankets and no sheets. There were sheets on the double bed in the bedroom. It was obvious that the hotel was far from full....I saw all of 8 other guests having breakfast.So, a "couldn't care less" attitude at the front desk & night staff.

Next morning, breakfast was basic by European standards but adequate. The terrace on the 7th floor is a pleasant spot to have a leisurely breakfast.

Staff were helpful in getting us a taxi and giving destination details to the driver in Arabic.

The best restaurant I know in Ma'adi is 5-7 mins away by taxi. It's "Fusion" on the Corniche overlooking the Nile. Ask for "Fridays" - Fusion has the same entrance as TFI Fridays. Food is a mixture of Japanese/Mongolian/Chinese. About LE150 per head (say $25). But no alcohol.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnScott48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel is a 3 star and has a roof top dinning area with a breakfast buffet ..part is AC and the other more traditonal with a great view of the city and the Nile River. You can have a meal outside and soak up the views, feel the breeze and find it peaceful with little sound to distract you from the experience. The elevator works, the baths are adequate and you can walk to road 9 over the footpath bridge. It is near shopping, apt hunting and the clubs. Good place to get your bearing on this Ma'adi community. Staff are pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ExpatfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

It's managed awfully and the rooms are suffocating. The ended up steeling over 200$ from me because of a rate mistake. I claimed my restaurant receipts and found ones with a different signature forged by them. Don't go there.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nagla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at the Pearl Hotel for 4 nights while we were visiting our daughter who is living in Ma'adi. It was a very convenient walk to many good restaurants, shops and cafes. The staff spoke English and were friendly and fairly helpful. The breakfast buffet was simple but ample. Rooms were basic but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spring050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Got introduced to this hotel by an Egyptian friend and ended up staying there on and off for nearly two months from March-May 2010 during an extended stay in Egypt.
It is mainly used by Egyptians and business travellers but ideally placed in the quieter Ex-pat area of Cairo, Maadi.
It is only a short walk from the Metro Station(cheap and quick travel).
The staff were always friendly although the Maids could sometimes be a little eager to clean the room!
They provide a good breakfast too!
All in all, it was a good value stay with friendly staff and an ideal location for my needs.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ArgyleRich33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0 mi away
Mesho Inn Hostel
Mesho Inn Hostel
#58 of 131 in Cairo
27 reviews
0 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#66 of 131 in Cairo
14 reviews
0 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
0 mi away
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
#6 of 131 in Cairo
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Hotel

Address: 82 32 Rd. 7 Intersection of Rd. | Beside Banque Misr, Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range: $48 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing