We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Grand Cafe

Grand Cafe
Ranked #726 of 4,182 Restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Egyptian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Ate here with my husband (I am American and he is Egyptian, he resides here full-time, myself part-time), so any negative remarks are my being American lol. The food was excellent, the prices good/comparative for other restaurants of this type, the service and presentation excellent. Lovely place to dine in the evening, the lighting was beautiful except non-existent at the tables that are right at the edge overlooking the Nile, so bring your mobile. That would be a nice addition. We also ate there during summer vacation and starting around 10p families arrived with their children. Egy children and/or their parents can be a nuisance in letting them run around.....Overall the service excellent and Head Waiter Nasr personally thanked up and talked to us after our meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parrotpati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    27
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Egypt,Giza
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Nice causy place nile view and shisha”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good service ,nice atmosphere .Pleasant place .you can find different nationalities enjoying coffee and shisha ,wide screens all over and u can listen nice music or follow football matches european league.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Pass on the food, but the ambiance and Nile view are worth a visit”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife's wish for her 65th birthday was to simply sit at the Grand Cafe and enjoy the view. Playing hostess for our visiting consultants pleases her and she particularly likes to bring them here. But it was my first visit to the Grand Cafe.

We went early in the evening before the social butterflies started flitting in, so fortunately we got a riverside table where we could watch the boat fishermen, who are actually families living on their boats eking out an existence. As the sun set, feluccas -- the Nile sailboats that defy the laws of physics as they sail against the wind -- appear in force, escaping the heat of the day. Profiled against the dusky sky and palms that line the river banks, they are as peaceful as they are beautiful.

And this is the sole reason for going to the Grand Cafe. The food is unremarkable and the service is even worse. We ordered lentil soup and got cream of mushroom. We ordered an "appetizer tray" that when delivered was not even close to the description given, or the photo in the menu! The boned, grilled half chicken looked like it had been run over and then pounded into submission. It was dry. Then we waited an hour on the waiter to take our dessert order.

It is clear that they are uncomfortable with foreign guests and are unsure of themselves, so they just ignore you. This is quite unusual because 1) Egypt depends on tourists and 2) the location on the river side by side with very popular restaurants lends itself to this trade.

Nonetheless, get a "ringside" table and order the drinks. No alcohol. But the view is stunning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“View to kill for!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Egyptians is one of the most sociable people in this world and you experience it at any place where you go to eat in Cairo. The atmosphere is always sociable, and they understand the importance of people spending time together, enjoying each other's company.
The Fish Market choice of fish is out of this world and as a South African I was introduced to the fishes of the Mediterranean Sea and what a culinary experience did I have. They prepare your fish exactly the way you ask for it and the service is very prompt. Good friends, good food, yes that's the way to go!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeinrichA300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place & good drinks !!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

it's good place if u wish to hang and spend time with family or friends , didn't try food there but soft drinks well , just bit expensive . stuff there so friendly and we used to go there every while

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_miro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Cafe also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing