We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for your money in Cairo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13, Talaat Harb Street, Cairo 00000, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 140 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best value for your money in Cairo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I've been coming to Cairo for 20 years and this hotel is perfectly located, a few blocks from Tahrir Square, right next to some of Cairo's most important restaurants and bars. For $35, clean room, very good wifi, very nice staff, cheap taxi to and from airport through hotel. It's perfect for single person, couple, or even family that doesn't need amenities but wants location and a great room for the money.

Room Tip: ask for rooms in the back away from the street. will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLeVine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
23
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansoura, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I've had many experiences with hotels in Cairo. I never found one that good for that price value.
The old door of the building almost got me to think twice. It was the middle of the night, so I thought I should just give a try. When I got up to the hotel, I was actually glad I haven't left.
The rooms are always nice, clean, cozy and comfortable. AC is included in all rooms. The place has a no-smoking-in-rooms rule, which makes the air inside the rooms always nice.
The staff is really hospitable as well as helpful. It has a unique location suitable for the purpose of your visit since it's in the middle of the capital. If you are here for work, you can go anywhere easily. If you are in Egypt for tourism, they offer incredible tour packages. I'd surely recommend this place for a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a clean & nice hotel in the heart of Cairo just 5 minutes walk from the Sadat metro station in Tahrir square and 10 minutes walk from the Cairo Museum. The rooms are clean, the staff is very kind & helpful & the breakfast is nice & tasty. They kept our luggage for one day. And when we came back in the midnight, Ali (night shift receptionist) agreed to carry them up to our bus station & even did not wanted money, which is very strange for Egyptian people, as they demand baksheesh even when you salute them :) Thank you very much Ali for everything you did for us during our stay and thanks to all staff!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vardanush N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed three nights at this hotel which is just a block from Tahrir Sq in the heart of Cairo, which makes it walking distance to the Egyptian Museum and the efficient subway. It's a nice hotel, clean with improvements in progress. There's dirt around the edges, but we didn't mind. The staff was helpful and nice enough to hold our luggage on our last day. I can't really fault the hotel for the mosquitos, right?
The neighborhood as a nice number of cheap eats, but no groceries. Cabs are easy enough to get. Cairo is crazy. The hotel was not. And that's a good thing!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mattf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Don't let the scary street level entrance, dark stairs or rickety elevator discourage you. Wait until you get up to the 3rd floor lobby and enter this great little B&B in the heart of Cairo before you make up your mind. I think you will be pleasantly rewarded with a great stay. This small hotel with 17 rooms split on the 3rd and 4th floor of an older building is located just 500 meters from Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum. Rooms vary in size from small singles to larger triples/family rooms, but most of the rooms are of the double variety. I stayed in here twice during my trip to Egypt, once in a small single (#409) and once in a double (#305). The small single is, well, small, but OK for one night. The bathroom in this room was very small, with my knees touching the opposite wall when I sat on the toilet. The double is large and comfortable enough for a stay of several days. The bathroom are beautifully decorated in bright blue tiles with European style fixtures. Hot water supply is very good. Beds are very comfortable with nice sheets and bedding. There is also a small TV, refrigerator and AC in the rooms. Breakfast is served in small area next to the lobby entrance. Breakfast is simple, but substantial, consisting of eggs, toast, juice/milk/tea/coffee and yogurt. Hotel has good wi-fi, but no PC available. Hotel sits in a largely commercial area, with a lot of shops. There is a bank (with ATM) and convenience store across the street. There is a lack of good restaurants in the area. Street noise is a bit of a problem, so choose your room carefully (see my other notes in this review). Sophie, the manager, is an excellent resource for tips on visiting Cairo or arranging taxis. They take credit cards, but add a 3% service fee to do so. They are currently developing a 5th floor patio area that will replace the current 3rd floor breakfast room. This should be a nice addition to this already great hotel. Overall, a great option in the heart of Cairo.

Pros: location to Tahrir Square, Cairo Metro, Nile and Egyptian Museum; service and quality of rooms for value; comfortable rooms and bathrooms

Cons: street noise; lack of good restaurants in area

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor have more soundproofing than those on 3rd floor. Rooms 301-306, 402-407 face mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
316 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We arrived at 3 am - and goit great rooms! Newly renovated, very clean. Very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent - but the main "attraction" is really Sophie's information, comments, recommendations... And her helpfulness - even before you get there (and pay). Plus: the hotel is ideally located in the heart of modern Cairo, right where it all happens. You couldn't be "closer"!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marathon2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hotel is in a great location a minute from the Museum. The rooms have proper beds with proper duvets and pillows. Everything is extremely clean. There are filling breakfasts and the owner & staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateNickO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenhotelegypt, Owner at Golden Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind support. Your review helps us a lot. It was real plesure to have you as our guests. I wish you good time Sophia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#32 of 140 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#25 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#28 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#44 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#42 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nile Season Hotel
Nile Season Hotel
#47 of 140 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Hotel

Property: Golden Hotel
Address: 13, Talaat Harb Street, Cairo 00000, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 140 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Hotel has a new egyptian - french - swiss management since August 2011. It's located just a fiew minutes walk from the Egyptian Museum, the Nile and the Saddat Metro Station, in down town Cairo. The hotel is fully equiped with air conditioning, offers free wifi access, fresh renovated, high ceiling rooms with flat screen TV, fridges and en suite bathrooms. Towels are provided and changed daily. Guests can enjoy a continental breakfast, and we provid room service. At the tour desk we organize for you any tour in Cairo or trips around Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Golden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing