We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and only average”

Shogun Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 4,227 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A cozy Japanese restaurant serving the best of sushi and teppanyaki cuisine. Enjoy true Japanese atmosphere with a fish tank in the center of the restaurant. Enjoy the tasty food at either the sushi bar or one of the Japanese live cooking tables. Pick your favorite dish from our menus that are created by our Japanese chef Komatsu using top-quality fresh ingredients.Available Services: Credit card accepted, parking or valet services, alcohol, wireless Internet
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Situated at the Intercontinental Hotel, CityStars in Cairo, this is a spacious restaurant with plenty of seating options including a number of tepanyaki areas. We were a party of 4 and tried a number of fish and meat options. There was nothing wrong but equally nothing "wowed" us. This is quite a pricey place and we expected more.
Wines are very pricey - even poor Egyptian options are very over priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 282 of 376 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Luckily came across this excellent restaurant whilst staying at the Intercontinental City Stars and have visited twice so far. Food on both occasions was fantastic - great selection of dishes including sushi and teppanyaki dishes, prepared by talented chefs who put on a real show for all their customers. Service is of a high standard throughout the meal, with attentive waiting staff and Management. Hoping to manage another visit before I leave but if you are in Cairo, it really is a place that is well worth a visit !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShereenO, PA to EAM i/c of F&B at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Denise,

Thank you for sharing your delightful experience in "Shogun" on TripAdvisor. We are always very pleased to receive positive feedback as such.

Your encouraging comments have been shared with all concerned staff and chefs in "Shogun" as a reinforcement to them to continue their efforts to make it the best Japanese restaurant in Cairo.

We always pride ourselves on the highest level of guest satisfaction and we are very glad we achieved our target.

We hope you will manage to do your third visit soon and looking forward to welcoming you to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Thanks,
Shereen Omar
PA to EAM i/c of F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Me and my fiance love the place and take it as a usual life style for us to eat in 2 times per month ,amazing stuff and lovely service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ahmed a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShereenO, PA to EAM i/c of F&B at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Ahmed,

Thank you for sharing your delightful comment about "Shogun" on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding when we receive positive comments as such from our honored guests.

I hope that you and your fiance will continue using "Shogun" as your favorite restaurant and looking forward to welcoming you again and again.

Thanks,,
Shereen Omar
PA to EAM i/c of F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although it is a bit overprice, the sushi is amazing and the staff are very friendly! an experience that is definitely worth it. a must try

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HalaSalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShereenO, PA to EAM i/c of F&B at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Hala,

Thank you for sharing your comments about "Shogun" restaurant on TripAdvisor for it is only through our guests' feedback that we can enhance our services and performance.

Your delightful comment about the food has been shared with all Chefs in "Shogun" as a reinforcement to them to continue their efforts and make it the best Japanese restaurant in Cairo.

As for the prices, we always do systematic surveys to compare ourselves with our competitors in the market, and let me assure you, we offer the best prices among other 5 star Hotels.

"Shogun" always prides itself on the highest level of guest satisfaction and we are glad we were able to achieve our goal this time.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to" Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Thanks,
Shereen Omar
PA to EAM i/c of F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We have only gone for sushi, it was really epic, great taste, exclusive menu, friendly and pro service, nice atmosphere but occasionally the neighboring lebanese restaurant presents a belly dance show that transit noise through to Shogun japanese relaxing spiritual atmosphere. Ultimately i would go to again and again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlySotouhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShereenO, PA to EAM i/c of F&B at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Ali,

Thank you for sharing your delightful feedback about "Shogun" on TripAdvisor. It is always truly rewarding when we receive positive comments as such from our honored guests.

Your valuable feedback has been shared with all concerned staff as a reinforcement to them to continue their efforts to make "Shogun" a leader in excellence among all Japanese restaurants.

Your comment about the noise coming from "Fayruz" has been taken into consideration to ensure non-nonoccurrence in the future.

Thank you again for your nice comments and looking forward to welcoming you again and again to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Shereen Omar
PA to EAM i/c of F&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shogun Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Shogun Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing