We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Amazing Dinner”

Shogun Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 4,152 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A cozy Japanese restaurant serving the best of sushi and teppanyaki cuisine. Enjoy true Japanese atmosphere with a fish tank in the center of the restaurant. Enjoy the tasty food at either the sushi bar or one of the Japanese live cooking tables. Pick your favorite dish from our menus that are created by our Japanese chef Komatsu using top-quality fresh ingredients.Available Services: Credit card accepted, parking or valet services, alcohol, wireless Internet
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just got back from having another amazing me at Shogun. This was my second visit in 2 weeks.

When you arrive, you are greeted by a very nice staff. The design of the restaurant is very Japanese inspired but with the right amount of Asian aesthetic. They also have a wonderful aquarium in the center of the restaurant. The restaurant is very peaceful and quite. The manager was very nice and personable. The staff is very kid friendly and accommodating to the taste of the children. Which was great since my nieces were having a meal with me.

The food both time was constantly great. Both times we ordered Miso soup with very fresh tofu. They make a great fried rice with chicken that both my nieces loved. The sushi is very fresh. The shrimp tampura was was also great. The services was also great, first class.

I was very happy to find such an amazing fresh sushi in this big city. I definitely recommend this restaurant and will be coming back next time I am in Cairo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bwashburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShereenO, PA to EAM i/c of F&B at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Bwashburn,

I am reviewing your feedback about your food experience in "Shogun" and please let me thank you for sharing such positive comments on TripAdvisor. I am extremely happy you have covered all the details covering the outlet itself, food, service and staff. This really gives us a clear picture about your experience.

"Shogun" always prides itself on the highest level of guest satisfaction and we are extremely happy we were able to achieve our target and make your experience enjoyable and memorable.

Your rewarding feedback has been shared with all Chefs and Service staff in "Shogun" as well as the Manager as a reinforcement to them to continue their efforts to make it the best Japanese restaurant in town.

Looking forward to welcoming you again and again to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Thanks,

Shereen Omar
PA to EAM i/c of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    58
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing food and place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

really its amazing restaurant i go 2 times last week i enjoy the food and the place was wonderful waters serves is so lovely

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmedapkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShereenO, PA to EAM i/c of F&B at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Ahmed,

Thank you for sharing your delightful experience in "Shogun" restaurant on TripAdvisor. For it is only through our guests' feedback that we can measure our performance and improve our shortfalls if any.

"Shogun" always prides itself on the highest level of guest satisfaction and we are so happy we were able to achieve our target and make your experience enjoyable and memorable.

Your nice feedback had been communicated to all concerned staff in Shogun as a reinforcement to them to make it the best Japanese restaurant in Cairo.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Shereen Omar
PA to EAM i/c of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is the best Japanese restaurant in Egypt. The atmosphere is incredible as well as the hotel itself. The chef and staff are excellent!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OmarTamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShereenO, PA to EAM i/c of F&B at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Omar,

Thank you for sharing your experience in"Shogun" restaurant. Your feedback is extremely valuable and we are always very pleased to receive positive comments as such.

Your nice feedback has been shared with all concerned staff as a reinforcement to them to continue their efforts to make "Shogun" the best Japanese restaurant in town.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Thanks,
Shereen Omar
PA to EAM i/c of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant led by a real Japanese Chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just came back from Shogun and I must say what an amazing experience as always by staff and the best one and only Japanese chef Komatsu San ! Great attentive hospitality , quality food and service if you're a real Japanese food lover like me !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShereenO, PA to EAM i/c of F&B at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Mr. Shawn,

I have reviewed your nice comment about your food experience in Shogun. And I must say that the Management, Kumatsu and all staff concerned are very delighted with such feedback.

"Shogun" always prides itself on the highest level of guest satisfaction and we are truly very glad that we were able to achieve our target and make your visit enjoyable and memorable.

And I hope to welcome you soon again and again to Shogun at InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Thanks,
Shereen Omar
PA to EAM i/c of F&
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The best restaurant in City Stars & Cairo as well, We enjoyed watching the chef (Tamer) cooking the Sea food for us in a life show as the Japanese way.
The food was very delicious & the hospitality was very good, It was very nice time, I hope I can go there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marwa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShereenO, PA to EAM i/c of F&B at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Marwa,

Thank you for sharing your delightful experience in "Shogun" restaurant on TripAdvisor. For it is only through our guests' feedback that we can measure our performance and improve our shortfalls if any.

"Shogun" always prides itself on the highest level of guest satisfaction and we are so happy we were able to achieve our target and make your experience enjoyable and memorable.

Your nice feedback had been communicated to all concerned staff in Shogun specially Chef Tamer as a reinforcement to them to make it the best Japanese restaurant in Cairo.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo Citystars.

Shereen Omar
PA to EAM i/c of F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shogun Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Shogun Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing