We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cosy place to stay”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #89 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was an excellent hotel, located right in the heart of downtown with easy access to food and transportation. The breakfast was great (bread, omelettes, jams, cheese etc), staff were very wiling to help us with directions etc. When we had to leave early one day, they even packed breakfast for us.

The street that the hotel is on is actually above some cafes that operate late into the night, but the window shutters are fairly soundproof so we had no problems with the noise from downstairs. Altogether, a very comfortable stay and great value for money! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug-cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 140 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hotel Royal really was a great place to stay in Cairo. We were welcomed very late at night, and after a long day travelling we were shown to our rooms. We had breakfast everyday, which included bread, juice, eggs, omelettes, jams and butters. We were 3 students studying in Cairo at the time, so spent a lot of time at the Cairo Museum, which was a 10 minute walk away. The rooms are spacious, clean, modernly furnished and all include wireless internet, which was great. My room was on the front of the hotel, which was a little noisy, but I believe this will be common unless you spend over £100 a night somewhere else in the city! My friends room was much quieter, so it might be better to ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you're a light sleeper. We organised a trip to the Pyramids with the hotel, and that ran quite smoothly! We paid $30 to the hotel, but ended up spending quite a bit more when we got to the Pyramids as we were more or less forced to go on a camel ride! I wasn't too happy at the time, but it turned out to be a great trip and the scenery was amazing.

The staff at the hotel were great, and all spoke really good english. They were always on hand to help us whenever we needed it. The cost was extremely competitive, as we booked through hostelworld.com. It turned out to be great value for money. I would fully recommend staying here. It is great value for money, and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel deserves the positive reviews it's received. The staff are very friendly, breakfast was good, the adjacent streets are atmospheric, and the rooms are of a decent size complete with a balcony (rather bizarre bathroom arrangement though, but you'll cope). Ok, so that's the good stuff. Now for the not so good....

The location is very central, and provided you don't get lost, the Egyptian Museum is just ten minutes away. However, it's worth noting that few taxi drivers know where Elwy Street is and when you show them a map in English they're no better off, so always take one of the hotel's map/cards with you, which has combined Arabic and English street names. Trust me on this! Also bear in mind that despite Elwy Street being pedestrianised and a good people-watching spot, it's very noisy and you won't be able to sleep until 1.00am if you're lucky. But the main thing to be wary of is the tours provided by this hotel. Yes, they are cheap and remarkably good value. But at Giza you're not going to receive a 'tour' as such but more a driver who takes you to the Pyramids (via a 'museum', which is essentially a shop that no doubt pays him commission) and then hands you over to a camel owner who tries to rip you off for a tour of the Great Pyramids.

You obviously won't want to miss out on the wonderful experience of riding a camel around such a startling site as the Pyramids, but do not, under any circumstances, accept the first quote given to you, as I can guarantee it will be ridiculous. As much as I loved Egypt there's no denying that many people are unscrupulous and will have no qualms about emptying your wallet. Pay no more than 300 Egyptian Pounds each for a 2-3 hour camel ride tour of the pyramids. They'll try to charge you three times but just walk away; you're being robbed, and you just know that the hotel's driver will receive his cut.

Don't let any of this affect your attitude. It's all quite an experience and this hotel is perfectly fine considering the low prices it offers. Just be mindful of potential con-artists though....

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

a two star hotel about £30 per night.
booked two rooms looks bad outside downtown up two flights of stairs perfect room with ac good decorations balconies available , very good staff perfect would stay there again , the rooms are really modern and well decorated.
Perfect

Room Tip: ask to see them there are 12 personal choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I had stayed in the hotel for 5 nights with my family. Had read the good reviews here and decided to give it a shot. It really is a hostel rather than hotel as not all rooms have TV's. That said however, the people made the stay there memorable and were very accomodating towards our requests.

All in all a good hostel to stay in and location itself is very good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_idid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Generally speaking, there are not many good budget options for Cairo hotels. This happens to be one of them. I stayed there for a week and felt completely welcomed and taken care of by the staff. In addition, the hotel is located at the end of a street filled with cafes where locals sit out and play backgammon, smoke hookah and drink tea late into the night. Wonderful atmosphere. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I am rating and reviewing this place more as a hostel than a hotel. Therefore the four stars. The location is in the heart of Cairo, within a walking distance of the Egyptian museum. Due to our late flight departure and noon check out from previous hotel, we opted to rent a reasonably priced room and do some last minute sightseeing, namely the Museum. The room had free wifi, king size bed, bathroom and a balcony overlooking a busy side street filled with cafes. There were plenty of local shops around as well. Authentic Cairo. However, I would not want to stay overnight in this room as it was too noisy. (We were checking out at 10:pm.)
The service provided by this hotel was excellent, professional and reliable. We booked all our Cairo related trips, airport and hotel transfers with them, even though we were staying in different hotels. The drivers(especially Egyptian Bob:)) and Madlin the hotel staff were fantastic. The transfers were very reasonably priced, as were the other tours we took, and if we did not want to go shopping, no problem. For well priced tours with no hidden costs, I highly recommend their tours.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AwesomeSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
8.6 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#67 of 139 in Cairo
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 139 in Cairo
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 139 in Cairo
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#79 of 139 in Cairo
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#40 of 139 in Cairo
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#33 of 139 in Cairo
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: 10 Elwy Street | downtown Cairo, Cairo 99999, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range: $23 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal offers air-conditioned rooms overlooking exotic palm trees and flowers. The Naguib Metro Station is conveniently located 300 metres away. All of Hotel Royal's rooms are elegantly decorated and are provided with fresh flowers. They have dark wooden floors, a work desk and a private bathroom with a bathtub. Free Wi-Fi is available. Royal's 24-hour reception can provide sightseeing tours and recommend surrounding restaurants. A shuttle service to Cairo International Airport, 18 km away, is also available. Hotel Royal is situated a 5-minute walk from the Egypt Museum and the River Nile. Tahrir Square is 200 metres away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing