We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Egyptian food done brilliantly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gad

Gad
Ranked #147 of 4,096 Restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Fast Food, Middle Eastern, Halal, Mediterranean, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Egyptian food done brilliantly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Best for take-away/street food (there's really nothing special about sitting in), Gad does the very best in hot, greasy, fresh delicious Egyptian classics such as koshary, ta3meya sandwiches, lentil soup and shawerma. There is NOTHING healthy about eating here, but it really is reliably delicious. I recommend a chicken shawerma in Syrian bread. Great for tourists on the run in a hectic trip Downtown; far higher quality alternative if you have the McDonald's urge.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PerditaFall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    36
    26
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“got sick”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

i got sick from it and they put rotten salad and it was the first and last time for me to eat it again

Helpful?
Thank Khalid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great food !!! Low Prices !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife & I were told about this great restaurant by our guide and really enjoyed it !!! They offer a nice variety of different foods and the service was very good. We decided to try the seafood & vegatable pizzas and were pleasantly surprised . The prices were low and fit right into our budget. We would eat here again and plan to tell our friends !!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Floridians33596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Egyptian favorites - Great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Egyptian friends brought us here so that we could sample a variety of Egyptian favorites - it was Fantastic! It's a classic Cairo "cheap, good lunch/dinner" restaurant, filled with locals and no tourists at all - except us. We LOVED the Hot bread, literally right out of the oven, baked on-site (!!), the hummus (!!), the ful, flafel (awesome), and the kebob (!).
the fresh Mango juice (100% mango in a glass) was fantastic.
The rice pudding was the only disappointment - fairly bland, but creamy and still "not bad".
For the price, this place was awesome.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Egyptian food, good, cheap, fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Looking for a quick and super-cheap bite of authentic Egyptian fast food (pita with ful (fava beans) or ta3maya (Egyptian-style falafel), koshari (Egyptian macaroni), etc.)? This is the place. More local-oriented than even Mo'men and cheaper, but still decent fare, especially for the price. It's relatively clean, but you are not super-adventurous as a traveler (have never been east or south of Europe or left the U.S./Canada, I recommend you try Mo'men first.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank habib_db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gad also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Gad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing