We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy French and Arabic Delights for reasonable prices”
Review of El Abd Bakery

El Abd Bakery
Ranked #2 of 22 Dessert in Cairo
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Description: A chain of bakeries in Cairo, google it to see their lonely planet reviews and yellow pages listing.
Restaurant details
Description: A chain of bakeries in Cairo, google it to see their lonely planet reviews and yellow pages listing.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yummy French and Arabic Delights for reasonable prices”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Returned several times after stumbling past this little gem in downtown Cairo. Freshly made mille fueille, baklawa, kunalfa, pastries and cakes that will set any sweet tooth salivating for a fraction of the cost of Patissere Valerie! This place is popular with locals and you will have to be quite assertive to obtain service at busy times but it is worth the wait. It is a takeaway only joint but there are plenty of cafes close by where you can sit on the street side to order a beverage and nibble on your purchases whilst observing locals and enjoying a shisha. Not the most relaxing location- but it is Cairo after all and that's part of the charm.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Why didn't i buy more!!!!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Found this on our last day and got up extra early to visit before we had to get our flight home- my only regret is not buying more delicious cookies and baklava- i should have spent my last LE in here! Always busy- loved by locals- not many tourists but still seek this place out. Just remember you have to pay the cashier first, get a ticket saying what you want, and then collect it. Its a busy shop but don't be put off, just point and ask if you don't know arabic for dounut :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AbyHeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“never let me down”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

excellent for somebody with a sweet tooth. Great variety. Very fresh and tasty sweets for excellent prices.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“one of the best in the Middle East”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have been buying all my sweets for my friends back in Greece from El Abd and everybody loves them. They are dry (an often problem with this kind of pastry sweets in y country is that they make them very syrupy and wet) yet sweet enough. Very well packaged, very clean and the prices seem ok and absolutely delicious.
The little boxes that have different varieties of typical sweets are a must.
I understand that the rhythms of work are hectic since the place is always packed yet there is a lot room for improving the staff manners :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank covaltio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
548 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Addict to it”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

If u want to try the real fresh egyptian desert: alabd is the answer. Try their Basbosa and Biscuts. The other kinds like Conafa i didnt like.
They r one of the best places in cairo for making Basbosa with nuts

Helpful?
1 Thank Sa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Abd Bakery also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to El Abd Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing