We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum, yum!”
Review of El Abd Bakery

El Abd Bakery
Ranked #2 of 22 Dessert in Cairo
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Description: A chain of bakeries in Cairo, google it to see their lonely planet reviews and yellow pages listing.
Restaurant details
Description: A chain of bakeries in Cairo, google it to see their lonely planet reviews and yellow pages listing.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Yum, yum!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Try the traditional Egyptian sweets like Basboussa (semolina cake soaked with sugar syrup), konafa (a bit like shredded wheat, soaked in sugar syrup) and ba'alawya (filo pastry layers with pistachio or other nuts in the middle.
Like I said, yum, yum!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank creativewoman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Most popular bakery in downtown Cairo”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Got a selection of great western creamy cakes as a thank you to staff at Tulip Hotel and we all had a very nice cake and coffee/tea afternoon! The selection is mind boggling and less expensive than some of the more western type bakeries like La Poire, etc. El Abd specializes in both European type cakes, cookies, and Arabic sweets and is by far the most popular among local Egyptians, so everything is fresh daily.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bkkwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the place to buy icecream on friday”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

the variation and different kind of sweets and nuts and off course the icecream

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TinaLandgraaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“sweet toth”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

i ate there almost every night i was in cairo
the desserts are amazingly deliciouse and the ice cream is even better

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanye_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerman, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Yum is right!”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

If you like pastries-especially the kinds with nuts and honey in them-go! I was staying at a hostel nearby and the guy working there walked me over there. The place was packed, you have to elbow through to see what they have. Great selection and prices. The birds nest was delicious. I bought a variety pack that had 5 different pastries in it-all were really good. I dragged the remainder with me to Hurghada they were so good (and because I had bought so many). I wish I had some now!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank serval_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Abd Bakery also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to El Abd Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing