We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“supper tasty !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koshari al-Tahrir

Koshari al-Tahrir
Ranked #54 of 4,119 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Middle Eastern, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“supper tasty !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

it was agood place to eat Egyptian meal Koshari i like it very much . the location is very good and it was near from the hostel where i stayed in cairo

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aldo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    43
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and Safe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Koshari is a great, local meal...but as a foreigner, you must be careful. Al-Tahrir Koshari is clean, safe, inexpensive and delicious. We've been to two locations: downtown near Tahrir Square and on Al Nasr Street in New Maadi. Both are consistently excellent, but the downtown location has a little more local charm.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike&Kathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Super-cheap, authentic national dish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a chain restaurant, but they serve up generous portions of kosheray, Egypt's national dish. Available in three sizes, a small is plenty for most people; a medium would feed two people. We accidentally ordered two mediums; I regretted wasting half of mine, but I was stuffed. The bill for two mediums and water came to 16 LE (about $2). This is a great place for budget travelers to get a reliably tasty meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfort food at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Egypt's national dish. I loooooove koshary and having tried a few different places, I find this one without a shadow of a doubt the very best. A pile of macaroni, spaghetti, rice, chickpeas and fried onions covered in tomato sauce and sprinkled with hot sauce and a dressing of garlic & vinegar may not sound like much, but OMG it is so good! Very indulgent as it is a major carb fest, not to be enjoyed too often for those of us who have to watch their weight... But well worth the extra calories!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spoiltbrat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delcious Egyptian Koshari”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great test that I ate too much as usual, I always either go there or order deliver but I have to eat from them many times. My family as well like too much

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Asedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koshari al-Tahrir also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Koshari al-Tahrir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing