We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great food and great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naguib Mahfouz Cafe

Naguib Mahfouz Cafe
Ranked #28 of 4,118 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Egyptian, Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was there last at the end of April 2012 and since then they were to close for some renovations. Food is fantastic and service is great.. Only thing missing is wara eniab .. which is warm. Inside Khan El Khalili, this is a great place to recharge before more shopping

Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    61
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Giza, Egypt
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authenticity and a different atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Authentic food and drinks.
If it were a tad larger it would be perfect, it's just too crowded, yet I'd recommend it for any one visiting el Hussein, Khan Khalili or Muaz L Deen Ellah street.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EhabSerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Authentic atmosphere ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Food was great, music was very authentic and prices are reasonable ... smoking area should be provided .....

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TarekGad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Favorite cafe in Cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I can not go to the Khan without eating here; it is my favorite cafe in Cairo. Best tamaya (using coriander and sesame) and fuul I have had since living here. The waiters are so friendly and the prices unbeatable. I have only eaten at the cafe but there are two other restaurants in the establishment, with one featuring a more upscale dining menu and atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CSNRWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

it is was very interesting night in this cafe ,, with traditional food and friendly ppl stuff .. i am happy to been there in Cairo old city ... i hope visit it again

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmeladam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naguib Mahfouz Cafe also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Naguib Mahfouz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing