We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kebabgy

Kebabgy
Ranked #63 of 4,143 Restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Barbecue, Middle Eastern, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant situated in Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah hotel. Mostly patronised by locals and VIPs.
Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

The restuarant belongs to Sofitel hotel in Zamalek, on entry you find a lady who bakes the bread in a traditional oven, we were seated next to the nile and we enjoyed the beautiful night view during our meal, we opted for assorted cold mesh which was plentiful, grilled lamb chops together with kofta and kabab, staff were friendly and attentive, food was very tasty and in our 1; days stay in Egypt we ended up going there twice, can't fault the service or the staff and the bread was to die for

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asialoverR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    39
    8
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
502 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Go for the Kofta and Kebabs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Reserve a table outside by the Nile. The bread is freshly baked and exceptional. Musicians playing in the background add to the ambiance. The food and service were excellent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JD28204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
1 review
“i'm very upset”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

i have nothing to say just it's avery good place but wihout help for the guest i don't like to eat agood food by unhelpful staff

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kokibadran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
225 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Fantastic View but food is average and over-priced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Nice view but food is very average. We live in Cairo and have only been here once, and probably not again. For quite a high price you get not-bad food in small portions.

Taboula in Garden City is not as good as it used to be but still beats this place hands down. Only go here if you really want to drink in a beautiful view of the Nile, not for nice Lebanese food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NandyPengarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Egyptian Grills with Excellent View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a group dinner at Kababgy.I had mixed grill.The food is served on a grill;the meat & chicken were very tender,juicy and tasty.The asortment of salads was excellent.We loved the Nile river view very much;really charming.I paid around 80 USD (no liqors included).Sure,I recommend Kababgy for those who like BBQ in a romantic ambiance

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nile-Pharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kebabgy also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Kebabgy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing