We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here if you have a choice!”
Review of Mayorca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayorca Hotel
Ranked #108 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed here at the end of a package tour but I would rather have flown straight home. Situated in an uninteresting part of Cairo the rooms were large but absolutely FREEZING even after the 'heater' had been left on for over 15 hours. Electrical connections were dodgy with sparks flying when you tried to plug anything in (one person's charger was melted). Breakfast fare was distinctly uninspiring and at 9am looked like it had been sitting there some considerable time. The final insult was when we came to leave: having booked a taxi with one member of reception staff the evening before, the member of staff on duty at the time claimed no knowledge of the booking. He said he could get us a taxi to the aiport but quoted 33% more than the tour leader and other staff member had said. We declined his kind offer, went and flagged down a taxi on the street and paid considerably less than half of what the receptionist had been trying to charge. He also wanted us to pay 'the hotel' rather than the taxi driver direct so you can guess where the extra cash was going. I could go on...... My strong advice is to go elsewhere if you have the option.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Smithy266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 37 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mayorca Hotel in late November. The reception staff were helpful enough, I think it helped we had an Egyptian guide to help us check in. The hotel was in a great quiet location away from the beeping horns of the main road, it was just a short walk away from a great shopping area and had restaurants, ATMs and local shops located around the hotel itself. Our room was large, the only downside for us was the twin beds but they were comfy. There was a fridge, TV and aircon though we didn't switch these on. Breakfast was varied, with fuul and boiled eggs, bread, cheeses, croissant and muffins.The Mayorca was organised at the last minute by our tour company, LoveEgyptTours, and we were happy with the room for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amanda_glenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This hotel was selected as part of the package by our tour company, in terms of hotels in Cairo this is not bad, they have security on site, the breakfast is OK, and the rooms, are surprising large, they even have LCD televisions in room. However the toilet shares the same problem in Egypt is that they tends to over flow once in a while. There is a small general store and a pharmacy on the same street for your needs.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FL360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on our babymoon October 2011. It was part of our Eygpt local tour package. This hotel is not situated downtown which suited us as we wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. It is on a fairly busy street with convenience stores, some coffeeshops and a pharmacy. Its also within walking distance to the Nile river.

The hotel is old but has all the essentials - warm water, wifi on the ground floor, a few cable channels and most importantly, warm and friendly staff.

We were told by our tour agent that its probably the best 3 star hotel in Cairo. We have no complaints as we are not fussy travellers. =)

Room Tip: The lift lobbies on the lower floors look newer, but I'm not sure about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJohnWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had a pleasant stay in this hotel. The location was perfect, a bit away from the center of the noisy city of Cairo, but only 5 minutes by taxi from Egyptian Museum and Downtown.
The rooms were spacious and to a reasonable standard, and the hotel staff was helpful and not pushy at all, which is - as we later learned - a rare thing in Egypt.
We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Gecko Adventures Tour groups (a budget tours agency) uses this hotel as its meeting-up and wrapping-up point for their tours. For budget travel, it was a great hotel.

Rooms varied drastically in size and condition, with some seeming to have been refurbished more recently, but all were clean and comfortable. Bathrooms left a lot to be desired (with shower curtains too short to effectively keep the water in the shower or bath tub and too few towels to dry the floor, and hot water that sometimes failed mid-shower). The staff were always friendly and helpful to us. The included breakfast offered numerous options, and the lobby offered ample comfortable seating for our group to meet up. The small on-site restaurant also offered reasonable dinner options (pasta, pizza, etc for around 18-30 Egyptian pounds).

My main complaint/downside of this hotel is that most taxi drivers cannot find it. Even when we took the hotel's business card (which has a small map on the back to show their location! ), drivers still circled in frustration and stopped to ask local residents for help. This is largely because they are located on a small, one-way side street. After a couple days, we learned to ask the driver to drop us off on a nearby corner and walk the remaining part. When walking a group (or even just a friend during the daytime), I generally felt safe, however this is certainly NOT in a tourist area. However, unlike other areas we visited in Egypt, the people in this neighborhood generally just ignored us or stared at us, but did not harass us. I would not say that I felt comfortable or welcomed by them, but we were certainly tolerated. The atmosphere within the hotel was strikingly more welcoming than just outside it. But, if you're looking for somewhere on a budget and with more local flavor than the tourist areas, then this place is truly a gem.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gone2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I jused this hotel as a part of my tour. (You can guess which tour!) There are a few rooms updated but most of the rooms are very dirty and even cannot sit on the toilet. No hot water or even water was not available for the shower in my room. No towel No cups. Shower curtain was full of moulds. Even found dried up someone's underwear in the toilet. No lighting and no curtains. On the last day to the tour, 90% of group relocated to other hotels by themselves.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank Henry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
9.1 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Paradise Boutique Hotel
#42 of 138 in Cairo
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#74 of 138 in Cairo
124 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#79 of 138 in Cairo
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#100 of 138 in Cairo
174 reviews
11.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#72 of 138 in Cairo
75 reviews
5.0 mi away
Royal Marshal Hotel
Royal Marshal Hotel
#114 of 138 in Cairo
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayorca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayorca Hotel

Address: 19, El-Montaser St. | Agouza, Cairo 12654, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range: $28 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayorca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 60. 3 star hotel in the heart of Cairo - Egypt.-Free High speed Wi-Fi. Satellite TV In each room with Spacious choice of International channels. 60 air-conditioned room with power shower in private bathroom, for each room.-Restaurant, bar, coffee are available 24 hours. 24 hour front desk.Cozy & comfortable atmosphere with well trained & friendly Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mayorca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing