We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mayorca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayorca Hotel
Ranked #106 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Kazahstan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We had a pleasant stay in this hotel. The location was perfect, a bit away from the center of the noisy city of Cairo, but only 5 minutes by taxi from Egyptian Museum and Downtown.
The rooms were spacious and to a reasonable standard, and the hotel staff was helpful and not pushy at all, which is - as we later learned - a rare thing in Egypt.
We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    16
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
13
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Gecko Adventures Tour groups (a budget tours agency) uses this hotel as its meeting-up and wrapping-up point for their tours. For budget travel, it was a great hotel.

Rooms varied drastically in size and condition, with some seeming to have been refurbished more recently, but all were clean and comfortable. Bathrooms left a lot to be desired (with shower curtains too short to effectively keep the water in the shower or bath tub and too few towels to dry the floor, and hot water that sometimes failed mid-shower). The staff were always friendly and helpful to us. The included breakfast offered numerous options, and the lobby offered ample comfortable seating for our group to meet up. The small on-site restaurant also offered reasonable dinner options (pasta, pizza, etc for around 18-30 Egyptian pounds).

My main complaint/downside of this hotel is that most taxi drivers cannot find it. Even when we took the hotel's business card (which has a small map on the back to show their location! ), drivers still circled in frustration and stopped to ask local residents for help. This is largely because they are located on a small, one-way side street. After a couple days, we learned to ask the driver to drop us off on a nearby corner and walk the remaining part. When walking a group (or even just a friend during the daytime), I generally felt safe, however this is certainly NOT in a tourist area. However, unlike other areas we visited in Egypt, the people in this neighborhood generally just ignored us or stared at us, but did not harass us. I would not say that I felt comfortable or welcomed by them, but we were certainly tolerated. The atmosphere within the hotel was strikingly more welcoming than just outside it. But, if you're looking for somewhere on a budget and with more local flavor than the tourist areas, then this place is truly a gem.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gone2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

I jused this hotel as a part of my tour. (You can guess which tour!) There are a few rooms updated but most of the rooms are very dirty and even cannot sit on the toilet. No hot water or even water was not available for the shower in my room. No towel No cups. Shower curtain was full of moulds. Even found dried up someone's underwear in the toilet. No lighting and no curtains. On the last day to the tour, 90% of group relocated to other hotels by themselves.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank Henry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

I stayed here twice as part of a group tour. The first time I was in a huge room that hadn't been renovated in ages and just felt dirty from too many travellers for too long. Based only on that, this would be a 2 - random location, not too clean, but excellent breakfast, free WIFI and very helpful staff.

On my return, I was initially put in a room that was smaller and recently renovated so it felt cleaner but the TV was taped together and didn't work at all. I was moved to a more comfortable room where everything worked and it was a much better experience. However, I agree with reviewers that mention noise - the doors don't fit well and guests have to bang them to get them to close. Since flights are random in Cairo, the banging can occur all night. There can be street noise at the front of the hotel too.

This place is in a random neighborhood, which actually can be a plus or minus. I was able to walk around at dusk by myself with my camera and talk to and photograph the locals in a way that wasn't possible anywhere else I went with my tour group.

I don't recommend this for anyone that is picky about cleanliness and location, but for value and a short stay, it can be OK.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyeterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
170 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

This was a decent hotel. Stayed here twice (in two different rooms). The one on the 7th floor had very little hot water pressure. But the 3rd floor room was an excellent shower.

Room was very clean.

Big issue with hotel I think is the elevator. There was some sort of door slamming ALL NIGHT. I'm quite a sound sleeper, but apparently not through this noise. I suspect it was the elevator door, but am really not sure. They need to do something about it. Otherwise everything here was good.

There is a cheap internet near hotel & some yummy falafels just down the street.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdnclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed here 4 nights on 3 separate occasions. Each night was a different experience. This first room was so large it was silly. It even had an entrance way, huge bathroom and a bedroom you could have fit too more beds. The room, however, smelled heavily of smoke.

The second room was the smallest and definitely the worst. It had a combo shower/toilet and was so tiny it was silly. The TV was broken and the AC made terrible noises. It at least smelled free of smoke.

The third room was just right (sounds like goldie locks and the 3 bears). It had a small entry way, normal bathroom and normal size room. It did not smell like smoke.

I would ask to see the room before accepting it since there is such a huge varience in rooms.

The hotel is on a busy street, but the air conditioners are loud enough to drown most of the noise out, but I'd suggest ear plugs.

It's a safe hotel and the staff aims to please, but the location definitely looks like a sketchy street and there isn't much to do around the area.

We felt it to be a great deal because if you go online and find their online website (you have to really dig to find it...it can be spelled Mayorca or Mayorka) you can reserve a room through them for $30-40 USD which includes a free transfer from the airport. It was a great site to come off the airplane and see someone waiting there with our name on a sign to pick us up. Since it can cost $15-$25 (depening on your haggle skills) just to get from the airport to the hotel it's one of the best deals in town.

The breakfast which is included isn't anything fancy, but it's a fairly large assortment of breads, cheeses, meals, beans, falafal and hard boiled eggs. So for no more than $40 you get the airport transfer, breakfast, free lobby internet (just ask the front desk for the log in code) and a room in a safe hotel. Not too shabby. Just don't expect the Ritz. It is what it is...a place to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevileyeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

Really awful hotel. Ugly, dirty and very very expensive, room soleless, no towels not even a glass in the bathroom.. Taxi driver and hotel staff had a commission deal going on.Bumped the price up to a ridiculous amount. Left without staying the night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank LondonSue45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
9.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#41 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
5.9 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#53 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tolip EL Narges
Tolip EL Narges
#47 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#64 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
9.3 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#40 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
10.8 mi away
King Hotel
King Hotel
#85 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayorca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayorca Hotel

Property: Mayorca Hotel
Address: 19, El-Montaser St. | Agouza, Cairo 12654, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayorca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 60. 3 star hotel in the heart of Cairo - Egypt.-Free High speed Wi-Fi. Satellite TV In each room with Spacious choice of International channels. 60 air-conditioned room with power shower in private bathroom, for each room.-Restaurant, bar, coffee are available 24 hours. 24 hour front desk.Cozy & comfortable atmosphere with well trained & friendly Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayorca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing