We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Safe, quiet and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Belle Epoque
Ranked #43 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Safe, quiet and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have just stayed at belle époque for 4 days in May. This is a boutique hotel situated in Maadi near local police station and some embassies. It was an oasis away from the business of the city yet close enough to walk to local shops and some lovely restaurants. Lovely pool area and rooms are very comfortable and well furnished. Great for couple, single or family. Restaurant on the premises and you can walk to train station.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bronwyn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
17
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed at this very friendly boutique hotel for a total of 4 nights in April 2012. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food was good and the grounds of the hotel, (which is located in a quiet, leafy suburb in Maadi, Cairo), were kept in beautiful condition. It is somewhat off the "beaten track" and so may not suit those seeking a central location - however I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed at the Villa Belle Epoque for a week during February 2012. The hotel is situated in a quiet street in Maadi. The rooms were very spacious, the staff were very friendly , had troubles with the Wi-fi, the hotel manager was very helpful to sort out the issue. Food at the restaurant is really good, the only downside is the service is slow during dinner time. The is about 45 minute drive from the airport and 30 minutes to downtown Cairo (can also take up to 2 hours on a busy day)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krishna_Venkatesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Had a lovely meal in this very atmospheric Colonial type hotel in Cairo

Both food and service were excellent. We were in transit between flights and therefore cannot comment on the accommodation but found the restaurant a very good place to eat.

Would have no hesitation in recommending this place to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeandcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed at the Belle Epoque this February for a week. I mostly agree with other reviewers here, but want to add a few comments. First, on the location. Its on a quiet street in Maadi, a Cairo suburb, about 45 minutes from downtown depending on traffic. Its an easy metro ride that may be faster (and is definitely cheaper) then a taxi. The good part is that Road 9 (just a few blocks away from the hotel on Road 13) in Maadi has a number of shops and restaurants, including a couple coffee joints, ice cream, cupcakes, bagels, a good sushi restaurant, La Gourmandise (a French style bakery/cafe with great baguette sandwiches). I only ate breakfast at the hotel, and ate out the rest of the time. There's also a great Chinese place in Maadi called China Winds, and a good Indian restaurant called Bukara, near the river (across the street from TGIF)

Sure, the neighborhood is dusty, and a little run down, but, this is Cairo.

The hotel is in two villas that are well decorated and very comfortable. Free wifi, comfortable beds. The place is somewhat deserted now, so one would expect better more individualized service, but it appears the hotel must have let some staff go, as there was hardly anyone around. 3 different days this week, I went into the lobby, sat in the restaurant, helped myself to the breakfast buffet (which is marginal given the price of the hotel, though understandably as the place was almost empty), sat and ate, then left without seeing a soul (including staff). I have stayed at other hotels since the revolution that have much better prices and have managed to maintain service standards.

I may stay here again as I really enjoyed the neighborhood and have business nearby. I wouldn't recommend it for those who plan to do sightseeing downtown, as its a bit of a hike, and there are better options elsewhere. The area is a bit removed from the political issues ongoing near Tahrir square and government buildings downtown and Maadi is one of the safer parts of town with lots of foreign officials living nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilslangerhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, Herts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The reality of the Belle Époque in Maadi is far removed from that promised. The following are just a few of our issues :-

No friendly welcome, surely receptionist, dirty net curtains, expensive poor quality food (not the luxury cuisine promised in the Sunday Times review when it opened). Very limited hot breakfast consisting of tepid eggs and beans heated by a single candle and a poor selection of other items. No tea of coffee facilities in the room.
Peace and tranquillity is promised, but the five thirty wake-up from the very nearby muezzin makes a mockery of this.
Tranquillity away from the hustle and bustle is one thing, isolation is altogether another matter. The Villa suffers from being in the middle of nowhere. No nearby restaurants or shops, with the railway line between the hotel and Corniche making walking to anywhere impossible
The property may have been fine when it was first opened and under the supervision of its owners for its review by the Sunday Times, but apparently the ownership and management has changed hands.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joyful12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This hotel has a great look it a run down area. When I went it was cold for Cairo so couldn't make use of gardens for eating etc. my room was large wi a TV and large shower and bath room. No tea coffee facilities in room. I obviously went at a quiet time and trying to find staff was very hard. The company that booked me in there rang the hotel on many occasions with no reply. Wifi is free but very intermittent. Breakfast was not good. The local shopping area in Maadi has 2 coffee houses which are okay but the town is run down and I watched children begging and fighting on the streets, and numerous wild cats roaming.
I ate there every evening, (on my own as no other guests) and must say the food was great. Probably best food I have had in a while at a hotel and reasonably priced too. Would like to try staying there in nice weather and better political climate, when I am sure my review would be so much more positive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourth_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.0 mi away
Talisman Hotel de Charme
0.0 mi away
The Gabriel Hotel
The Gabriel Hotel
#40 of 141 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi
Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi
#32 of 141 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Riad Hotel de charme
Le Riad Hotel de charme
#37 of 141 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Maxim Palace Kempinski
0.0 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Belle Epoque

Property: Villa Belle Epoque
Address: Road 13, Villa 63 | Maadi, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Belle Epoque 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Maadi, Villa Belle Époque allows visitors to relive the comfort and elegance of a bygone era while enjoying every modern amenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belle Epoque Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing