We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“doms review of Egyptian night hotel Cairo - Avril, deux mille douze.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Egyptian Night Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Egyptian Night Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Cairo B&B and Inns
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“doms review of Egyptian night hotel Cairo - Avril, deux mille douze.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Egyptian night hotel is a pansion type experience (but urban) - in someone's home - a b&b if you like? but i didn't think those existed like this anymore - because the last time i went travelling (around turkey) was 1981, (i hitch-hiked from london with a girlfriend and we stayed in 'pensions').
it is an 'old-school' experience - not a commercial experience which most tourists expect. So, this hotel is more for travellers, voyagers, who want something real, rather than macdonald's and luis vuitton - which you can find anywhere !
I am an architect, so it was perfect for me, bang opposite the museum. Clean, friendly but above all, the highly intelligent and kind staff, suss you out p.d.q., and take very, very good care of you, for your own safety. in that respect the service is 6 star. the building is what it says - 2 star. It is not, shall we say, in the modern style? It has rather crumbling splendour, an animated neo-baroque facade (typical of older european cities), and i detected distinctly french detailing - inward opening balcony windows with flush espagnolette bolts, etc. (don't look too long at the other floors: ground to fourth on the way up in the lift, shut your eyes even), but once inside the fifth floor, is like a 19th century Parisian salon.
My twin room was clean, bed comfortable, with a clean shower/wc and good hot water. + tv - c'est tout. je n'ai pas eu besoin d'aucune autre chose ! i think there are sharing dorm rooms for the shoe-string archaeology student traveller - perfect for that.
Take their trips to the antiquites but beware, giza is massive and your derrière needs to be ready for a long hard day in a saddle (+ extra cost for the animal). i preferred saqqara which is the beginning of civilization as we know it. better than stonehenge, rome and athens put all together !
The breakfast - i dunno? (i smoked my own !).
Enjoy the river first and chill out - cities with big rivers make people happier i think.
The hilton across the road i liked best for a g & t (nicer than intercon or marriot).
Shukrans, plus en plus, M. Mustafa et vos colleagues - i'm coming back next month, inshala!

Room Tip: The fifth floor has very good views and the hububb of the humming city below
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank domrania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    30
    10
    6
    10
See reviews for
5
24
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Egyptian Night Hotel was much more than what I expected. To begin with, the hotel staff will treat you like you're a family member. Mustafa, the owner, went beyond his duties to serve us. He will guide you to right things and make sure your stay as well as attractions are satisfied. The breakfast is very delicious with is included in your booking. Free wifi was a huge plus, as I remember other hotels in cairo will charge you arm and leg. The rooms were clean and neat with wonderful balcony view of the egyptian museum. Location is great since everything is close by, including the local train. We even booked the nile cruise from Mustafa. At first I was hesitant to go to nile cruise, but soooo glad we went there. All the guides and drivers will make you feel comfortable at different points in your cruise journey. Overall the stay here was excellent and you will feel like you slept at your cousin's house.

Faiz

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faiz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

I was looking around for budget accommodation in Down town while i was in Cairo for a 2 days and saw this place here on tripadvisor.com After i saw photos and great reviews by the people here i book first booking and in fact i came back again once i got back from Alexandria to Cairo again :)

I was surprised when i got there on the first day as the place was exactly what i see on the photos posted. Rooms,beds and toilets were clean and spacious with huge windows and high ceilings. Free high speed internet and breakfast is awesome and so healthy, and you will not get bored of it, because they almost change the breakfast items every day, they do egg ( boiled or omelet ), cheese, Butter, Jam, with 3 rolls, 2 pieces of great Egyptian bread, half pie, 2 kind of vegetables and fruits, they also do Egyptian breakfast once per week and never forget the great coffee was always made for me by the great Radwa .

I really also like the space they have 3 common areas where travelers can meet and chat with one another to exchange experiences. The guys who work there, they were extremely friendly and helpful. Makes your stay there definitely feels like home. Despite the noisy street honking (cant blame the hostel for this) as the hostel is situated right in downtown Cairo, it is centrally located, just a few minutes away from the metro station in front of the Egyptian museum and lots of places for you to shop and eat around the area.

This place is highly recommended if you are looking for a reasonable priced place to stay in downtown Cairo. Comfortable with awesome host,Thank you so much Will stay again when i come back to Cairo! - Fatima, USA

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatima b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

i spend 3 nights in egyption nights i came so early and they let me check in at 6am !!!
and they made for me breakfast right away and welcome drink, my room very clean and with balcony has a great view to the egyption museum ,
thanks for everybody

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xingchaun l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

the staff is v friendly and helpful, my room is clean, neat and cosy, makes me feel like im at home and good view of the Egyptian Museum, AC is working well. There is a TV in the room, but its not really that important for me. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to have a comfortable and budget stay at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefani m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selcuk, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Had a great two night stay at the Egyptian Night Hotel upon arrival in Cairo that I booked another night for my final evening in Egypt two weeks later =).

In particular one of the new owners, Mustafa, was a great host. I arrived very early in the morning after taking the night bus from Aqaba with two other backpackers. Mustafa had his staff quickly prepare a quick breakfast for us while we checked in. Mustafa was also able to provide an abundance of information related to both the local and country-wide tourist sites, including local Cairo, Luxor, Aswan, and the desert, not to mention the best methods of transportation utilizing the metro, bus, and trains.

As for the hotel facilities, I enjoyed the free wifi, the very hot shower, and the views across the street to the Egyptian Musuem. The location is great, very near Tahir Square and the Sadat metro station. The breakfast each morning was an added bonus. The rooms were spotless and since Mustafa and his partner Mohamed juts purchased the hotel, they have cleaned and painted everything! The new place looks fantastic and is a great value in downtown Cairo.

I have been traveling the world for approximately 4 years now and the hospitality provided during both of my stays by both Mustafa and and his staff was superb. I highly recommend a stay here and will be visiting on my next trip to Cairo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robsudac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

a had very good time & warm hospitality at egyptian night hotel .its very clean and has very nice view overlooking that old egyptian museum within the mummies .the the mas; of the yuongest egyptian pharaoh tut ankh amun....the stuff helped spend good time at pyramids area even riding camel they are very hlepful stuff,,,really these ten days a spent in egypt there were wonderful............anybody come to egypt have to go on felucca at aswan city and luxor go to that wonderful beach city dahab to relax its very cheap and sunny a like too much .awesome thanks ........

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hani294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.1 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.7 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Novotel Cairo El Borg
#28 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egyptian Night Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egyptian Night Hotel

Property: Egyptian Night Hotel
Address: 13 Merit Pasha St. | Tahrir Sq., Cairo 11511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Egyptian Night Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Egyptian Night Hotel is located across the street from the Egyptian Museum in the famous area of Downtown, Cairo , the area that was built in the 60'S of the 19th century by one of the most remarkable Kins of Egypt (Khedive Ismail) as he intended to build it to be architecturally similar to the famous Cities in Europe back then and he did it. Here we have all of our rooms Air conditioned with inside bathrooms, 24 hot water, Mini bar, Flat screen TV, Safe & our service contains multi lingual staff speaking (English, Spanish, French, Portugese & Chinese) who will be glad to help you 24 hours. We have also Free airport pick up if you are staying more thank 3 nights and our travel desk are glad to help you set your tours, transportation, restaurant reservations and ready with recommendations based on our experience and guests feed backs. Egyptian night hotel. Where expectations meet reality. Note : all rooms includes breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Egyptian Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing