We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"On the Go" is on the nose - don't be conned by advertised "sailing" tours of Croatia”
Review of On The Go Tours

On The Go Tours
Ranked #47 of 289 Tours in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From grand palaces to historic temples, hot desert plains to snowy mountain peaks, cosmopolitan high rise to safaris at sunrise; we bring you the finest sights and adventures the world has to offer. Immerse yourself in a truly authentic local experience on one of our popular guided group tours which are a great choice for single travellers too, make a date with some of the world's most colourful festivals, take an unforgettable family adventure, tailor make that dream holiday or delve into the pulse of the world's most exciting cities on our wide range of day trips.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Wow - where to begin!?

We booked months ago, thinking we were signing up for a 'above deck' cabin on an 8 day sailing tour of Croatia.

When we arrived at the nominated time, the group was told the boat was not leaving as scheduled. Because of 'weather' conditions, we had to wait another three hours before going to the boat, which was not in Split, but 40 minutes away in Trogir. After being taken for a 'gratis' lunch, which left much to be desired, we were then informed that the boat would not leave until the following morning - cutting one day from our itinerary.

Once we finally got on board, we had another surprise - we were not above deck, but below deck in the room closest to the engine room. My husband was not impressed so we went to speak to the girl from Katerina Lines, who said it "was not her problem" and that we had to go back to the tour company. At the time, it was 1am in Australia on Sunday morning - great start!

We decided to follow up separately and accepted the room, not wanting to let this ruin our holiday. The "On the Go" booking was placed through FlightCentre who failed to communicate to us that we had in fact booked and paid for a below deck cabin.

The cabin was below standard, the toilet seat was broken and the porthole leaked - though we were told it was our fault for not closing it properly - another long story!! Though in the end we realised we were very lucky as most of the people in above deck and on deck cabins complained of disgusting smells coming from their bathrooms.

The tour was promoted as sailing and with lots of opportunities for swimming and other water sports activities. There were no sails on our boat and we stopped once for swimming, the captain telling us that we didn't have time for these activities.

Everyone had different itineraries and none were followed...

My biggest disappointment was the short amount of time we had in Dubrovnik - we were supposed to be there for 24 hours but we ended up coming in the afternoon and leaving at 8am the following morning. There was not time to go to the museums and the boat was moored some distance from the old city and we had to catch buses to get there, taking more time. There was no communication in the tour information stating that this would happen.

The food was bordering on awful, breakfasts were ok, but lunch time soups and pastas were often cold and flavourless. There was a lot of pork, which I don't eat and not much in the way of fresh veggies, which left me eating dry bread most days for lunch.

Something else we were not informed of until we got on the boat, was that we had to pay for drinking water, about double the going price of water on land. I actually think this is immoral, not to provide drinking water as part of the tour. We were also instructed that we had to buy the water on board because we were not allowed to bring any drinks or food on board.

The positives? We met some wonderful people, some who I think will be lasting friendships. The places we visited were stunning - more beautiful than I imagined - especially the incredible mountains jutting up out of the sea. The Adriatic sea is beautiful and clean, making swimming very enjoyable. I also have to give Ivan, the barman a big thank you, as he was excellent with the guests, and we had some great conversations with him.

My biggest gripe is the fact that we signed up for one thing and got something completely different. The layers of bureaucracy result in no one taking responsibility for customer concerns - flightcentre, OTG, Katerina Lines and the owner of the ship (the captain's family) all passed the buck on guests concerns - "not my problem" was the standard response.

I would visit Croatia again in a heartbeat, but not to do a tour like this - customer beware.

12  Thank geokult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay L, Guest Relations Manager at On The Go Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Ms Benson

We are sorry to learn that there were parts of your trip to Croatia that did not live up to expectation and are thankful to you for the opportunity to address these in a Public Forum. Customer feedback is integral for our quality control and for a better understanding of the changing expectations of our travellers. Please trust that at On The Go Tours we all work very hard to ensure we deliver the best possible service for our passengers.

I understand that any disappointing holiday experience can leave a person frustrated and wanting answers, something many users of public forums will agree on. I can see that you did indeed book several months ago, in April in fact. This season in Croatia has been very busy and as advised at the time of booking we had sold out of on-deck cabins. We confirmed this information in writing at the time of your booking with your Travel Agent. However if your Travel Agent did not pass this information onto you then we recommend you speak to them on this matter. The receipt and tour voucher that we provided to your Agent was for a below deck cabin.

It was very unfortunate to be caught out by poor weather conditions which as you note affected much of the cruise. The team in Croatia did all they could to accommodate travellers in the best way possible given the conditions. Your ship was due to arrive into Split from Zadar and due to severe weather conditions in northern Dalmatia the boat was delayed (scheduled arrival time was 09:00). All passengers were informed of the boats delay which was held in dock, waiting for the bad weather to subside. All travelers were instructed to leave their luggage at the luggage storage at Split Harbor at our expense and to meet the representative again at 13:00. At 13:00 all travelers were escorted to Konoba Varos Restaurant (http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g295370-d1474535-Reviews-Konoba_Varos-Split_Split_Dalmatia_County_Dalmatia.html) and were offered a complimentary lunch.

Later travellers were transferred to Trogir to meet up with their ship and a welcome drink was offered upon arrival. Trogir (a city under UNESCO protection) is a Croatian gem and we had hoped that all passengers would have welcomed what we believe to be a bonus to the customers who's trip was spoilt by bad weather.

We are sorry to learn that your cabin required some maintenance. Had the captain been informed about the toilet seat the crew could have fixed it straight away. We are glad that once you had informed them about the port hole leaking this was closed properly by the crew and the problem fixed. The captain said no one had informed him about any kind of smell in the cabins or the bathroom and we have checked the questionnaires from that week and did not find any comments about this. This is most unfortunate as we are only able to address such issues if they are reported and so we are thankful to you for this feedback.

The cruises are promoted with lots of opportunities for swimming and other water sports activities, though unfortunately some activities were not possible due to the bad weather conditions. Two out of seven days it rained and on the other five days due to strong winds the group were only able to do just three swim stops. Passenger safety is more important to us than a swim stop, if the captain decides not to stop for swimming it is because of the safety of our passengers and we have to respect his decision.

We are sorry that you were disappointed about the time allocated in Dubrovnik. The port that you mention in the old town is used only by selected vessels and all commercial cruising vessels (including ours) are not allowed to dock there. It is a small port and contrary to belief only a small select number of permitted ships dock there. Therefore all cruise companies use this dock at the Gruz harbor not just ours. Usually our ships are docked in Dubrovnik from Monday afternoon until Tuesday lunch time. As Korcula was the next scheduled stop after Dubrovnik the ship was obliged to leave Dubrovnik earlier to get to Korcula in good time. In good weather conditions this route takes 6 hours, however in the poor conditions it would take much longer. If the captain had stayed in Dubrovnik until noon the ship would have only arrived in Korcula very late in the evening and inevitably you would not have the opportunity to see Korcula. I am sorry that the weather has again spoilt your time in Croatia, all efforts and decisions are made with the groups best interest in mind and we do believe we got this one right.

We are surprised that the meals offered were of a poor standard and that you had expected the bottled drinking water to be free. To avoid any future doubt we have now made a note in our trip notes that water is not free or charge.

I am glad that despite some of the problems encountered you were able to draw some positives from the cruise including the wonderful people you met and the places you visited. I agree from my own experiences that these islands were stunning and also more beautiful than I imagined. Thank you also for your good feedback on Ivan the barman on your cruise, I have passed this on to his captain.

Thank you again for your feedback, some positive changes have been made as a direct result of your communication. We look forward to one day welcoming you back to On The Go Tours.

With regards

John Taylor
Service & Operations Officer
On the Go Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"king ramses"
in 24 reviews
"red sea"
in 19 reviews
"tour group"
in 17 reviews
"abu simbel"
in 33 reviews
"promised land"
in 5 reviews
"wadi rum"
in 9 reviews
"london office"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 15 reviews
"hot air ballooning"
in 7 reviews
"optional extras"
in 4 reviews
"mo mo"
in 2 reviews
"extra blankets"
in 2 reviews
"personal highlights"
in 2 reviews
"lost city"
in 2 reviews
"exploring temples"
in 2 reviews
"great group of people"
in 2 reviews
"final hotel"
in 2 reviews

158 - 162 of 202 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

I signed up for an 8 day boat cruise to the islands in Croatia with On The Go Tours - Croatia islands and was quite disappointed with this tour company. They provided no information regarding the name of the boat and where I would find it in the port. When I asked how I was supposed to find the boat I was simply told it would be in the port in the harbour. There are many many boats in the harbour in Split that go on similar excursions and without a specific name it would be impossible to find. I ended up having to ask several people around the port and no one had heard of On the Go tours. I luckily just happened to ask a person from the Katerina line and she was able to tell me the name of the boat as it was on the Katerina line and its exact location. Also, I read on the website that the cabins in the boat could not accomodate suitcases and was advised to bring a "rucksack". This was totally unnecessary. There was plenty of room for suitcases in the cabins. Interestingly, everyone on the boat had different itineraries. Finally, the people on the boat were great company, however we were all disappointed at how slow the boat moved,( we were told they needed to conserve fuel) and consequently we got to the islands very late in the day and had very little time to spend on any of them except Vis island.

4  Thank TorontoSpikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay L, Guest Relations Manager at On The Go Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013


Thanks for your comments about your trip to Croatia with us and we are sorry to hear that your trip with us was not up to expectations.

We’re genuinely surprised to hear the that you had trouble locating our boat upon arrival to Split Harbour. The arrival instructions for commencing this trip, as noted on your voucher are as follows:

Arrival: Split Harbour- board the cruise here. Main Ferry harbour - also where the bus & train terminals are. Split CROATIA

Please note: On arrival into Croatia please make your way to the arrival point which is the harbour in which the cruise departs. For Split and Opatija, embark between 10.30am and 12.30pm, the ship departs at 1.00pm. For Dubrovnik, embark from 1pm. The ship departs the following morning, but by arriving earlier you can secure your cabin and stow your bag, before exploring. For detailed information relating to your holiday, please read your tour specific Go Guide available at: www.onthegotours.com/Croatia/Tours. This tour is operated in conjunction with Katarina Line Cruise

In addition, Our tour Go Guide which you would have received carries the following information:

Hello Croatia and welcome aboard! Your boat will have its name written on the side and a sign for “Katarina Line” who we work in conjunction with. An On The Go Tours/Katarina Line representative will be there to meet you and help you with the check in procedure. Don’t miss the boat, board between 10.30 - 12.30pm. Cruise departs from SPLIT HARBOUR ON SATURDAY AT 13:00. If you are late or have any problems, please contact the head office 00385 51603400.

We've taken a lot of travellers to Croatia over the years on this sailing holiday and to date this is the first bit of feedback we have received regarding a traveller not being able to find their vessel upon arrival. Understandably the port can be very crowded in the height of the summer, though all of our boats have a sizable Katarina Line flag flying from the stern and ample staff stationed at the port wearing blue easily identifiable ‘Katarina Line’ logo shirts.

Following your feedback we feel it may be helpful is for us to add the name of the street where the harbour, bus and train terminal are located. Our tour vouchers and Go Guide will be updated with this information shortly.

In reference to your comments regarding the need to bring a rucksack, we do believe that carrying your luggage in a holdall or rucksack is best. Cabins are compact, in comparison to the size of an average hotel room and if travellers choose to bring large suitcases, once opened there would be little room to move about the cabin. Further it’s much easier to move holdalls and rucksacks along the gangway, up and down stairs and along the corridors of the boat as opposed to a cumbersome suitcase.

The itinerary as outlined in our tour Go Guide is correct. We arrive at our evening port of call close to sunset on most days. Many travellers are happy to spend their day out on the open water sailing, relaxing and enjoying an impromptu swim stop at one of the many sheltered coves before arriving to port late afternoon where they can enjoy an hour’s sightseeing before heading out for dinner in the evening.

We are pleased that you meet some great people onboard. We thank you for your feedback as we have now added a little extra info to our arrival instructions that may help others. We look forward to welcoming you back on another On The Go Tour.

All the best

On The Go Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have taken many trips with OTG Tours. Private tours to Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Morocco, Jordan, Turkey and Egypt. Tips varied in length from 3 to 7 weeks. As these were private tours I had direct contact with a tailor made tour agent by the name of Ryan Newson. I understand that he has moved on from the company but my dealings with OTG have been positive since his departure. Communication skills are excellent and you will get exactly what is described in your tour documentation (which is quite extensive). All of the transportation, guides and accommodations associated with the OTG portions of my travels has been second to none. Tough to ask more from a tour company.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were met at the airport by Sharif who was a great bloke, helped us get quickly through the airport, through the crowds and on to the hotel - a lot easier than I thought it would be. The traffic in Cairo was a real eye-opener! First two nights were spent at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel in Cairo which had a fantastic pool area, helpful and friendly staff, and really nice restaurant; our room was quite ok, clean but bathroom was a little shabby but this didn't really matter as we were out having amazing experiences most of the day and only back there to sleep, after all. The other hotels we stayed in (at Luxor and back in Cairo on last two nights) were very, very nice! Our guide, Yasser, was great - very friendly and told us all about each place we visited - very knowledgeable and interesting, took us to some great little local eateries, shared some very funny stories with us. Visited Cairo Museum, Pyramids, sphinx, Saqqara. The Nile cruise was amazing, only 22 guests on a boat that can carry about 120 guests, and there were very few people at most of the attractions so no long cues. Yasser would get our tickets for us then hand them out so it was all very stress-free. The Boat crew were all very nice, smiling and helpful. Luxor was wonderful, as was temple of Hatshepsut. At Luxor, we were invited to the hotel owner's son's wedding - very extravagant. Wonderful hospitality. Karnak was a real highlight. Did the hot air balloon ride over Valley of the Kings. Aswan was great, the High Dam was really something to see. Several stops along the Nile to see various temples, felluca sailing with a singing, dancing crew, a convoy to Abu Simbel which was totally awesome and an amazing bit of engineering to move the whole thing up to higher ground! Back to Cairo for two nights, we went to an amazingly beautiful mosque, Old Cairo, christian and Jewish sites, etc. Our guide gave us some invaluable tips to deal with the touts and the madness of the souks. Shopping was very inexpensive, but be prepared to haggle a lot! The people were generally very welcoming and friendly toward us. Everything was taken care of, even our tips at hotels, restaurants etc. Can not complain about On the Go Tours - the trip was well organised, the guides and Cairo representative were lovely, helpful people, only a few minor (and sometimes funny) hiccups but nothing that couldn't be fixed or changed to our satisfaction, overall we would recommend this trip. Didn't feel unsafe at any time, we had a ball and are planning our next trip back to Egypt.

3  Thank CarolP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We did Egypt with On the Go Tours over Christmas as a family of 6 (all grown up children) and had a fantastic time.
Our tour guide Tito couldn't do enough to make sure we were all happy and we never felt unsafe.
All of the hotels that we stayed in were nice enough. Our highlight was our time on the Nile Cruiser (we upgraded from the Feluccas) it was a luxury Movenpick boat with a pool, incredible service, excellent food and fun had all round. It was a quiet tour so we had the whole run of the boat between about 30 of us.
Excellent variety of attractions and when we decided we wanted to fly to Abu Simbal father than go on the epic coach journey, the On the Go reps made sure that we were all sorted with transfers and everything. Jaw droppingly there was a hiccup with our final transfer to Hurghada where we were heading for a few days relaxation after the tour, so they got one of the blokes to get in his van and drive us himself - we are talking a good 2/3 hour drive!
Can't recommend it enough, we wish we had stayed on to Jordan.

Thank Olivia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Go Tours also viewed


Been to On The Go Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing