We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Go Tours”
Review of On The Go Tours

On The Go Tours
Ranked #43 of 293 Tours in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From grand palaces to historic temples, hot desert plains to snowy mountain peaks, cosmopolitan high rise to safaris at sunrise; we bring you the finest sights and adventures the world has to offer. Immerse yourself in a truly authentic local experience on one of our popular guided group tours which are a great choice for single travellers too, make a date with some of the world's most colourful festivals, take an unforgettable family adventure, tailor make that dream holiday or delve into the pulse of the world's most exciting cities on our wide range of day trips.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is the second time we have done a trip with On the Go Tours and I would definitely recommend them. We tailored our tour starting in Thailand and heading onto Vietnam and then Cambodia.

The company representatives are incredibly knowledgeable and each guide we had in the different cities is an expert in their own right.

We will be definitely be using On the Go Tours again in the future! Thanks for a brilliant trip!

10  Thank PJ77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"king ramses"
in 29 reviews
"tour group"
in 19 reviews
"abu simbel"
in 38 reviews
"promised land"
in 5 reviews
"optional extras"
in 5 reviews
"london office"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful country"
in 16 reviews
"wadi rum"
in 9 reviews
"hot air ballooning"
in 7 reviews
"mo mo"
in 3 reviews
"train trip"
in 4 reviews
"main tour guide"
in 5 reviews
"his passion"
in 12 reviews
"nile cruise"
in 20 reviews
"sleeper train"
in 11 reviews
"day tour"
in 22 reviews
"balloon ride"
in 6 reviews
Filter

184 - 188 of 213 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

My sister and I (both in our 20's) went on On the Go's Camels Souks and Kasbah's tour and had an amazing time. Our Moroccan guide was one of the best I've ever had. He took great care of us and all of the other travelers. We had informative local guides in each city but also got to explore some quieter parts of the country as well. Some of the hotels weren't as nice as others, but overall it was a great trip and a great opportunity to explore a part of the world so different from my home.

16  Thank Kenda_CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay L, Owner at On The Go Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Thanks so much for your review. We're glad you had a good time, and hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Regards,

On The Go Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Thankyou On the go for an amazing family adventure. Our family tailored tour included the cities of Cairo, Alexandria, Luxor and Aswan. We visited Pymarids, Catacombs, valley of the kings and Abel simbel. One of our highlights was the fylucca ride down the Nile and tradional meal in a families home.
The organization of the tour was exemplary with our families individual needs being met in every setting. ( 2 adults and 4 children). The guides and drivers were very knowledgable, friendly, helpful and assisted our family to navigate the Egyptian culture. ( assisting by taking us to family friendly locations for meals, and ensuring we were not ripped off , Often the guide would offer to buy our water getting a better price for us)
Our accomodation throughout Egypt was better than we expected closer to 4-5 star, the children loved the pool at Aswan and location in Luxor.
We are thinking about traveling to India this year we will definately be booking with On the go.

10  Thank Cassie2452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay L, Owner at On The Go Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad that you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you in India!

Regards,

On The Go Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Christmas in Cairo

Me and the kids are just back from a Christmas trip to Egypt. What an amazing country. This was a trip of a life time - the mixture of amazing sites just can’t be seen in many other places in the world. But the experience of the family tour is especially amazing. I don’t normally write reviews but we all had such a great time that we thought we should say so!

The guys at On The Go talked me through the right itinerary to make sure it fitted me and the kids - each kid had their own highlights - the pyramids, the visit to the school and the balloon ride to name my kids three favorites. (sure the balloon was an extra cost and I have seen others say you can buy cheaper there - Dur! course you can - but only when you get there, after all the hard work is done by OTG. And imagine how long it would take to sort if you tried to do your own itinerary - impossible - rant over!)

Our tour ran like clockwork and the amount we experienced as a result was unbelievable. Slightly strange having a Christmas break in Muslim country but the hotels and our guide made special Christmas effort (Egyptian decorations are quite interesting...)

Just go to Egypt - they need all the tourism (we felt safe throughout the tour - even in Ciaro) and they are a fantastic nation (slightly pushy in the markets but my eldest got the better of them in his haggles!)

Cant recommend this company enough or Egypt.

Cheers

4  Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We have recently returned from 2 week trip to Egypt on OntheGo's December 2011 Sandblaster Tour.

We usually travel independently and were apprehensive about booking a group tour. However the experience was a very positive one - mainly due to the care and attention taken by our tour guide Mahmoud Ramadan. He really went the extra mile to look after us, which was very much appreciated – especially since my husband was unable to join my daughters and myself for the desert portion of the trip. He was also always fascinating and informative on all of the sites we visited and was great at even making the longer journeys interesting, with the little surprise stops he planned – a tea-break in the desert for Bedouin tea, our own special, secret “crystal mountain” away from the one frequented by other tourists and many other things. His knowledge of Egyptology is very impressive and he is a great ambassador for Egypt, and Islam and a very honest and pleasant young man. We felt completely safe in his care and he represented OntheGo as a company in an excellent light. We also felt priviliged to see the wonderful monuments at a time when there were barely any tourists. The whole trip – the desert, the felucca and the monuments - has been memorable and, despite the current electoral situation – we felt completely safe in all locations. I would have no concerns about visiting Egypt with my family again in the near future. Outside of Tahrir Square there was no evidence anywhere of any fallout from political changes - other than the lack of tourists. For the Cairo portions of the trip - we stayed close to the Pyramids at Giza - 50 mins from the centre of the city. However we did actually pass through Tahrir Square on the way to the Egyptian Museum and there was no sign of anything other than a small peaceful demonstration. Most of the hotels we visited (including some very large, 4 star ones in prime locations) were almost empty. Looking at our photos of the Pyramids at Giza and Saqqara - I cannot see a single other tourist and the same was certainly true of all of the locations in the Western Desert. Similarly, there were no queues at all for any of the tombs in the Valley of the Kings. In many ways it is a wonderful time to visit and despite the lack of tourist dollars - there seems to be a great spirit of optimism about the future in Egypt at the moment.

In terms of OntheGo Tours - my advice would be to choose your particular tour with care. We had a wonderful experience in a small group on the Sandblaster Tour and the arrangements suited us very well. However some of the Tours do seem to attact a younger, more party orientated age-group (eg: Festive King Tut and Festive King Ramses) which seemed a bit more like "Club 18-30". So do take advice from OntheGo before deciding on your particular tour. And do try to book one with Mahmoud Ramadan as a guide!

You should also be aware that a tipping kitty is collected when you arrive. I think that this worked out at about £30 per person. Egypt is a tipping culture and this saved any fumbling or confusion over how much to tip porters, waiters etc in the many locations we visited. A total of £30 over the two weeks - seems fairly modest to me - especially given the widespread hardship caused by lack of tourists at the moment.

Entrance fees to the monuments are also payable on arrival - which totalled about £90 each for 2 weeks of travelling and visiting something almost every day (sometimes more than one site in a day). As our daughters are teenagers, our guide Mahmoud took it upon his own initiative to ensure that they had student discounts in every location and was diligent about refunding us the difference in ticket price.

In all I would say that this a great value trip enabling to see areas of Egypt which would very hard for us to organise by ourselves without Mahmoud to guide us.

10  Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Go Tours also viewed

 

Been to On The Go Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing