We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Indian food ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Massala

Massala
Ranked #162 of 4,097 Restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Indian, Halal, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Massala is an Authentic North Indian Cuisine. Open for Lunch and Dinner from 2:00 pm till midnight.
Egypt
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Indian food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The unique thing about this place is that you feel at home, you feel that you know the people over there especially the owner. Regarding the food this is the best Indian food I tasted in Egypt or even abroad. Many different Indian dishes in the menu. I went with my wife we couldn't believe the food then the next day I took my friends and went again. Will go again this weekend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonzy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    27
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Taste and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Last week we went to Massala for first time since 2011.
We were 8 family members and we all found the food to be excellent.
It was already good a couple of years ago but we thought it was even better now.
Most of us ordered vegetarian dishes and we were surprised by the taste and the great variety they offered.
We were warmly welcomed and I found the final bill to be very reasonable.
The only problem was the parking which wasn't easy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKarvinHotel, Owner at Massala, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Hany,
Thank you very Much for your positive review. We are sorry about the parking but as you aware parking is a severe problem allover Cairo. we will be happy to welcome you always to "Massala"
thank you
Kaval Nain Oberoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, indian taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Many different dishes on the menu across the indian cuisine. I didnt like the interior and atmosphere of the restaurant. I couldnt feel really comfortable here but our dishes were all delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank specht-auf-safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKarvinHotel, Owner at Massala, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you very Much for your positive review. We are sorry you did not like the atmosphere of "Massala" but as you liked the food and service you can enjoy the same food & service at the roof top in the 6th floor its open air restaurant operate from 3pm till 2 am . we will be happy to welcome you always to The Karvin Hotel.
thank you
Kaval Nain Oberoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience and a lot of varities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

i visited the reaturant last Friday for the first time. Actually, we were looking for a good Iindian restaurant in Eegypet in the last period, untill i saw the positive reviews on tripadvisore that encouraged me to visit it.

i went with my wife and child, the place is very conevnient for family or business dinners. place is very quite and clean. the service was prompt and freindly, we were plased to chat with the restaurant owner who was keen to solicit our feedback.

the menu contains a lot of varities of Indian bread, vegiterian food, chicken. the taste of the food was excellent and with same quality of Indian restaurants in Dubai per example.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed Sameh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKarvinHotel, Owner at Massala, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you very Much for your positive review. we will be happy to welcome you always to "Massala"
thank you
Kaval Nain Oberoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian food i remember having”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Being a fan of indian food and having eaten it in Malaysia, Singapore, and INDIA, i can honestly say this is some of the best ive ever had. Prices are unbelievably reasonable when compared to other Cairo eateries. A must visit place if you want great food for good value in Cairo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massala also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Massala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing