We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian Restaurant in Cairo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Massala

Massala
Ranked #827 of 4,143 Restaurants in Cairo
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Massala is an Authentic North Indian Cuisine. Open for Lunch and Dinner from 2:00 pm till midnight.
Cairo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant in Cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Visit many times with family and colleagues. Quality of food, ambiance and service is always excellent!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillipig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    27
    8
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“THEY DELIVER TO MAADI!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Massala at the Karvin Hotel in Heliopolis is by far the best Indian food in Cairo. Having lived and eaten great Indian food in the Gulf region, I can tell you...we've been on the search for really fantastic Indian fare since our move here in 2008.
Massala even delivers to Maadi and while the minimum order is a bit high, it's well worth the effort and expense. The tandoori is quite nice as is the Massala curry. We are BIG fans of this restaurant and encourage all our readers to try it out!

Can be found on Otlob.com, but I would call them directly to place your order. Use Otlob to view the menu and request a menu when you call.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickErvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Fantastic food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

My friends introduce this restaurant after my complained from not finding good Indian Restaurant in Cairo.
Massala is far from my Resident but it worth the trip, the hotel is in a small street and the restaurant in the reception floor
The waiter was very welcoming and he understand the menu and helped some of our friends to chose.
We shared the starter together, samosa was hot and crisp and the shik kebab and chicken tikka was very tender and for the first time in Cairo I had Massala papdom it was delicious. We did not wait much for the main course, we shared a colorful bryani, Murgh Makani, Rogan josh, black dal and garlic naan. The waiter insist to try sweet, we again shared gajjer halwa and gulab jamoun we did not regret .The food was as we r eating at home not so oily, the waiter informed us that hey can deliver to Maddi.
Massala team we will be there again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raj2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Cairo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We'd heard positive reviews about the Karvin hotel from friends we work with. When we got there, we had a warm welcome and the food was delicious. We've been in Egypt for 5 months and tasted all of the take aways claiming to be 'Indian' but have not found anywhere as authentic as this. Looking forward to going back there for our 2nd meal soon! Would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappoitement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have been to this place with my team upon the.reviews i read here on trip advisor from other users, i was completely dissapointed as i always take trip advisor as a reference .

The food quality is not that good and is not by an means relative to the amount of money i had to pay at the end of the day .

The service was extremely bad the floor managet had to actually shout at the waiters in front of us to go do thier work that only reflects a bad management .

The speed to serve.the food was extremely slow it actually took them one hour and a half to serve.our order.

It is.one place that i don't think i will revisit again.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank leimolavida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knocairo, General Manager at Massala, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Dear Sir,
We the Management of the Karvin hotel (where the Massala Restaurant is located) are sad and upset that you and your group were very disappointed with the food , service and menu prices of the Massala Restaurant. The prices are related to the price of other similar Indian Restaurants and the prevalent purchase price of the raw materials.
We had a meeting with the staff of the restaurant including the captains, the senior captain and the Indian chefs and read this complaint to them. Unfortunately the staff denied any knowledge of your group and the complaint. It will help us if you could post us the date of your meal and the number of pax so that, we can check with the staff of the restaurant and kitchen who handled your order. We always strive to give the best food and service.
We sincerely hope you and your group will give us another chance to look after you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massala also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Massala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing