We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cairo
  
Ways to Experience Memphis Tours
from $135.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
from $527.00
More Info
from $1,085.72
More Info
Reviews (9,339)
Filter reviews
9,339 results
Traveler rating
8,549
655
56
40
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
8,549
655
56
40
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nile cruise ahmed farahat tour manager abu simbel cairo airport private tour day trip special thanks knowledgeable guides small group made us feel the entire trip excellent driver karnak temple great trip egypt trip nubian village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 9,339 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We reserved a 5 day/4 night nile cruise from Luxor to Aswan on the Royal Lotus, through Memphis tours (Nabila). At first I was hesitant as we are Egyptians (living overseas) and felt the costs where high. Even though the costs where high for Egyptians, it was better than what was being offered by other companies to foreigners. Every request that was made to Nabila was followed up on and was exactly as what we requested. For perspective we had a total of 8 travelers 6 adults (one of which is handicapped and requires a mobility scooter), and 2 children. All transportation was clean and big enough to accommodate all of us while being comfortable.

Our tour guide, Ahmed Amine, was what made my review go from 4 stars to 5 stars and just having him as our dedicated tour guide made the trip very enjoyable and better than expected. He is probably the best tour guide we have ever had, and this includes all the places I have visited across the world. The kids where actually very sad to say good by to him. He is very knowledge in Egyptology, recent world history and local customs (as they vary across Egypt and the Nile). Ahmed was very prompt, professional and had a great personality. His approach to teaching and guiding was top notch and not rushed. He encouraged questions and the kids felt very comfortable. Ahmed is very proficient in English and he did not have a hard time communicating in English (and all the English speakers on the trip understood him very clearly, with very little accent). We where even able to have a discussion about a conspiracy theory, that the pyramids had a more of a purpose, and he was not closed minded to the conversation as a whole.

In summary the trip included the following:

- Visit Nile East Bank (Karnak Temple & Luxor Temple).
- Visit Nile West Bank which included Valley of the Kings and Temple of Queen Hatshepsut.
- Visit Horus Temple in Edfu.
- Visit the Temple shared by two gods Sobek & Haeroris in Kom Ombo.
- Visit Abu Simble 
- Visit the Nubian Village, Philae Temple and Unfinished Obelisk.

Hopefully you can book with Nabila and have Ahmed as your tour guide!!!

Date of experience: January 2020
4  Thank K2lx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphistours1955, Manager at Memphis Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your views and experience with Memphis Tours. We are so pleased to see how happy you are with your trip. Your review is highly appreciated and is very important to us and the community of whom thinking about travelling soon.

Thank you again!

Memphis Tours Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can say from start to finish our tour in Cairo and Alexandria was the most memorable holiday we have ever had. Our Guide Ahmed Farahed was so accomodation and a pleasure to deal with.He was curtios with being on time and had an extensive knowledge of the areas in which we were shown . Anyone wanting to visit Cairo well I say look him up to be your guide and another thing we felt safe at all times as if we were in any other country .

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphistours1955, Owner at Memphis Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your views and experience with Memphis Tours. We are so pleased to see how happy you are with your trip. Your review is highly appreciated and is very important to us and the community of whom thinking about travelling soon.

Thank you again!

Memphis Tours Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very good and positive experience with Memphis Tours. Hands down, the tour guides were amazing! They were very knowledgeable about Egypt history and friendly. Ahmed Helal was our guide for Cairo sightseeing. Apart from being a great tour guide he had us taste local food, local sweets and snacks which were all super yummy. Mostafa was our guide during the beautiful cruise from Luxor to Aswan. He is one of the most patient persons we've met and answered our questions regarding Egypt lifestyle and cities. George Refay was our guide for a short time at Abu Simbel and was very considerate and helpful.

Mai Mohamed, who was our point of contact for all the bookings prior to arrival was also very responsive, customized the trip per our usecase and answered all the questions. It took sometime to get very first and second response from Memphis during enquiry but everything was super smooth after that.

The tour agency had a very interesting way of handing over tourists from one guide/manager/operator to another. It was surprisingly very efficient and quick. They made sure that we were never lost at any point.

Only concern we had was around flight timings. We flew very early in the morning to Luxor and did nothing for 4hours after arriving at Luxor. Also we had an afternoon flight from Aswan to Cairo, making us hurry in the Abu Simbel trip and we did nothing after reaching Cairo. Probably this is hard to manage at scale for them, but that would have made the trip experience close to perfect. But overall a great experience.

Date of experience: November 2019
4  Thank imsosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphistours1955, Manager at Memphis Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your views and experience with Memphis Tours. We are so pleased to see how happy you are with your trip. Your review is highly appreciated and is very important to us and the community of whom thinking about travelling soon.

Thank you again!

Memphis Tours Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It’s been 3 months since my husband and I had the trip of a lifetime, thanks to Memphis Tours and their incredible staff! If I could give Memphis Tours TEN+ stars, I gladly would!! From the moment I expressed an online inquiry until our very last second with our Jordanian private guide, my experience was over the top superb.

I began working online with Abdo Younis several months before our trip. He was so very helpful in organizing and planning the perfect trip created just for me and my husband. I changed itineraries on him several times, and he never once complained. He always was helpful and was able to suggest travel ideas which ended up being perfect for us.

Upon arrival at the Cairo airport we were greeted by the beautiful, smiling Sama, and she was our touch stone for our entire time in Cairo. Sama expertly led us through all of the Egyptian customs and airline protocol like a rock star! She was professional, sweet and funny. Loved her sense of humor! Sama handled all of our air transports, to include arrival in Cairo, flight out to Luxor, picking us up after our riverboat cruise, and then finally taking us to the Cairo, for our final good byes, as we headed to Amman. We both fell in love with this fantastic young lady, and I got so emotional at the airport that last day, that I cried when I had to say goodbye to our “Sky of Cairo” ~ beautiful sweet Sama!!

Memphis Tours offers the luxury of having a private driver and private guide for your touring in the Cairo area. This is the only way to experience Egypt!! We never ever felt unsafe, and the uniqueness of having a private guide was that we could dwell upon areas that interested us, and move quicker beyond areas that weren’t as interesting to our personal desires.

We were truly BLESSED to have Ebrahim Taye as our private guide. Ebrahim had actually been recommended to us by a neighbor, and we had specifically requested him. Memphis Tours never promised us they could schedule us with Ebrahim, they only assured us that their guides were all highly qualified and they would do their best. And of course! Memphis Tours (thank you Abdo Younis) came through, and we had the pleasure of Ebrahim being our private guide!!

Ebrahim had all the wonderful qualities of great personality, good humor, tremendous Egyptologist knowledge, and “just FUN to be with” type of guy. We laughed together so much, and it was truly hard to say goodbye to Ebrahim also.

A wonderful part of our Memphis Tours adventure was a four night Nile riverboat cruise aboard the M/S Mayfair. Mayfair is such a beautiful luxury riverboat. Our first cruise ever! Thankful our first experience was on the Mayfair. Rooms were small, but I guess that’s absolutely normal on any cruise. Food was good, served mostly buffet style. The very first night the guests on the boat were split up into small touring groups. Our group was ten people and we had the pleasure of having Yasser as our tour guide for the entire time aboard the Mayfair. We ate all of our meals together, we all toured together each day, got to know one another, became a “cruise family” and still stay in touch! Yasser was an incredible guide, full of knowledge and experience. When I mention experience, I mean that it’s hard to provide an A#1 daily touring experience, while herding cats all the time!~ Yasser was #1 in our book. We honestly can’t imagine having anyone on earth that could have done a better job for our Nile touring than Yasser! He is THE BEST!!

I feel that I’ve glossed over the details of our vacation, but it was truly the people that made the difference. Abdo, Sama, Ebrahim and Yasser were all instrumental in making our trip the truly “once in a lifetime adventure”. Only thing I would add is that we opted for the optional sunrise hot air balloon ride over Valley of the Kings while on our Nile cruise. My husband is a pilot and thought it would be hokey….. but it was one of the highlights of his entire trip!! You gotta do this if given the opportunity!

Thank you Memphis Tours for helping us out, holding our hands the entire way, and providing us with literally the Trip Of A Lifetime!! THANK YOU!!

Date of experience: October 2019
3  Thank debmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphistours1955, Owner at Memphis Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your views and experience with Memphis Tours. We are so pleased to see how happy you are with your trip. Your review is highly appreciated and is very important to us and the community of whom thinking about travelling soon.

Thank you again!

Memphis Tours Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my wife were traveled to Egypt from Japan for eight days with Memphis Tours All the arrangements starting from Airport was done perfectly by Tour Consultant, Mr. Mustafa and Tour Manager, Mr. Ahmed Rabi and other tour guides. It was wonderful amazing life-time experience in 4-nights in Nile Cruise (M S Salacia) from Luxor to Aswan. Our tour guide Mr. Eid Mohamed was very helpful, energetic and assist us all the way. Cruise foods and different programs were also made our program interesting and charming. Truly speaking, we did not face any problem to deal with the tour company and all the way it was one of most memorable trips in our life! We are very happy and strongly like to recommend this tour company and of course, would like to take their service in future at the region and countries they operate!

Date of experience: January 2020
3  Thank stanveerhoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphistours1955, Manager at Memphis Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your views and experience with Memphis Tours. We are so pleased to see how happy you are with your trip. Your review is highly appreciated and is very important to us and the community of whom thinking about travelling soon.

Thank you again!

Memphis Tours Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews