We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy meal”
Review of Koshary Abou Tarek

Koshary Abou Tarek
Ranked #13 of 4,182 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Healthy meal”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

koshary has been always famous and rich meal for most of egyptian either poor or rich .lots of tasty ingredients with local flavour you could not find elsewhere around the world with such price .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aayusef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    226
    65
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fresh ingredients,good koshary recipe”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

fresh ingredients,good koshary recipe,value,if you want a proper koshary recipe order an extra lentils and salsa

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellinfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“best Koshari in town”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Since opening, maybe 29 years ago or more, Abu Tarek had always gained a top Value
Abu tarek started his career as the owner of a small carriage in the same place and fought hard till he became the owner of the best.
I congratulate him
An Advice for foreigners: get a take away meal, as spoons are not extremely nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aswan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Egyptian famous food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Koshary, this is the name of one of the most famous and delicious food, this food made of " Rice, Pasta, Sous , Onion, Lintel & Chili "...
Abou Tarek is the most famous restaurant to cook and service this kind of food... Abou Tarek located in Cairo downtown near Tahrer square and the Egyptian museum, I advice anyone want taste the real Egyptian food to get a dish of Koshary from Abou Tarek

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aiman_Madany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just fine”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I went abu tarek today with my husband, we had two large koshary for $2.5 us dollars. Extremely cheap and food was just fine for me because they had no meat,but My husband loved it. The place was huge they have 3rd floor building, I was seating on 2nd floor. I enjoyed street view from my table. Overall was just fine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kristin10009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koshary Abou Tarek also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Koshary Abou Tarek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing