We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Egyptian food in a comfortable environment”
Review of Koshary Abou Tarek

Koshary Abou Tarek
Ranked #12 of 4,168 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Provo, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Egyptian food in a comfortable environment”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food has already been discussed here so I'll just share my experience. It was initially a challenge to find a worker who spoke english but this is how the system works: you order either the koshary or the the special after you're seated and you pay at the table before leaving. Pretty simple! My wife is a really picky eater while travelling yet both she and I had a great experience here and the special was well worth the extra money. We went here right after visiting the pyramids and the huge meals were more than enough to refuel us. Exotic food in a very comfortable environment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Panu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    224
    64
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Real Egypt”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great Koshary place near the Egyptian Museum. We ate on the top floor. I think we could've gone with the standard koshary, but we got served the "special" which is about 2 LE more. The hot sauce is actually spicy, which was a surprise since food isn't that spicy in Egypt.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“A MUST try in Cairo Famous for their Koshery”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Every city or region is known for one or two very particular dishes. Well Cairo is famous for Abou Tarek's Koshery. Right downtown. The word may come from Hindi or Bengali .. Kitchoory. Basically its comfort food for Cairo. Noodles, rice, lentils, chickpeas, lemon, crispy onions, tomatoes sauce, chilli sauce... its a must must try. I have it at least once on every Cairo trip yearly. With visitors I always have them try this... hmmmmm.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

If you want to have Egyptian meals
This is a perfect place for you

I and my wife have two normal koshary.
It's is delicious and just 14 Egyptian pounds for two

Also we cost 3 egp for an vanilla pudding

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidZzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Visited with our 2 kids who are both veggie and were fed up with bread and falafels. Go upstairs for the full effect of bling, fishes and fab air conditioning. Only one dish on the menu but koshari great for fussy kids as on the base of noodles, rice and bulgar you are given sides of tomato sauce, fried onions and chickpeas. Very busy with locals but waiter looked after us. Only le10 for a filling meal, happy kids and a true Cairene fast food experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koshary Abou Tarek also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Koshary Abou Tarek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing