We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful... all is not as it seems”
Review of Cairo Center Hotel

Cairo Center Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cairo Center Hotel
Ranked #33 of 55 Cairo B&B and Inns
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Be careful... all is not as it seems”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

i booked this hotel thru their website which promised a free airport pick up if i booked for 3 nights or more, but at the airport there was no sign of them... i bought a local simcard and called them, but got some poorly made up excuses of the car having broken down (much later in my trip while chatting with a fellow traveller in siwa i learnt that this has happened before too!).... the staff was not friendly or helpful, and after getting a large comfortable room on the first night i was shunted out the next day to a tiny room with a lot of noise from the street below.... the breakfast was terrible but that seems to be the norm in almost all budget hotels in egypt!!
on the upside, the location is very convenient and the aircon worked well, and the first night i slept fine...
but the toilets were tiny and the plumbing was poor...
i would also not recommend taking the tours from the hotel as the prices are not very competitive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lazygurpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
8
9
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I was a little leary arriving at this hotel after reading fellow TripAdvisors' reviews on the staff, service, reviews, etc. When I arrived at the hotel, the manager and staff were extremely friendly and helpful, then asked about our plans for our stay. They offered us a package that included a trip to Giza, Memphis, and Saccara (sp?), a Nile dinner cruise, walking tour, and transfer back to the airport when it was time to check out. All for 800 LE - for two people. Since I didn't know if that was a good deal or not, I declined, and then scoured the internet and talked to other tour people on the streets. It turns out, that the hotel offer was the best I'd come across - by a long shot. There are tour companies online offering just the Nile cruise for 800 LE or more. I talked to the manager again later that night, and I told him my hesitation about booking anything through them because of the reviews I'd read. He told me that they had recently switched tour companies and wanted to improve the hotel's reputation. We opted to do the walking tour on our own, so the total price was 700 LE for two of us, and we were glad we booked through them. Sure, you're still going to need extra cash to tip drivers, service, or if you want extras at the pyramids like horses or camels, etc - but as long as you get good at bartering, you'll get good prices on things.

As for the hotel rooms - ours was big, had TV, and was clean enough. For many Americans, they would think of the rooms more of a budget motel, but all I needed was a bed, shower, and toilet. We didn't see any bugs bigger than the tip of a pencil. It's Egypt folks, there are going to be bugs. But 10,000 scarabs didn't come out of the wall and eat us in our sleep like in the Mummy movies. The shower and toilet are in the same room, but it was fine, and everything worked. Our toilet flush got messed up and the light went out in the bathroom, but they fixed it right away once I told them about it.

Wireless internet was fast and in the lobby area - free if you have your own internet device. They also have a public computer that is free the first 10 minutes and then cheap after that if you don't have a computer.

My wife and I were very glad we stayed here. It's not a 4 star hotel, but it's cheap, and you'll get to know the staff if you're friendly. We actually went out one night with one of them as he showed us his city, his house, and smoked some sheesha (hookah) with him. If you want more comforts, spend the money for the four seasons, but staying here you feel like you're in an Indiana Jones movie in the center of Cairo. Lots of laughs and good memories.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bumpskier176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We were afraid after reading some negative reviews about this place and rather inexpensive fare. But this place was quite alright. The people who complain forget that they are in Cairo, Egypt not in Europe or North America. If you want super bleached clean and fancy place, go ahead and pay for 5 star hotel. For money you pay (we paid something like $55 for 5 of us in two connected rooms), I doubt you can find better place in Cairo than this one. It is walking distance from Egyptian musuem. A block away from 'GAD' - an expensive chain restaurant we ate everyday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

This hotel is located in downtown of Cairo, 10 minutes from Museum at the 3th floor
of a building.

Don't trust the pictures, the reception, kitchen and lobby are all together.
Our room was calm, wide, with small TV and a bathroom with shower , toilets.
Sheets were clean as well as the towels. Air conditioner worked very well.
Internet in the lobby is free and wifi available.

The bad point is the breakfast that is terrific and tables are very very dirty...

Staff is not rude but wants to earn money. 15$ for going to airport not in a shuttle but as it has been written in other posts in a private dirty car.
Do not accept from them any tours, take white taxi they are must more cheaper :
For going to Gizey : 30 pounds only and for coming back 40. They have counter.
Do not take white and black taxi

I think in Cairo all hotels are like this one and this one is not the worst.

I was very disappointed by Cairo, the museum is not a museum but more a shed where objects are put everywhere without any explanation. I heard a new one shall be open near Gizey I hope very soon as it is a shame to see all this wonderful heritage let as this. Otherwise regarding the city we were very surprised not to find many restaurants except Mc Do and KFC .. in downtown.
Of course it is one of the most polluted city I have visited...

So my advise : do not stay long time in Cairo or in luxury hotel !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breizh_Brest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

It is not 5-star hotel for sure. But for downtown Cairo in this price range it was really not bad. I stayed there for a week and checked 3-4 hotels around and did not find any better (considering price of cause). We had two rooms, the one (double) close to reception was small and humid (I guess plumbing problem somewhere). And it had birds living over the ceiling! But WiFi was working inside the room (when it was working at all) and it was crucial for me. Also it had quiet air conditioner. Hotel manager proposed to move to large room on the third day, but WiFi did not work there and we refused. Another room (twin) was upstairs and was twice as big as the first one. In general the rooms upstairs are bigger and quieter, so take them if you have a choice. Staff was nice with usual oriental slyness. Located in quiet (in Cairo scale:) street betweel very busy ones, most rooms are with "yard" (other building in 5 meters) view.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Our last evening in Cairo was ruined when we discovered that we had been cheated by the hotel staff member responsible for organizing tours in & around Cairo. We stayed 4 nights at this hotel, centrally located in downtown Cairo. Upon registration and even before we could check-into our room, we were ushered into the dining hall and put through a 20-minute elaboration of the various tours by the hotel.

The receptionist failed to return the 64 L.E. change from our room payment till we asked for it later that night. Our passports were requested for registration as per the norm, but again, we had to make an effort to request for its return several hours later.

Keep all your receipts after payment to the hotel as we encountered a dispute by the hotel receptionist about how much payment was still due on the eve of our departure. Note that the cost of tours offered by the hotel also vary depending on whom you speak to and when.

We booked 2 tours via the hotel for our final day in Cairo. The straw that broke the camel’s back was the Giza Pyramid Sound & Light Show which the hotel costed at 200 L.E. per head. Before confirming, we had asked the hotel receptionist how much the actual tickets were and he told us at 125 L.E. a head, with 75 L.E. added for transportation per passenger. At Giza, we discovered that the tickets were only 75 L.E. each i.e. a variance of 66% per ticket. When we raised this concern with the same receptionist who ‘sold’ us the show, he denied this saying that the tickets were only 75 L.E. Only after a shouting match did we recover the 100 L.E. owed to us. The receptionist apologized profusely the next morning for the night’s misunderstanding and shared that he had quoted us the Local ticket rate of 125 L.E. as opposed to the Tourist rate of 75 L.E...In disbelief (and some disapointment), we departed with a distrust of the hotel and the integrity of it’s employee.

In fairness, the twin room we got was spacious, although the en suite bathroom was extremely old and looked unsanitary despite being reasonably clean. Our room was cleaned daily which was a nice touch. This is a hotel on the extensive downtown Cairo budget hotel list to consider, but please exercise caution when dealing with it’s staff regarding all money matters.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporePoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Easy to find, just opposite the jewish synagogue, and with a sign of the hotel in the entrance. I had asked for a room with a private bathroom and a window or balcony and i got what i asked for. The room and bathroom were very clean (the bathroom was a real room and not just a box attached in the rest of the room) i had a tv and a large confortable bed with clean sheets and pillows and with my towels left on the bed in swan shape while the room was cleaned daily. I could see the synagogue and the street from my balcony. The breakfast was enough and according the egyptian standards, it didn't include at least tea, but instead you had to pay a small amount to get this or any other drink. The daily trip to Sakkara, Memphis and Giza unfortunately included only the driver and not a guide and it was a bit expensive for getting just the driver. The location is great, downtown, near to everything with lots of shops and restaurants around but most important safe, as there are always policemen in the entrance of the building and outside the synagogue.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soukara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#101 of 138 in Cairo
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travel Joy Hostel
Travel Joy Hostel
#19 of 126 in Cairo
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cairo Moon Hotel
Cairo Moon Hotel
#4 of 55 in Cairo
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
One Season Hostel
One Season Hostel
#12 of 126 in Cairo
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dahab Hostel
Dahab Hostel
#1 of 126 in Cairo
341 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sakan 275
Sakan 275
#33 of 126 in Cairo
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Center Hotel

Property: Cairo Center Hotel
Address: 20 Adly street, Cairo 12421, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cairo Center Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Air Conditioning Units in All of the Rooms - Same low prices!!Warm, clean, and affordable, Cairo Center Hotel is an excellent place to stay at while in Cairo. Cathedral ceilings, high French windows, wooden floors, and sun-light filled rooms provide a quiet escape from the bustling streets of Cairo.But, the best feature of this hostel is the helpful and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HostelWorld so you can book your Cairo Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing