We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairo Center Hotel

Cairo Center Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cairo Center Hotel
Ranked #31 of 50 Cairo B&B and Inns
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We were afraid after reading some negative reviews about this place and rather inexpensive fare. But this place was quite alright. The people who complain forget that they are in Cairo, Egypt not in Europe or North America. If you want super bleached clean and fancy place, go ahead and pay for 5 star hotel. For money you pay (we paid something like $55 for 5 of us in two connected rooms), I doubt you can find better place in Cairo than this one. It is walking distance from Egyptian musuem. A block away from 'GAD' - an expensive chain restaurant we ate everyday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
8
9
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brittany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

This hotel is located in downtown of Cairo, 10 minutes from Museum at the 3th floor
of a building.

Don't trust the pictures, the reception, kitchen and lobby are all together.
Our room was calm, wide, with small TV and a bathroom with shower , toilets.
Sheets were clean as well as the towels. Air conditioner worked very well.
Internet in the lobby is free and wifi available.

The bad point is the breakfast that is terrific and tables are very very dirty...

Staff is not rude but wants to earn money. 15$ for going to airport not in a shuttle but as it has been written in other posts in a private dirty car.
Do not accept from them any tours, take white taxi they are must more cheaper :
For going to Gizey : 30 pounds only and for coming back 40. They have counter.
Do not take white and black taxi

I think in Cairo all hotels are like this one and this one is not the worst.

I was very disappointed by Cairo, the museum is not a museum but more a shed where objects are put everywhere without any explanation. I heard a new one shall be open near Gizey I hope very soon as it is a shame to see all this wonderful heritage let as this. Otherwise regarding the city we were very surprised not to find many restaurants except Mc Do and KFC .. in downtown.
Of course it is one of the most polluted city I have visited...

So my advise : do not stay long time in Cairo or in luxury hotel !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breizh_Brest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

It is not 5-star hotel for sure. But for downtown Cairo in this price range it was really not bad. I stayed there for a week and checked 3-4 hotels around and did not find any better (considering price of cause). We had two rooms, the one (double) close to reception was small and humid (I guess plumbing problem somewhere). And it had birds living over the ceiling! But WiFi was working inside the room (when it was working at all) and it was crucial for me. Also it had quiet air conditioner. Hotel manager proposed to move to large room on the third day, but WiFi did not work there and we refused. Another room (twin) was upstairs and was twice as big as the first one. In general the rooms upstairs are bigger and quieter, so take them if you have a choice. Staff was nice with usual oriental slyness. Located in quiet (in Cairo scale:) street betweel very busy ones, most rooms are with "yard" (other building in 5 meters) view.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Our last evening in Cairo was ruined when we discovered that we had been cheated by the hotel staff member responsible for organizing tours in & around Cairo. We stayed 4 nights at this hotel, centrally located in downtown Cairo. Upon registration and even before we could check-into our room, we were ushered into the dining hall and put through a 20-minute elaboration of the various tours by the hotel.

The receptionist failed to return the 64 L.E. change from our room payment till we asked for it later that night. Our passports were requested for registration as per the norm, but again, we had to make an effort to request for its return several hours later.

Keep all your receipts after payment to the hotel as we encountered a dispute by the hotel receptionist about how much payment was still due on the eve of our departure. Note that the cost of tours offered by the hotel also vary depending on whom you speak to and when.

We booked 2 tours via the hotel for our final day in Cairo. The straw that broke the camel’s back was the Giza Pyramid Sound & Light Show which the hotel costed at 200 L.E. per head. Before confirming, we had asked the hotel receptionist how much the actual tickets were and he told us at 125 L.E. a head, with 75 L.E. added for transportation per passenger. At Giza, we discovered that the tickets were only 75 L.E. each i.e. a variance of 66% per ticket. When we raised this concern with the same receptionist who ‘sold’ us the show, he denied this saying that the tickets were only 75 L.E. Only after a shouting match did we recover the 100 L.E. owed to us. The receptionist apologized profusely the next morning for the night’s misunderstanding and shared that he had quoted us the Local ticket rate of 125 L.E. as opposed to the Tourist rate of 75 L.E...In disbelief (and some disapointment), we departed with a distrust of the hotel and the integrity of it’s employee.

In fairness, the twin room we got was spacious, although the en suite bathroom was extremely old and looked unsanitary despite being reasonably clean. Our room was cleaned daily which was a nice touch. This is a hotel on the extensive downtown Cairo budget hotel list to consider, but please exercise caution when dealing with it’s staff regarding all money matters.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporePoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

Easy to find, just opposite the jewish synagogue, and with a sign of the hotel in the entrance. I had asked for a room with a private bathroom and a window or balcony and i got what i asked for. The room and bathroom were very clean (the bathroom was a real room and not just a box attached in the rest of the room) i had a tv and a large confortable bed with clean sheets and pillows and with my towels left on the bed in swan shape while the room was cleaned daily. I could see the synagogue and the street from my balcony. The breakfast was enough and according the egyptian standards, it didn't include at least tea, but instead you had to pay a small amount to get this or any other drink. The daily trip to Sakkara, Memphis and Giza unfortunately included only the driver and not a guide and it was a bit expensive for getting just the driver. The location is great, downtown, near to everything with lots of shops and restaurants around but most important safe, as there are always policemen in the entrance of the building and outside the synagogue.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soukara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Yorks
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights yes it is shabby needs updating ...never a 3 star...still a problem with mosquitoes.The breakfast was a waste of time didn't even have butter 2 days just bread roll/jam cup of tea or orange,no restuarant you just ate in the reception area and seemed to be run by all young males.No signs so you would never know the hotel was there.Our room was very large likewise the bathroom,there was a small!!! portable tv in the far corner.
Yes it is in a good location for the Egyptian Museum you can walk there.
So ok....... we only paid about £16 a night and a one free transfer from Cairo Airport.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_YorksRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

Hotel is centrally located; room with 3 beds (no.320) was comfortable and big. Neighborhood is famous for shopping and located on walking distance to National Museum or Railway station. Staff is very friendly and helpful, free internet facility, in short a best value for money.
Mosquitoes are the problem due to climate of Cairo but hotel staff reacted immediately after complaint.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amir38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#99 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Egyptian Night Hotel
Egyptian Night Hotel
#3 of 50 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Season Hostel
One Season Hostel
#7 of 127 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meramees Hostel
Meramees Hostel
#16 of 127 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Family Palace Hotel
Family Palace Hotel
#7 of 50 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cairo Paradise Hotel
Cairo Paradise Hotel
#1 of 50 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Center Hotel

Property: Cairo Center Hotel
Address: 20 Adly street, Cairo 12421, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cairo Center Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Air Conditioning Units in All of the Rooms - Same low prices!!Warm, clean, and affordable, Cairo Center Hotel is an excellent place to stay at while in Cairo. Cathedral ceilings, high French windows, wooden floors, and sun-light filled rooms provide a quiet escape from the bustling streets of Cairo.But, the best feature of this hostel is the helpful and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Cairo Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing